Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby otherhand » Mon May 16, 2016 1:25 pm

Lmaoboat wrote:I'm also getting the impression that you need to invest heavily into regeneration and energy as well is get lucky and find some Aug parts before using any combat skills even starts to become viable.

I think boss enemies should be more common, but not as strong. As it is, I always seem to end up in a situation where I instagib absolutely everything up until some omni-aura, teleporting instant hitscan attacker takes all my ammo, inflicts all the status effects, and murders me.


I agree strongly with both of these, especially the second one - I just finished my first time playing this mod, using original Ultimate Doom iwad. I loved the carryover between episodes!

But yeah, the bosses can be a little nuts. I ran into one in episode 2 that was a straight up instakill via plasma shotgun if he saw you for more than half a second, and that was on a level where everything else was being mowed down fairly easily. I ended up having to teleport out, buy an invisiblity, and come back and punch him in the face with that golden gauntlet I just happened to be lucky enough to have.

You could consider taking some cues from Diablo on this one maybe - those games make the beefy monsters a little more common so that they're an ambient threat, but they're never nasty enough to outright destroy a run the second you round a corner.

I'm also a pretty big fan of the shield feature, but I think it could benefit from some visibility on the HUD, like at least a bar or something. EP isn't really visible either.

Has anyone
Spoiler:
otherhand
 
Joined: 16 May 2016

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Yholl » Mon May 16, 2016 3:48 pm

otherhand wrote:I'm also a pretty big fan of the shield feature, but I think it could benefit from some visibility on the HUD, like at least a bar or something. EP isn't really visible either.
They are on the HUD. I assume you are either still using the status bar hud, or you've just done something horrifying that's broken it.

otherhand wrote:
Spoiler:

Spoiler:
User avatar
Yholl
I will hit you with my Decorate.
 
Joined: 17 Dec 2012
Location: Here, stupid.

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby 4thcharacter » Tue May 17, 2016 8:53 am

AgentSpooks wrote:Also i am currently working on creating a guide with information about the game(auras, weapons, enemies, stats etc.), if that's okay. If it isn't, notify me :3
I will most probably upload it either on a thread here or on github where the old guide is found at(it's pretty shallow if you ask me), if anyone else wants to participate, they're my guest.


I have plenty of time in my hands this upcoming week or so. So yeah, count me in. I could put some indepth on some of the DoomRL weapons and bestiary.

Actually if anything I would be able to contribute things for a guide/wiki dedicated for DoomRL Arsenal.
User avatar
4thcharacter
"I have returned."
 
Joined: 02 Jun 2015

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Killamanjaro53 » Wed May 18, 2016 6:58 pm

Script error, "LegenDoom_1.3.wad:DEC_FIST" line 2:
Parent type 'LDWeapon' not found in LDFists
Script error, "LegenDoom_1.3.wad:DEC_FIST" line 5:
"CHEATNOTWEAPON" is an unknown flag

Script error, "LegenDoom_1.3.wad:DEC_FIST" line 7:
"weapon.bobrangex" requires an actor of type "Weapon"


Execution could not continue.

Script error, "LegenDoom_1.3.wad:DEC_FIST" line 7:
Unexpected '0.05' in definition of 'LDFists'

Got this error when trying this +Legendoom + DoomRLA + DoomRL Monsters
Killamanjaro53
 
Joined: 07 Mar 2016

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby wildweasel » Wed May 18, 2016 7:00 pm

I'm not sure you're supposed to combine Legendoom and DoomRLA...also, this is the DoomRPG thread, have you loaded DoomRPG as well?
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Killamanjaro53 » Wed May 18, 2016 7:01 pm

Yes
Killamanjaro53
 
Joined: 07 Mar 2016

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.9.14 Beta]

Postby SandvichBros » Fri May 20, 2016 5:30 pm

edward850 wrote:
scrubsucksatdoom wrote: adding c:/windows/syswow64/config/systemprofile/desktop/SteamApps/common/doom 2/base/doom2.wad, 2919 lumps
adding C:/Windows/system32/config/systemprofile/Desktop/doomrpg/DoomRPG-RLArsenal, 27 lumps


http://superuser.com/questions/704749/m ... o-solve-it (It's either that or you're somehow logged in as the system administrator, which you really shouldn't be in any circumstances.)
Meanwhile, stop storing things on the desktop. Especially Steam.
Twice in the same page, it's like a servicing apocalypse.

What about me? Think you could help me out? I had recently updated after a while of, well, not updating, and I got this:
OS: Windows NT (NT 10.0) Build 10586

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Using program directory for storage
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
adding C:/GZDoom/gzdoom.pk3, 608 lumps
adding Doom2.wad, 2919 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/DoomRPG/DoomRPG, 3290 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/DoomRPG/DoomRPG-Brightmaps, 782 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/DoomRPG/DoomRPG-RLArsenal, 27 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/DoomRPG/DoomRPG-RLMonsters, 8 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU Speed: 1996 MHz
CPU Vendor ID: AuthenticAMD
Name: AMD A6-5200 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics
Family 22 (22), Model 0, Stepping 1
Features: MMX MMX+ SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
FMOD Sound System, copyright © Firelight Technologies Pty, Ltd., 1994-2009.
Loaded FMOD version 4.44.52
V_Init: allocate screen.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
Checking cmd-line parameters...
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
Unknown patch 'MA75X0' in texture 'MA75Y0'
Unknown patch 'WSTEX0' in texture 'WSTEY0'
ANIMDEFS: Can't find PMARA1

Execution could not continue.

Script error, ":ANIMDEFS.txt" line 7:
Unknown texture PMARA1
SandvichBros
 
Joined: 20 May 2016

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby wildweasel » Fri May 20, 2016 5:49 pm

You are loading the RLArsenal and RLMonsters patches without the DoomRL-Arsenal and DoomRL-Monsters WAD files.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Killamanjaro53 » Fri May 20, 2016 8:31 pm

hm, could've sworn legendoom and doomrla would work together, oh well.
Killamanjaro53
 
Joined: 07 Mar 2016

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby Killamanjaro53 » Fri May 20, 2016 8:47 pm

Also this is strange, playing GZdoom, my HUD is gone, can't see health,ammo or armor

Edit:nvm
Killamanjaro53
 
Joined: 07 Mar 2016

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby nexus_6 » Sat May 21, 2016 10:10 am

I got the latest versions on DoomRPG and DoomRL but the hud doesn't seem to be working properly. I've noticed that when I'm selecting a DoomRL class the graphics don't load (flickering marine for all of them) and in game it doesn't show what weapon I'm currently using.

My load order is

doomrl_arsenal_1.05
doomrl_arsenal_hud_1.05
doomrl_arsenal_monsters_beta_6.2
DoomRPG
DoomRPG_Brightmaps
DoomRPG_doom1
DoomRPG_extras
DoomRPG_RLArsenal
DoomRPG_RLMonsters

Is this wrong or do the latest version not work well together?

http://imgur.com/a/SXts6
nexus_6
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2014

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby BoneofMalkav » Sat May 21, 2016 10:13 am

nexus_6 wrote:I got the latest versions on DoomRPG and DoomRL but the hud doesn't seem to be working properly. I've noticed that when I'm selecting a DoomRL class the graphics don't load (flickering marine for all of them) and in game it doesn't show what weapon I'm currently using.

My load order is

doomrl_arsenal_1.05
doomrl_arsenal_hud_1.05
doomrl_arsenal_monsters_beta_6.2
DoomRPG
DoomRPG_Brightmaps
DoomRPG_doom1
DoomRPG_extras
DoomRPG_RLArsenal
DoomRPG_RLMonsters

Is this wrong or do the latest version not work well together?

http://imgur.com/a/SXts6



Try not loading DoomRPG_extra's with all of that. Doom RPG's Extras and DoomRLA don't work well together.
User avatar
BoneofMalkav
Jesus Builds That Dang A Lang a Ding Dang Dong Hotrod Yo
 
Joined: 22 May 2014
Location: The Prison of Grimrock
Discord: BoneofMalkav #5547
Twitch ID: BoneofMalkav
Github ID: boneofmalkav
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby nexus_6 » Sat May 21, 2016 3:31 pm

Thanks! That seems to have sorted the HUD issue, menu graphics still a little weird but it's not a big deal.

Sorry if it was mentioned earlier but is this part of the mod?

Image

I'm not sure what it is or how I respond to it but it pop up now and again.
nexus_6
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2014

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Postby -Ghost- » Sun May 22, 2016 7:20 pm

So if the GDCC conversion got merged into the master, is the master version currently the most up to date?
User avatar
-Ghost-
 
Joined: 08 Sep 2010

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.9.14 Beta]

Postby SandvichBros » Sun May 22, 2016 9:40 pm

edward850 wrote:
scrubsucksatdoom wrote: adding c:/windows/syswow64/config/systemprofile/desktop/SteamApps/common/doom 2/base/doom2.wad, 2919 lumps
adding C:/Windows/system32/config/systemprofile/Desktop/doomrpg/DoomRPG-RLArsenal, 27 lumps


http://superuser.com/questions/704749/m ... o-solve-it (It's either that or you're somehow logged in as the system administrator, which you really shouldn't be in any circumstances.)
Meanwhile, stop storing things on the desktop. Especially Steam.
Twice in the same page, it's like a servicing apocalypse.


What about me? I get the same error, except I don't have it on Desktop or on Steam; rather, I have it on it's own entirely singular folder--"C:\GZDoom."
Plus, I'm not running as admin either, as far as I can tell, so what gives?

P.S.--If it any consolation, I hadn't updated for a while until last Friday, so I downloaded a bunch of updates, and also, I thought it might be a good idea to save the old stuff and add it back on when it was finished, but cancelled when it got to the "same-named files sortout." Will I need to start all over?

(recent edit) P.P.S.--Just tried with the DoomRL WAD files while still having the aforementioned error and it gave me this:
OS: Windows NT (NT 10.0) Build 10586

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Using program directory for storage
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
adding C:/GZDoom/gzdoom.pk3, 608 lumps
adding Doom2.wad, 2919 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/Wads/DoomRL Arsenal Beta 7.94.wad, 3896 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/Wads/DoomRL HUD.wad, 484 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/Wads/DoomRL Monsters Beta 5.2.wad, 5699 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/DoomRPG/DoomRPG, 3290 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/DoomRPG/DoomRPG-Brightmaps, 782 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/DoomRPG/DoomRPG-RLArsenal, 27 lumps
adding C:/GZDoom/DoomRPG/DoomRPG-RLMonsters, 8 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU Speed: 1996 MHz
CPU Vendor ID: AuthenticAMD
Name: AMD A6-5200 APU with Radeon(TM) HD Graphics
Family 22 (22), Model 0, Stepping 1
Features: MMX MMX+ SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
FMOD Sound System, copyright © Firelight Technologies Pty, Ltd., 1994-2009.
Loaded FMOD version 4.44.52
V_Init: allocate screen.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
Checking cmd-line parameters...
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
Unknown patch 'MA75X0' in texture 'MA75Y0'
Unknown patch 'WSTEX0' in texture 'WSTEY0'
ANIMDEFS: Can't find NUKBX0

Execution could not continue.

Script error, ":ANIMDEFS.txt" line 46:
Unknown texture NUKBX0
SandvichBros
 
Joined: 20 May 2016

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest