GZDoom Builder 2.3

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun May 20, 2012 4:44 am

Didn't solve it unfortunately.
Spoiler:

When opening the map, I do get the map 2D view for a short moment but then immediately the error message pops up. It's directly when parsing the MODELDEF, though it happens only once and when hitting "Continue" I actually can work in 2D mode. But when launching the 3D mode, I get this error: (D3ERR_INVALIDCALL: Invalid call (-2005540516),
Spoiler:

...and the only thing I can do then is shutting down GZDB :( Hope this helps with tracking down the issue.
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Sun May 20, 2012 7:29 am

Tormentor667 wrote:Didn't solve it unfortunately.
Spoiler:

When opening the map, I do get the map 2D view for a short moment but then immediately the error message pops up. It's directly when parsing the MODELDEF, though it happens only once and when hitting "Continue" I actually can work in 2D mode. But when launching the 3D mode, I get this error: (D3ERR_INVALIDCALL: Invalid call (-2005540516),
Spoiler:

...and the only thing I can do then is shutting down GZDB :( Hope this helps with tracking down the issue.


Hmm... Check that decimal separator is point, not comma on your OS (it should be somewhere under Control Pannel - Regional standards).
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun May 20, 2012 9:44 am

I have a german Windows 7 and in Germany it's usual to have a comma as seperator, not a point. You should take this into consideration as Germany isn't the only country where this is usual.
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Sun May 20, 2012 9:54 am

Tormentor667 wrote:I have a german Windows 7 and in Germany it's usual to have a comma as seperator, not a point. You should take this into consideration as Germany isn't the only country where this is usual.


Well, it's also usual in Russia, but I haven't had any problems with it when I changed it to point in Russian versions of Windows XP and 7...
Anyway, currently I'm going to rewrite my modeldef parsing code in a way other Doom Builder 2 parsers work (it should also allow me to load MODELDEFs and models from wads and pk3s), so this problem should be gone in one of 1.06 updates.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Tormentor667 » Mon May 21, 2012 5:50 am

Glad to hear, so I am just being a bit patient now :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Tue May 22, 2012 3:20 am

Tormentor667 wrote:Glad to hear, so I am just being a bit patient now :)

Check out 1.06a
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Tormentor667 » Tue May 22, 2012 2:16 pm

Pretty nice, I was able to use 3D Mode without any further crashes :) Though there are some problems with some models though. The first 2 attached shots show a distortion with some models. They work fine ingame but look strange in GZDoomBuilder. On the other hand, as in shot 3, transparent textures will be displayed as white instead of transparent.

Other than that very well done in terms of bugfixing :)
Attachments
transparent.jpg
distorted2.jpg
distorted.jpg
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Tue May 22, 2012 3:57 pm

Tormentor667 wrote:Pretty nice, I was able to use 3D Mode without any further crashes :) Though there are some problems with some models though. The first 2 attached shots show a distortion with some models. They work fine ingame but look strange in GZDoomBuilder. On the other hand, as in shot 3, transparent textures will be displayed as white instead of transparent.

Other than that very well done in terms of bugfixing :)


Oh wow... :shock:
I completely forgot that models can have transparent textures (that'll be easy to fix fixed in 1.06b).
But I haven't seen such distortions while I tested the editor (I noticed that some of MD2 models have their UVs messed up, but hasn't seen any problems with geometry)... Looks like vertex order gets messed in some cases.

Can you send me one of such distorted models for testing?..
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Tormentor667 » Wed May 23, 2012 1:35 am

I am currently at work, but I will check for an example model this evening.
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Tormentor667 » Thu May 24, 2012 2:02 pm

Just writing a pm
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06b: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Fri May 25, 2012 6:15 am

Tormentor667 wrote:Just writing a pm


Check out 1.06c :)
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06c: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby cq75 » Fri May 25, 2012 1:27 pm

This is very interesting; CodeImp made a post earlier on some UDMF features I commonly use

CodeImp wrote:You may even want to add the features that my GZDoom Editing plugin has (many UDMF stuff such as flat rotation/scaling/offset, individual high/mid/low texture offsets and auto-align, slopes, etc) ...


Has there been any progress on these features? I would definitely switch from DB2 to this editor if it had DB2's GzDoom editing plugin features.
User avatar
cq75
I've given myself a number, and taken away my name.
 
Joined: 27 Dec 2009
Location: Just beyond the line horizon

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06c: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Fri May 25, 2012 1:49 pm

cq75 wrote:This is very interesting; CodeImp made a post earlier on some UDMF features I commonly use

CodeImp wrote:You may even want to add the features that my GZDoom Editing plugin has (many UDMF stuff such as flat rotation/scaling/offset, individual high/mid/low texture offsets and auto-align, slopes, etc) ...


Has there been any progress on these features? I would definitely switch from DB2 to this editor if it had DB2's GzDoom editing plugin features.


GZDoom Builder is based on latest Doom Builder 2 SVN version, so it has all features Doom Builder 2 has (including GZDoom Visual mode and UDMF features).
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06c: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby cq75 » Fri May 25, 2012 9:58 pm

Great, downloading!

EDIT - Works great, thanks for making this
User avatar
cq75
I've given myself a number, and taken away my name.
 
Joined: 27 Dec 2009
Location: Just beyond the line horizon

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.06c: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby cq75 » Mon May 28, 2012 9:19 am

Double posted to report an odd problem, it works great on one computer but it doesn't work on another, both of them are running Windows 7 Professional x64, the only difference is the graphics card and one of them is newer and possibly has more windows updates.
User avatar
cq75
I've given myself a number, and taken away my name.
 
Joined: 27 Dec 2009
Location: Just beyond the line horizon

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest