Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.10.0 Beta]

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby -Ghost- » Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:25 pm

Weapon skills or even mutliple types of weapons ( i.e Shogun of Accuracy +1 or something) would be neat too, but I don't know how much is or isn't possible with Doom's engine.
User avatar
-Ghost-
 
Joined: 08 Sep 2010

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby VicRattlehead » Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:25 am

-Discount reduces the credits you get from selling items. Intentional or not?
-When you don't have any armor and you pick one up, it gets auto used. But if you pick up two or more of the same type at the same time, all of them will get auto used and you only benefit from one of them. I guess this is very unlikely to happen with monster drops and can only happen when buying armor so it's not a big deal.
VicRattlehead
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2011

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby Kyle873 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:54 am

VicRattlehead wrote:-Discount reduces the credits you get from selling items. Intentional or not?
-When you don't have any armor and you pick one up, it gets auto used. But if you pick up two or more of the same type at the same time, all of them will get auto used and you only benefit from one of them. I guess this is very unlikely to happen with monster drops and can only happen when buying armor so it's not a big deal.


- Intentional
- Can't do anything about this, unfortunately. That would never happen with monster drops anyway since they can only ever drop one used armor each. Also, even if they somehow did, they would be in different positions close to each other. The only way to reproduce the issue is by buying armor, but still, no idea what I can do to fix it.
User avatar
Kyle873
 
Joined: 28 Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby VicRattlehead » Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:38 am

Equipping an accessory that can bump up a skill past 200 (but doesn't since 200 is the hard cap) displays a critical message e.g. "ACS: I don't know what Strength225 is." And when you take off the accessory, it can reduce your skill points past what it was. For example, if you have 190 points in strength and you equip a rainbow badge, that will bring the skill to 200. Then when you take off the badge, your skill will be reduced to 150 instead of back to 190.

Rainbow badge pickup message refers to the item as Golden badge.

Also, wouldn't it be better if the display of XP gained for Rank and Level had their positions switched to correspond with the positions of the display of current Rank and Level XP? Looking at the screens of the older versions, the current Level was displayed on top of Rank, but with the new HUD, that is no longer the case.

I took a quick peek at the code and it looks like there's a typo with the RuneDropper preventing resistance runes from dropping. The resistancerune is listed as resistencerune
VicRattlehead
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2011

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby Kyle873 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:34 am

VicRattlehead wrote:Equipping an accessory that can bump up a skill past 200 (but doesn't since 200 is the hard cap) displays a critical message e.g. "ACS: I don't know what Strength225 is." And when you take off the accessory, it can reduce your skill points past what it was. For example, if you have 190 points in strength and you equip a rainbow badge, that will bring the skill to 200. Then when you take off the badge, your skill will be reduced to 150 instead of back to 190.

Rainbow badge pickup message refers to the item as Golden badge.

Also, wouldn't it be better if the display of XP gained for Rank and Level had their positions switched to correspond with the positions of the display of current Rank and Level XP? Looking at the screens of the older versions, the current Level was displayed on top of Rank, but with the new HUD, that is no longer the case.

I took a quick peek at the code and it looks like there's a typo with the RuneDropper preventing resistance runes from dropping. The resistancerune is listed as resistencerune


Ooh crap, I had a feeling this was going to happen. There's no easy workaround for this one except reverting back to earlier behavior where the cap tokens max out at 50 instead of 100. But now that I think about it, that might be better off anyway because some stats at 200 can be pretty OP, like Strength and Defense, so being able to increase up to those stats hard cap with tokens alone shouldn't be possible. Plus, it'll make you decide harder on which accessories (or only one on unfair :P) you want to use to bump a stat up, and considering how rare the Rainbow Badge is... I like this idea.

Fixed the RainbowBadge typo,

Yeah, you're right, I guess that just went over my head while I was redoing the HUD a few months back. Changed.

Yup, stupid me :P. Fixed.

Update

This update contains the above fixes as well as an addition to the Doom RPG options menu to freeze the game when the menu or shop is open. However, this DOES kill the sound too, which I don't really like but I figure others won't mind that as much.

edit:
Reupdated with the addition of Vitality and Energy adding to their respective regeneration rate.
Last edited by Kyle873 on Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kyle873
 
Joined: 28 Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby VicRattlehead » Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 pm

I don't know exactly how XP scaling is supposed to work but it looks like XP gain remains the same for all difficulty levels with the option on, except for Very Hard where the gained XP becomes multiplied to a higher amount.

Respawning enemies doesn't seem to work, or is the respawn time just very long?

Also, are there any plans to have randomization for ammo pickups?
Last edited by VicRattlehead on Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
VicRattlehead
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2011

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby mckracken » Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:52 pm

this is quite an interesting mod, two suggestions:
shops should only be available at certain points (level end etc.) to make weapon selection more interesting. Likewise shops - or rather a teleport to a marine outpost - should be the only place to get hold of weapons and ammo...

in keeping with an rpg, you should add much more monster varieties. A monster addon would be great.
mckracken
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2012

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby Kyle873 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:26 pm

VicRattlehead wrote:I don't know exactly how XP scaling is supposed to work but it looks like XP gain remains the same for all difficulty levels with the option on, except for Very Hard where the gained XP becomes multiplied to a higher amount.

Respawning enemies doesn't seem to work, or is the respawn time just very long?

Also, are there any plans to have randomization for ammo pickups?


It scales up a bit on each difficulty past hard.

The respawning is set to 5 minutes, or at least it SHOULD be...

I was thinking about it, but I'm still not sure if I want to bother.

shops should only be available at certain points (level end etc.) to make weapon selection more interesting. Likewise shops - or rather a teleport to a marine outpost - should be the only place to get hold of weapons and ammo...

in keeping with an rpg, you should add much more monster varieties. A monster addon would be great.


This used to be how it worked waaaay back before the mod was released, but teleporting to the outpost and back was a real pain in the ass to handle and was extremely glitchy, required me to redo the MAPINFO for EVERY level, and would break compatibility with other maps pretty easily, so I just said screw it.

I've already started adding them, alternate colored versions will spawn instead of their original counterparts sometimes with different effects on them.
User avatar
Kyle873
 
Joined: 28 Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby VicRattlehead » Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Kyle873 wrote:It scales up a bit on each difficulty past hard.


See, that's the thing. I said there doesn't seem to be any difference in XP gain in every difficulty except for Very Hard. That includes Nightmare and Unfair.

Also, what do you think about adding an option to reward the player extra XP if he plays with fast monsters on?
VicRattlehead
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2011

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby Kyle873 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:54 pm

VicRattlehead wrote:
Kyle873 wrote:It scales up a bit on each difficulty past hard.


See, that's the thing. I said there doesn't seem to be any difference in XP gain in every difficulty except for Very Hard. That includes Nightmare and Unfair.

Also, what do you think about adding an option to reward the player extra XP if he plays with fast monsters on?


Yeah I'm aware of that, the difficulty doesn't really ramp up until those last 3, so that's why it's done that way.

Good idea, just need to find the CVAR for it.
User avatar
Kyle873
 
Joined: 28 Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby VicRattlehead » Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:24 pm

Kyle873 wrote:Yeah I'm aware of that, the difficulty doesn't really ramp up until those last 3, so that's why it's done that way.


Okay, I must have worded that pretty badly. What I'm trying to say is that there's no increased XP gain in Nightmare and Unfair difficulty.
VicRattlehead
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2011

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby Kyle873 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:53 am

VicRattlehead wrote:
Kyle873 wrote:Yeah I'm aware of that, the difficulty doesn't really ramp up until those last 3, so that's why it's done that way.


Okay, I must have worded that pretty badly. What I'm trying to say is that there's no increased XP gain in Nightmare and Unfair difficulty.


You sure? The code looks fine to me and the skill numbers I'm checking against are setup properly and everything, there's no reason it shouldn't be working on nightmare/unfair. o_O
User avatar
Kyle873
 
Joined: 28 Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby VicRattlehead » Sun Sep 16, 2012 6:57 am

I think I may have figured it out. Honestly, I don't know shit about ACS (it's the first time I've ever used ACC) but looking at the code

Code: Select allExpand view
         if (GameSkill() == 5) // Very Hard
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 1.5);
         if (GameSkill() == 6) // Nightmare
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 2);
         if (GameSkill() == 7) // Unfair
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 4);


I just changed that to

Code: Select allExpand view
         if (GameSkill() == 5) // Very Hard
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 1.5);
         if (GameSkill() == 6) // Nightmare
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 2.0);
         if (GameSkill() == 7) // Unfair
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 4.0);


and now I benefit from extra XP in Nightmare and Unfair. If I set the values back then it goes back to no extra XP gain for Nightmare and Unfair.

---

Also, I just noticed that you changed the display of stat cap. I think it would be better if it was placed on the left side of the stat tokens, below the stats. Right now, it's sticking too close to the "Increase which stat?" section, plus it's misleading and makes the player think the stat cap number is the number of stat tokens since it's closer to the aforementioned section.
VicRattlehead
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2011

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby Kyle873 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 8:06 am

VicRattlehead wrote:I think I may have figured it out. Honestly, I don't know shit about ACS (it's the first time I've ever used ACC) but looking at the code

Code: Select allExpand view
         if (GameSkill() == 5) // Very Hard
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 1.5);
         if (GameSkill() == 6) // Nightmare
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 2);
         if (GameSkill() == 7) // Unfair
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 4);


I just changed that to

Code: Select allExpand view
         if (GameSkill() == 5) // Very Hard
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 1.5);
         if (GameSkill() == 6) // Nightmare
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 2.0);
         if (GameSkill() == 7) // Unfair
            TotalGained += FixedMul(TotalGained, 4.0);


and now I benefit from extra XP in Nightmare and Unfair. If I set the values back then it goes back to no extra XP gain for Nightmare and Unfair.

---

Also, I just noticed that you changed the display of stat cap. I think it would be better if it was placed on the left side of the stat tokens, below the stats. Right now, it's sticking too close to the "Increase which stat?" section, plus it's misleading and makes the player think the stat cap number is the number of stat tokens since it's closer to the aforementioned section.


Yeah, I always forget that ACS can handle floats weirdly, that did fix it.

I've rearranged the tokens and level-up menu again to compact the screen a little more as well.
User avatar
Kyle873
 
Joined: 28 Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Kyle873's Doom RPG Mod [0.8 Beta]

Postby yoshi314 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 11:26 am

sorry for lack of replies - been away.

the error i got was with svn build of zdoom. i also use svn build of gzdoom. i'll experiment some more to figure it out.
yoshi314
 
Joined: 16 May 2012

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests