GZDoom Builder 2.3

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.09b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:39 am

I was talking about manually offsetting the 3-d floor sides by pointing at them, just like you would do a normal 2-sided linedef wall. Auto aligning would be an additional "nice to have" but isn't necessary for my personal uses.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.09b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nero » Sun Jul 01, 2012 3:55 am

I'm not quite sure I understand what you mean by just pointing at them. Well wait, I guess the step I'm missing is hitting the arrow keys to move a textures whichever way it needs to go. With 3D floor types other than Vavoom you can manually adjust offsets the same way although it doesn't always translate nice at runtime. Or is this an alignment feature that will fix the thing with 3D floors sharing the same line for an edge moving their side textures together in visual mode unless you manually edit offsets via the actual dummy sector line tag?

I'll have to give this version a try since the new features might make some of the really laborious parts of my project easier. I'd really like to see auto-alignment though.
User avatar
Nero
Royal Boredom....Why can't I do this in Windows?
 
Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Location: Middle of Nowheresville Il.

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.10a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:07 am

Can someone clarify these to me?

1. Which UDMF fields are used in 3d-floors sidedefs in GZDoom? I've already discovered that texture position values ("offsetx_mid", "offsety_mid") are taken from 3d-floor linedef's Fields, but texture scale values ("scalex_mid" and "scaley_mid") are taken from control linedef's (linedef with Sector_Set3dFloor action special) Fields. "light" and "lightabsolute" values seem to be taken from 3d-floor linedef's Fields but have strange brightness ingame (and "lightabsolute" seems to have no effect ingame).

2. Are quotation marks (") allowed in UDMF string fields? zdbsp is unable to build nodes, when there's a string field with quotation marks. Is it zdbsp's bug, or quotation marks shouldn't be used in string fields?
Example:
this will be built fine:
Code: Select allExpand view
comment = "Cool sector!"

both these lines will result in error:
Code: Select allExpand view
comment = ""Cool sector!""

Code: Select allExpand view
comment = "\"Cool sector!\""
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.10a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Sgt Dopey » Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:33 am

Oooooh looky at all these new fangled features, nice work MaxED!

Everytime I use a new feature I don't know how to use I keep on thinking I am breaking it.
User avatar
Sgt Dopey
:O
 
Joined: 14 Jan 2011
Location: Australia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.10a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Shadelight » Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:43 pm

The tag explorer sounds really cool. :O
User avatar
Shadelight
You must construct additional lumber.
 
Joined: 20 May 2005
Location: Labrynna
Discord: Shadelight#4920

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.10a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Simon666 » Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:08 am

It seem that i'm not able to change brightness level by increment of 8 ( stuck at 16 )
Am i the only one with this problem? ( i'm mapping in UDMF format )
Simon666
 
Joined: 11 May 2011

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.10a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:11 pm

Simon666 wrote:It seem that i'm not able to change brightness level by increment of 8 ( stuck at 16 )
Am i the only one with this problem? ( i'm mapping in UDMF format )


Hmm... there's an error in configuration files. Doom map format light levels are used even in non-Doom map formats. To fix this, replace ZDoom_common.cfg with attached file.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.10a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Gez » Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:17 pm

MaxED wrote:2. Are quotation marks (") allowed in UDMF string fields?


I don't think so. The UDMF specs says:
quoted_string := "([^"\\]*(\\.[^"\\]*)*)"

If my regularexpressionese isn't too rusty, those [^"\\]* sequence means the content of the quoted string can be any character except " and \.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.10a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:15 am

Gez wrote:If my regularexpressionese isn't too rusty, those [^"\\]* sequence means the content of the quoted string can be any character except " and \.


Thanks, that makes things easier.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Victik83 » Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:09 pm

Hi guys, i am new on this forum and im a fanatical Doombuilder, however, the more it gets upgraded the more problems i get and im tired of looking arround on forums to see what at, and now i cant even build anymore cause nothing works properly now, and i have all needed software for it to run. The only thing i want running on my machine is doombuilder :) Can anyone link me a ''normally functioning'' or a so called bugless version of GZDoom builder please, it should be upgraded instead of downgraded, it has become one big bug and its only getting worse...:( everytime a feature is added, another feature is failing. I have to say that it sucks :o, it all went wrong after 3dfloor patch...

I cannot use copy paste and delete in visual modes...
I cannot place or remove things in any mode, yeah 1, and after that i cant remove it, i have to use ctrl-z instead...
It crashes every single time at every action i take, i can continue though but its not supposed to happen, also i get multiple crashes at startup without even being started...
Selecting isnt working properly, sometimes it does, sometimes it dont, its like im not holding my mousebutton, he just lets go the selection or doesnt even select at all...
Scripteditor appears to be on narcotics or something i dunno but it doesnt recognize anything while things are defined the right way, (this could be my own mistake, but i doubt it)...
Curve wont be a problem, but why is it gone?

Before this i was running r1429 with GZplugin, it worked great, but i took GZDoom 1.10a because all of a sudden skybox and script just stopped working, and now i cant even place things in my map...

Anyone recognizes these problems?
Greetzz Victik
Victik83
 
Joined: 12 Jul 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby hfc2x » Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:29 pm

It crashes in a very ugly way when I select multiple things and attempt to view their properties:

Spoiler: Sorry, it's in spanish
User avatar
hfc2x
DoomEU is not dead, just inevitably headed for a Mordeth nomination.
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2009
Location: Chule

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:24 am

Victik83 wrote:Anyone recognizes these problems?
Greetzz Victik


Something is very wrong with your copy of editor (have you extracted GZDoom Builder archive to a folder where Doom Builder 2 was installed (that's not a good idea)?). Download current version of GZDB and extract it to new folder. Also try to rename or remove GZBuilder.cfg located in (Windows Vista, 7) "C:\Users\{user}\AppData\Local\Doom Builder\" or (Windows XP) "C:\Documents and Settings\{user}\Local Settings\Application Data\Doom Builder\" to reset settings to default.

Victik83 wrote:I cannot use copy paste and delete in visual modes...

Currently Things copying/pasting is not implemented in visual modes. Things deletion should be working fine.

Victik83 wrote:Scripteditor appears to be on narcotics or something i dunno but it doesnt recognize anything while things are defined the right way

Can you explain it in more detail?

Victik83 wrote:Curve wont be a problem, but why is it gone?

It's not.
Spoiler:
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:27 am

hfc2x wrote:It crashes in a very ugly way when I select multiple things and attempt to view their properties

This issue will be fixed in next update.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Kappes Buur » Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:27 am

I am at a bit of a loss over this error

Image

which GZDB finds when playing this or similar pwads.
No other program complains.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.11: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Tormentor667 » Fri Jul 13, 2012 12:51 pm

This is getting better and better :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest