GZDoom Builder 2.3

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:05 pm

Kappes Buur wrote:I am at a bit of a loss over this error

Image

which GZDB finds when playing this or similar pwads.
No other program complains.


It's nothing serious, actually. Doom Builder 2 (and GZDB) loads map actors from Doom Builder's configuration files and from Decorate files found in map's resources. Actors, which cannot be placed in the map (like FatShot, which in fact is Mancubus fireball) aren't included in configuration files. So when Doom Builder 2 discovers a decorate actor, which inherits from such actor ("DaedFire"), it complains that it cannot find a base class. Similar story happens when GZDB discovers GLDEFS light definition for an actor, which cannot be placed in the map.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Kappes Buur » Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:39 pm

Ah, thank you for the clarification.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Siberian Tiger » Mon Jul 16, 2012 12:28 pm

Fantastic work thus far, I will be looking forward into trying this out soon within my projects.
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Siberian Tigers Rule All~!!!
 
Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Github ID: SibTiger
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Victik83 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:05 am

MaxED wrote:
Victik83 wrote:Anyone recognizes these problems?
Greetzz Victik


Something is very wrong with your copy of editor (have you extracted GZDoom Builder archive to a folder where Doom Builder 2 was installed (that's not a good idea)?). Download current version of GZDB and extract it to new folder. Also try to rename or remove GZBuilder.cfg located in (Windows Vista, 7) "C:\Users\{user}\AppData\Local\Doom Builder\" or (Windows XP) "C:\Documents and Settings\{user}\Local Settings\Application Data\Doom Builder\" to reset settings to default.

Victik83 wrote:Scripteditor appears to be on narcotics or something i dunno but it doesnt recognize anything while things are defined the right way

Can you explain it in more detail?

Hi maxed, thanks for the reply...
But no, i cant select things too so i cant get to the properties... But, i ve removed everything cause im feeling like throwing it through the window :o

So from scratch, what do you suggest to start with? im running XP btw

Thanks for sharing your specialty :wink:
Victik83
 
Joined: 12 Jul 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Kappes Buur » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:42 am

Victik83 wrote:..... So from scratch, what do you suggest to start with? .....


This might help

Both, Doombuilder2 and GZDoom Builder, are quite robust. After all, both programs are now running on enough computers without problems.
If something does go sideways it usually can be traced to either user error or something is amiss with the computer.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:59 am

Kappes Buur wrote:This might help


Nice guide :3: (added to my first post)!
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby cq75 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 11:53 am

GzDoomBuilder works almost perfectly on my Mac using Parallels Desktop, the only bug is that the mouse sensitivity is very, very high, but only in visual mode.

Would it be possible to make the slider so that it can go to something lower than 100? 100 is useable but not pleasant.
User avatar
cq75
I've given myself a number, and taken away my name.
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Location: Just beyond the line horizon
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:37 pm

cq75 wrote:GzDoomBuilder works almost perfectly on my Mac using Parallels Desktop, the only bug is that the mouse sensitivity is very, very high, but only in visual mode.
Would it be possible to make the slider so that it can go to something lower than 100? 100 is useable but not pleasant.


You can open GZBuilder.cfg (one found in the depth of Documents and Settings / Users folder, not one in GZDB's folder) and change "visualmousesensx" and "visualmousesensy" to something low (like 0.5f).
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby cq75 » Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:13 pm

ah, thanks. That helped, though it seems to completely undo my configuration changes when I switch from coherence mode and back, I'm not sure if this software is worth the $80... (Parallels Desktop, that is)
User avatar
cq75
I've given myself a number, and taken away my name.
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Location: Just beyond the line horizon
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:27 pm

The new scripting enhancements are INSANE! Too bad it doesn't work with libraries that are map-independant...
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:22 am

Serious question: how many of you use Doom Builder's prefabs (and what amount of frustration will it bring you if prefabs in the next version of GZDB won't be compatible with prefabs created in Doom Builder 2 and current version of GZDB)?
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Kappes Buur » Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:32 am

MaxED wrote:how many of you use Doom Builder's prefabs


That would be no problem for me.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Fri Jul 20, 2012 11:25 am

I just started using prefabs yesterday. Haven't made much though, and most of the stuff I made yesterday can be made again with little effort.

I hope you don't remove prefab support though; it's a useful feature and very time-saving.

Another unrelated question; would it be possible to support libraries in your scripting workflow system? (Also preferrably libraries from a folder on the hard disk, not just WADs/PK3s)

EDIT: one more thing. full colour PNGs with alpha do not draw properly in GZDB. They get converted to paletted alpha, losing the smooth transparencies. See attached test texture.

Image
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Fri Jul 20, 2012 2:53 pm

Sorry for the double post but I think it deserves its own post. Will you be adding support for voxel rendering? Perhaps you can have a look in GZDoom's source and see how it's done? If I recall correctly, it's converting each voxel into a 3-d cube...
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Fri Jul 20, 2012 4:48 pm

Nash wrote:I hope you don't remove prefab support though; it's a useful feature and very time-saving.

I won't remove them. Archive format, in which they are stored, may change though.

Nash wrote:Another unrelated question; would it be possible to support libraries in your scripting workflow system? (Also preferrably libraries from a folder on the hard disk, not just WADs/PK3s)

This will be added in the next update.

Nash wrote:EDIT: one more thing. full colour PNGs with alpha do not draw properly in GZDB. They get converted to paletted alpha, losing the smooth transparencies. See attached test texture.

Nash wrote:Will you be adding support for voxel rendering?

Not in the near future... I'm planning some changes in GZDB's rendering core, I'll continue adding rendering features only after that's done.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests