GZDoom Builder 2.3

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:22 pm

There seems to be a bug in v1.12a, I can no longer raise and lower 3-d floors in the Visual Mode while having them highlighted. It used to be possible...
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Wed Aug 01, 2012 3:06 am

Nash wrote:There seems to be a bug in v1.12a, I can no longer raise and lower 3-d floors in the Visual Mode while having them highlighted. It used to be possible...

Dunno, perhaps I'm doing it wrong, but it's still entirely possible :|
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Wed Aug 01, 2012 3:12 am

Nash wrote:When scaling a textures down with TEXTURES, and the source patch is put into the /textures directory, the image won't scale. Moving it to /patches will make GZDB draw ???? (texture not found).


Can you make a small test wad?

I've discovered some problems with textures, namely:
1. JPG and TGA textures aren't supported by GZDB (already fixed in my working build)
2. Order, in which texture search is performed in GZDB doesn't match one in (G)ZDoom: if you have an image somewhere in "textures" folder and a texture definition in TEXTURES with the same name, GZDB will use an image, while (G)ZDoom will use texture definition (working on it now).

Perhaps one of them is causing you'r troubles...
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:34 am

Re: raise/lower 3-d floor - nevermind, error on my part, I was trying to raise sloped 3-d floors, but didn't realize my control sector is aligned wrongly.

Re: TEXTURES

(2) seems to be the issue, I think. I have a high res road01 in /textures/road01 and the follow TEXTURES.TXT definition:

Code: Select allExpand view
Texture ROAD01, 1024, 1024 {
   XScale 4
   YScale 4

   Patch ROAD01, 0, 0
}


GZDB only displays ????.

Additionally, GZDB only seems to parse textures.txt - I have split my TEXTURES into many files; textures_roads.txt, textures_skies.txt, textures_brick.txt, etc - they all get ignored.

Sorry for the brief post, I have to go out now, hopefully my explanation of (2) is enough information, you seem to know what's going on anyway. If you still need a demo file, I will post it later. Thanks!
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Xtyfe » Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:07 pm

The recent update 1.12b, just wondering if this fixes a problem in DB that i have experienced before. Though maybe not a problem exactly, more of a difference.

It seems the scale at which the level is rendered in the visual mods is different then how they are rendered in game, its heard to explain i guess. But I can say that it usually ends up with what I have built being bigger in game than is shown in the visual mods. Is this the same issue i experienced?
User avatar
Xtyfe
Neque Deos, Neque Dominos
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby NeuralStunner » Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:58 pm

Speaking of scaling:
Changelog wrote:Sectors height is now stretched 120% to match (G)ZDoom's way of rendering.
Please tell me this is entirely optional. It is in fact a deal breaker for me. :(
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Not "Neutral"
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Xtyfe » Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:04 pm

if it matches how things are rendered in ZDoom, how could that be a bad thing
User avatar
Xtyfe
Neque Deos, Neque Dominos
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby NeuralStunner » Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:44 pm

In the cases it doesn't, how can that be a good thing?

I already just barely tolerate the unconfigurable auto-align. Working around invasive features isn't exactly my favorite hobby.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Not "Neutral"
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:55 pm

Yes, please make the stretching optional via a tickbox; I modified my game's EXE to disable the stretching for sectors and also models...

(My project has nothing at all to do with Doom, and relies on 1:1 pixels)

EDIT:

1.12a:
Image

1.12b:
Image

Noooo D:
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby NeuralStunner » Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:19 pm

I didn't even have to touch the source code to get 1:1 pixel display. It's actually very simple (Windowed mode, multiple of 320x200, Vid_NoWidescreen enabled).
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Not "Neutral"
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:23 pm

Yeah, if I were playing regular (G)ZDoom, I would have done that, but that is not an ideal solution for my project. For my case, it was best if my game "just did it" so the end user doesn't have to fiddle with settings (render 1:1 pixels right out the box).
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:27 pm

There still seems to be a problem getting GZDB to scale textures stored in /textures/... see example file. Works good with gzdoom.exe -file textures.pk3 map01.wad

but in the GZDB, all I see is ????.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/47355875/textures.zip
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:37 am

Nash wrote:There still seems to be a problem getting GZDB to scale textures stored in /textures/... see example file. Works good with gzdoom.exe -file textures.pk3 map01.wad


DB2 and GZDB expect to find texture patches in "patches" folder. I'll change that in the next update.

And about sectors scale: well, looks like I'll have to make this feature toggleable via preferences... :blergh:


Sudden unrelated question: is there a way to hide HUD during cutscenes in (G)ZDoom?
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby FireSeraphim » Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:38 am

3d mode is now borked because of your change. The 3d mode camera is sunked a bit too deep into the floor when I'm using 3d mode and I have gravity enabled and I happen to be one of the few people who actually uses (GZ)Doombuilder's Gravity Mode in 3D mode.
User avatar
FireSeraphim
Verified Professional Vampire Hunter
 
Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Discord: FireSeraphim #9061

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:58 am

For years I've had to look at invisible squares to represent model assets for Total Chaos, you sir just changed my life
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest