Page 6 of 375

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.03: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:20 pm
by Marnetmar
MaxED wrote:
Marnetmar wrote:I'm unable to start this, I keep getting the "X has stopped working" error. I know it doesn't have anything to do with slimdx or all that jazz since I already have Doom Builder 2 installed. Little help?


Can you post "GZBuilder.log" file located in:
Windows Vista, 7: "C:\Users\{user}\AppData\Local\Doom Builder\"
Windows XP: "C:\Documents and Settings\{user}\Local Settings\Application Data\Doom Builder\"


Huh, that's odd. The regular builder log was there but there was no GZbuilder log :S

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:47 pm
by deathstalker666
Odd, I'm getting an error every time I try to go into Visual Mode. I load up the same map in regular Doom Builder and it works fine, but here it gives me an error - Index was outside the bounds of the array. I created a visual mode camera in a basic room, and yet cannot successfully load it in this editor.

Here is what I get when I hit details, perhaps it helps in figuring out what is wrong.

Spoiler:


Any ideas what the problem is with the editor?

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:20 am
by MaxED
deathstalker666 wrote:Odd, I'm getting an error every time I try to go into Visual Mode. I load up the same map in regular Doom Builder and it works fine, but here it gives me an error - Index was outside the bounds of the array. I created a visual mode camera in a basic room, and yet cannot successfully load it in this editor.

Any ideas what the problem is with the editor?


I was unable to replicate this problem, but try this Builder.exe (added sanity check to CalculateNormalsAndShading() function, let's see if that helps)

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.03: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:30 am
by MaxED
Marnetmar wrote:
MaxED wrote:
Marnetmar wrote:I'm unable to start this, I keep getting the "X has stopped working" error. I know it doesn't have anything to do with slimdx or all that jazz since I already have Doom Builder 2 installed. Little help?


Can you post "GZBuilder.log" file located in:
Windows Vista, 7: "C:\Users\{user}\AppData\Local\Doom Builder\"
Windows XP: "C:\Documents and Settings\{user}\Local Settings\Application Data\Doom Builder\"


Huh, that's odd. The regular builder log was there but there was no GZbuilder log :S


That's odd indeed, because creating a log file is among the first things Doom Builder 2 does after launch, so either dependencies aren't met (but they are met in you'r case) or GZDoomBuilder files are somehow damaged (what version of GZDoomBuilder do you have? Have you tried downloading newer ones?). And what version of Windows are you using?

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.02: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:59 am
by Agentbromsnor
Thel wrote:it only works on Windows Seven/Vista/8?


No, it doesn't work on Vista either. You have to get lucky it seems.

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:04 pm
by deathstalker666
MaxED wrote:
deathstalker666 wrote:Odd, I'm getting an error every time I try to go into Visual Mode. I load up the same map in regular Doom Builder and it works fine, but here it gives me an error - Index was outside the bounds of the array. I created a visual mode camera in a basic room, and yet cannot successfully load it in this editor.

Any ideas what the problem is with the editor?


I was unable to replicate this problem, but try this Builder.exe (added sanity check to CalculateNormalsAndShading() function, let's see if that helps)


That actually did it! Thanks :).

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:45 pm
by UnixAssassin
I'm having a problem.

I'm using Skulltag (Doom In Hexen Format)

When I am making changes to textures/things in GZDoom Visual Mode, it doesn't apply in-game.
I would have to make the changes in regular Visual Mode.

Any fix to this?

I've changed to 1.04a and the problem still happens.
But no I can't even use regular Visual Mode..
Something about an Array error.

Also, why can't I use the Skulltag Things?

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:11 pm
by deathstalker666
1. Wouldn't it be better to use a UDMF? I honestly don't see the use of other branches if we have a universal format. The only format we have besides UDMF is Hexen anyway, is there a reason why this one has been left behind?

2. Unix, as this is built for GzDoom, this probably isn't the most compatible builder for Skulltag. That especially applies to the last comment you mentioned. You can only save to the GZDoom port, meaning you are trying to play GzDoom by using Skulltag.

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:25 am
by disposable_username2
UnixAssassin wrote:I'm using Skulltag (Doom In Hexen Format)

When I am making changes to textures/things in GZDoom Visual Mode, it doesn't apply in-game.
I would have to make the changes in regular Visual Mode.
GZDoom Visual Mode only works for Universal ZDoom Map Format maps.

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:36 pm
by MaxED
UnixAssassin wrote:I'm having a problem.

I'm using Skulltag (Doom In Hexen Format)

When I am making changes to textures/things in GZDoom Visual Mode, it doesn't apply in-game.
I would have to make the changes in regular Visual Mode.

Any fix to this?

I've changed to 1.04a and the problem still happens.
But no I can't even use regular Visual Mode..
Something about an Array error.

Also, why can't I use the Skulltag Things?


To use Skulltag things copy "Skulltag_DoomHexen.cfg" from "<GZDoomBuilder>\Configurations\Configs for other games\" to "<GZDoomBuilder>\Configurations\"
To fix Array error try replacing Builder.exe with one mentioned in a post previous to your's.

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:01 pm
by UnixAssassin
MaxED wrote:
UnixAssassin wrote:I'm having a problem.

I'm using Skulltag (Doom In Hexen Format)

When I am making changes to textures/things in GZDoom Visual Mode, it doesn't apply in-game.
I would have to make the changes in regular Visual Mode.

Any fix to this?

I've changed to 1.04a and the problem still happens.
But no I can't even use regular Visual Mode..
Something about an Array error.

Also, why can't I use the Skulltag Things?


To use Skulltag things copy "Skulltag_DoomHexen.cfg" from "<GZDoomBuilder>\Configurations\Configs for other games\" to "<GZDoomBuilder>\Configurations\"
To fix Array error try replacing Builder.exe with one mentioned in a post previous to your's.


I did that and there still ain't Skulltag things.

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 2:01 am
by MaxED
UnixAssassin wrote:I did that and there still ain't Skulltag things.


1. Press "Open map" or "New Map" button
2. In "Map Options" dialog choose "Skulltag: Doom (Hexen format)" and click "OK".
Spoiler:

3. Go to Things Mode, add a thing, and voila:
Spoiler:

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 5:36 pm
by gdm413229
A Linux-only fork can come in handy for people who use Linux that are currently wanting to map for ZDoom without usage of a hex editor and so-called godlike brain processing power and with the ease of Doom Builder aswell. And don't forget to call it GTKBuilder, QtBuilder or even WxDBuilder depending on what user interface API it uses.

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 9:12 pm
by Jitan
just asking, am I suppose to see the model in 3D in the gzdoom visual mod or just a box ?

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 2:17 am
by MaxED
gdm413229 wrote:A Linux-only fork can come in handy for people who use Linux that are currently wanting to map for ZDoom without usage of a hex editor and so-called godlike brain processing power and with the ease of Doom Builder aswell. And don't forget to call it GTKBuilder, QtBuilder or even WxDBuilder depending on what user interface API it uses.


It would be one hell of a job, since Doom Builder 2 is written in C# and DirectX... I think Slade 3 has much better chances to be ported to Linux.