CustomDoom v1.8.2 FINAL

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Do you find the mod useful?

Hell yeah! I'm using it all the time!
28
45%
Yes. It is helpful for the most part.
26
42%
Meh. It's ok, but not that big of a deal.
4
6%
No. There are some things I don't like.
0
No votes
Hell no! I'd rather go to prison than use it!
0
No votes
I am not using this mod.
4
6%
Other. (Specify)
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 62

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby Accensus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:19 pm

Thanks man! This really makes me feel gud that I started this mod in the 1st place, lol. And to be honest, I don't use the mod often either. :D I have it loaded, but I'm not using it atm. Waiting till I'm bored with stock difficulties, heh.
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.2

Postby JudgeGroovy » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:40 pm

Lud wrote:Yep! I mentioned it in the FAQ and in the main post like twice. This mod works with all mods and all maps. Due to the way I have designed it, it may not have fancy stuff like custom ammo regen or custom health pickup, but it works with Everything. You can jam 50 other mods in your load order and then this mod, and it won't have any conflicts! It's all about sacrificing some to give a lot more.

Many of the suggestions here seem to be too advanced for ACS, and implementing them otherwise will cost me compatibility. I didn't think I'd ever say this, but...WFDS, lol.


Thanks, and thanks for all the info!

Beed28 wrote:I want to be crazy overpowered.

How about adding weapon damage options past x3? :p


You could combine this mod with a custon skill setting zmapinfo.txt, like the one I posted above. Or just using some of those parameters, so you could lower the monster health a bit for example. I plan to use a txt like that so I can up the ammo and health pickups for example in conjunction with this mod.
Last edited by JudgeGroovy on Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JudgeGroovy
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Location: Mega-City One, USA

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby Accensus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:42 pm

Too late, Sergei, it's always been too late, I've already added even more ridiculous multipliers. :mrgreen:

What you suggested would work, though. I doubt anyone would ever use the newly added multipliers. Doesn't hurt to have them, though.
Last edited by Accensus on Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby JudgeGroovy » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:43 pm

That's good. :mrgreen: By the way, on the changing the skill setting in console effecting the next map, I had heard that doesn't really work? Are you sure it takes effect? I had read you have to start a new game for that to work.
User avatar
JudgeGroovy
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Location: Mega-City One, USA

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby Accensus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:44 pm

Heck if I know mate, haven't really tested it. I suppose it does, but you can always test to be sure. ;)
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby JudgeGroovy » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:45 pm

I have tested it before, and as far as I can tell it doesn't really work. Just for the record. Also for example since I've used custom mapinfo skill settings, I notice it seems if i load a save without including that mapinfo in the load order, it still uses that custom difficulty anyway. Maybe it just loads that info once when you start a new game or something like that.
Last edited by JudgeGroovy on Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JudgeGroovy
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Location: Mega-City One, USA

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby Accensus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:46 pm

Hmm, this calls for some extra testing then. Stay tuned, gonna reply in 5 minutes, lol.
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby Accensus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:50 pm

It works mate. I tried changing skills then using nextmap or idclev. It works. Tested on MAP15 where it's cleary visible (shotgun guy on building in front of you).
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby JudgeGroovy » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:57 pm

Interesting. I think what's going on there is it doesn't work for changemap (the one that lets you keep your stuff), which I use. But it does work with nextmap.

And thanks again for putting this mod together.
User avatar
JudgeGroovy
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Location: Mega-City One, USA

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby Accensus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:58 pm

My pleasure. Thanks all for the positive stuff. Someday, when DoomScript sees the light of day, I might make this mod even cooler. :)
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby JudgeGroovy » Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:28 pm

Right on, one suggestion, though it's no biggie. If the onscreen effect for getting health regen could be the yellow you see when picking something up, instead of the red you see when getting hurt, that would be cool. Though not necessary or anything.
User avatar
JudgeGroovy
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Location: Mega-City One, USA

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby Accensus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:35 pm

I was thinking of adding a toggleable health regeneration sound like a heartbeat, but I'm not sure if that won't kick the mod's size to above 64K. (I entered the competition with it.)

I'm not sure if I'll get around to it. I picked red cause it's immersive, BUT, I can add sliders to define your own custom colors, much like the player color sliders. Ain't sure if that'll work, though. I'll tinker around with it for sure, but I don't want to be giving false promises with this post.
Last edited by Accensus on Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby JudgeGroovy » Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:46 pm

I just wonder why you chose red instead of yellow? Since getting health is yellow, getting hurt is red.
User avatar
JudgeGroovy
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Location: Mega-City One, USA

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby Accensus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 2:48 pm

Never though of that, to be honest. I'll still go with the sliders idea (if it works). I'm pretty sure someone will come with "Y U NO choose X instead of yellow?!". Sliders is the way to please everyone. :D
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Update] CustomDoom v1.1.3

Postby Accensus » Sun Apr 10, 2016 3:52 pm

Quick note regarding the current version of the mod: Health regeneration will not work well for mods that change the max health of the player due to the current code. I am working on it and expecting to release v1.2 sometime tomorrow.

v1.2 will mainly introduce sliders for custom regeneration blend colors.
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest