GZDoom Builder 2.3

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12f: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Xaser » Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:30 pm

I'm working on a project with a rather large resource wad, and the newest (SVN) build of the program has serious performance issues with the texture browser. It takes upwards of ten seconds to load the thing, every time I open it (no caching?). It's rather debilitating, enough that I'm probably going to have to downgrade in order to continue working.

This is a rather impressive upgrade to standard DB2, but it still could use some stress-testing.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12f: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:17 am

Hmm... How many textures do you have there? I've made a test wad with 5193 textures, and it seem to be working fine, no noticeable slowdowns whatsoever...
Wait. OH SHI--
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12g: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Wed Sep 05, 2012 4:36 am

Ok, this issue is hopefully fixed in 1.12g.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12g: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:49 am

This may be a bit tricky, but if you could implement that ...

On medium to large maps, the vertices are very difficult to see, regardless of colour.
For example:

Image
click image for full size

Could it be made that a vertex starts to pulsate, or changes to a somewhat larger size, as the mouse cursor goes over top of it,
so it is easier to mousehandle it ?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12g: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby ReedtheStrange » Wed Sep 05, 2012 12:35 pm

One feature that I would kind of like to see in Gzdoom/Zdoom is a pit sector with optional insta-death. Similar to horizon, but the wall texture go downward/upward forever, instead of floor and ceiling textures going forever as is the case with horizon.
User avatar
ReedtheStrange
 
Joined: 11 Sep 2011

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12g: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Medricel » Wed Sep 05, 2012 12:40 pm

ReedtheStrange wrote:One feature that I would kind of like to see in Gzdoom/Zdoom is a pit sector with optional insta-death. Similar to horizon, but the wall texture go downward/upward forever, instead of floor and ceiling textures going forever as is the case with horizon.

Wrong place for suggestions such as this (It'd probably get 'No'ed anyway). Making such a structure with existing features is easy enough.
User avatar
Medricel
26 is the new 18 is the new 11!
 
Joined: 20 Nov 2004

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12g: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby hfc2x » Wed Sep 05, 2012 2:15 pm

ReedtheStrange wrote:One feature that I would kind of like to see in Gzdoom/Zdoom is a pit sector with optional insta-death.

ACS -> Sector_SetDamage
User avatar
hfc2x
DoomEU is not dead, just inevitably headed for a Mordeth nomination.
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2009
Location: Chule

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12g: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Enjay » Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:31 pm

Also, sector type 115:
115 Damage_InstantDeath
Kills the player instantly.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12g: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed Sep 05, 2012 4:24 pm

Another request :)

Scrolling the mousewheel zooms in steps of 4% .
Could you implement zooming in 1% steps, maybe through press and hold some key and mousewheel ?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12g: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Xaser » Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:54 pm

MaxED wrote:Ok, this issue is hopefully fixed in 1.12g.

Ah, much obliged! It's lightning-fast now. Thank you for the mega-speedy fix, sir. :)
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12g: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:55 am

Kappes Buur wrote:This may be a bit tricky, but if you could implement that ...

On medium to large maps, the vertices are very difficult to see, regardless of colour.

Could it be made that a vertex starts to pulsate, or changes to a somewhat larger size, as the mouse cursor goes over top of it,
so it is easier to mousehandle it ?


Added in 1.12h:
Image

Kappes Buur wrote:Scrolling the mousewheel zooms in steps of 4% .
Could you implement zooming in 1% steps, maybe through press and hold some key and mousewheel ?


You can already change zoom factor using Preferenses -> Interface -> "Zoom factor". Default setting works pretty well, for me at least, so I just don't feel this feature is important enough to actually implement it... :?
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12h: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Uboa » Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:14 pm

For some odd reason, dynamic lights don't even show up in my visual mode. They don't even show up as thing objects, and they don't give off light at all. I'm using the standard Dynamic Light objects. Is there any fix?
User avatar
Uboa
Let's find a cheerleader and saw her legs off!
 
Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Location: Poniko's House

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12h: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:51 pm

Dynamic lights do not show up in Visual Mode, only in GZDoom Visual Mode.

You have to go into Game Configurations ( F6 - Modes ) and enable it.
Then click on the toolbar icon, or in Preferences ( F5 - Controls ) you can bind a key to it.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12h: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Uboa » Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:25 pm

Kappes Buur wrote:Dynamic lights do not show up in Visual Mode, only in GZDoom Visual Mode.

You have to go into Game Configurations ( F6 - Modes ) and enable it.
Then click on the toolbar icon, or in Preferences ( F5 - Controls ) you can bind a key to it.

I am using GZDoom Visual Mode. Sorry about not mentioning that. I've tried both visual modes.
User avatar
Uboa
Let's find a cheerleader and saw her legs off!
 
Joined: 19 Feb 2012
Location: Poniko's House

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12h: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Sun Sep 09, 2012 3:26 am

Uboa wrote:For some odd reason, dynamic lights don't even show up in my visual mode. They don't even show up as thing objects, and they don't give off light at all. I'm using the standard Dynamic Light objects. Is there any fix?


Try not loading zdoom.pk3 (or gzdoom.pk3) loaded as a Resource.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests