Ulti Doom

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby leodoom85 » Sun Sep 14, 2014 6:53 pm

Hello, skornedemon. I´m new to this forum and the final boss you used caught my attention. The model you used is similar to a final boss in the game Dissidia 012: Final Fantasy and is called Chaos. It must took you a lot of time to create and modify this model and the result is amazing and i want to play it :P
User avatar
leodoom85
Dodge this.....
Banned User
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Location: Earth-shaking Chile
Discord: leodoom85#6202

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby skornedemon » Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:52 pm

That is the model, yes, lol. It took time, but it was worth it.
skornedemon
Doom modding since '99.
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2010
Discord: Skorne#1213

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby leodoom85 » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:07 pm

btw, i have a computer with 2 gb ram and windows 7 32 bit. Have i any chance to play it or not?
User avatar
leodoom85
Dodge this.....
Banned User
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Location: Earth-shaking Chile
Discord: leodoom85#6202

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby leodoom85 » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:09 pm

I forgot to say that my video card is an ATI Radeon HD 4500
User avatar
leodoom85
Dodge this.....
Banned User
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2014
Location: Earth-shaking Chile
Discord: leodoom85#6202

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby Nash » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:18 pm

skornedemon wrote:Currently Ive hit a wall for the project, I asked about it a month or two ago but no one seemed to know what to do.
And that is this here.
Image
You're reading that correctly. The Ram being used doesnt really bother me, though its atrociously high. Ive found that (G)Zdoom load
all the models when it loads the mods and caches them.


You should report this to the GZDoom forum on DRDTeam. It doesn't sound right to have every single model ever all loaded at once. It should be on a usage basis so only models actually used are loaded into the memory and flushed when not needed anymore.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby skornedemon » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:38 pm

leodoom85 wrote:btw, i have a computer with 2 gb ram and windows 7 32 bit. Have i any chance to play it or not?


Yes, however It may not run smooth. Tower defense may not be a case. 32-bit users might have it easier.

Nash wrote:You should report this to the GZDoom forum on DRDTeam. It doesn't sound right to have every single model ever all loaded at once. It should be on a usage basis so only models actually used are loaded into the memory and flushed when not needed anymore.


Ive never really ventured to the DRDTeam. I know both zandronum and (G)Zdoom do it. The thing is, I'm surprised the models use this much Memory in (G)Zdoom. Whether it pre-cached everything or not, the tower-defense gametype
uses 95% of the models in the mod. So it wouldn't help too much. Its really limiting anything else I can do though.

Something I want confirmed is if a model with 1000 animations uses less resources than 10 models using 100 animations.
skornedemon
Doom modding since '99.
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2010
Discord: Skorne#1213

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby Zanieon » Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:51 pm

skornedemon wrote:Something I want confirmed is if a model with 1000 animations uses less resources than 10 models using 100 animations.


It does, because there will be only one Polygons and Texture UV data stored into de model, my recent rips in Hunter's Moon i do it in a single model, i just split when needed.
User avatar
Zanieon
A Tamer of The Dark
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in the future
Discord: Zanieon#3177
Twitch ID: Zanieon
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby skornedemon » Mon Sep 15, 2014 2:25 pm

Ah thank you for that confirmation. I'll have to figure out how to do that. Finally got blender last night and got scripts to import and export md5 and was tinkering with animations.

I notice that you have PMs turned of Revilution, any other way to talk?
skornedemon
Doom modding since '99.
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2010
Discord: Skorne#1213

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby demo_the_man » Wed Sep 17, 2014 5:45 am

This is amazing, ive never seen such well implemented 3d models before
All this in gzdoom
User avatar
demo_the_man
Did i ever tell ye the story of me old bones?
 
Joined: 28 May 2013
Location: Workin
Discord: demo_the_man#8942

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby demo_the_man » Wed Sep 17, 2014 5:54 am

also, the boss is one of the bezst FPS bosses period
ITs big, it has multiple stages. and it looks and feels hazardous
Looking forward to playing this
User avatar
demo_the_man
Did i ever tell ye the story of me old bones?
 
Joined: 28 May 2013
Location: Workin
Discord: demo_the_man#8942

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby Zanieon » Wed Sep 17, 2014 6:35 am

skornedemon wrote:I notice that you have PMs turned of Revilution, any other way to talk?


I don't have them turned off, but too i'm not accostumated in use them, i was also busy and got distracted that time, btw thanks for remind me of still send a PM to you, lol.

Another way is Skype which i'm almost always online.
User avatar
Zanieon
A Tamer of The Dark
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in the future
Discord: Zanieon#3177
Twitch ID: Zanieon
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby skornedemon » Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:17 pm

Revilution wrote:
skornedemon wrote:I notice that you have PMs turned of Revilution, any other way to talk?


I don't have them turned off, but too i'm not accostumated in use them, i was also busy and got distracted that time, btw thanks for remind me of still send a PM to you, lol.

Another way is Skype which i'm almost always online.


The requested users to be added do not exist.

This is the error I get when I try to reply to you.
skornedemon
Doom modding since '99.
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2010
Discord: Skorne#1213

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby skornedemon » Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:04 am

Not sure about the rules of double posting. If there's a problem I'll simply edit this into my previous post.

Are people interested in a stream of UltiDoom? It'd be a great chance to get feedback and hear opinions and suggestions for changes and such.

Let me know!
skornedemon
Doom modding since '99.
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2010
Discord: Skorne#1213

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby Sgt. Shivers » Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:06 am

Yeah, stream sounds like a cool idea. I really want to know how this wad starts, all i've really seen so far are boss battles.
User avatar
Sgt. Shivers
 
Joined: 22 Jun 2012
Discord: Sgt. Shivers #4769

Re: Ulti Doom

Postby skornedemon » Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:43 am

Let's shoot for... 9/20 (today) 9PM CDT Time. The stream will be at
Spoiler:


Though I will say,in comparison to bosses,the rest has not really been 'touched up' else I'm sure I'd have a playable version out.
skornedemon
Doom modding since '99.
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2010
Discord: Skorne#1213

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests