GZDoom Builder 2.3

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.03: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Marnetmar » Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:20 pm

MaxED wrote:
Marnetmar wrote:I'm unable to start this, I keep getting the "X has stopped working" error. I know it doesn't have anything to do with slimdx or all that jazz since I already have Doom Builder 2 installed. Little help?


Can you post "GZBuilder.log" file located in:
Windows Vista, 7: "C:\Users\{user}\AppData\Local\Doom Builder\"
Windows XP: "C:\Documents and Settings\{user}\Local Settings\Application Data\Doom Builder\"


Huh, that's odd. The regular builder log was there but there was no GZbuilder log :S
User avatar
Marnetmar
Grasshopper!
 
Joined: 23 Aug 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby deathstalker666 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:47 pm

Odd, I'm getting an error every time I try to go into Visual Mode. I load up the same map in regular Doom Builder and it works fine, but here it gives me an error - Index was outside the bounds of the array. I created a visual mode camera in a basic room, and yet cannot successfully load it in this editor.

Here is what I get when I hit details, perhaps it helps in figuring out what is wrong.

Spoiler:


Any ideas what the problem is with the editor?
User avatar
deathstalker666
 
Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Location: United States

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:20 am

deathstalker666 wrote:Odd, I'm getting an error every time I try to go into Visual Mode. I load up the same map in regular Doom Builder and it works fine, but here it gives me an error - Index was outside the bounds of the array. I created a visual mode camera in a basic room, and yet cannot successfully load it in this editor.

Any ideas what the problem is with the editor?


I was unable to replicate this problem, but try this Builder.exe (added sanity check to CalculateNormalsAndShading() function, let's see if that helps)
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.03: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:30 am

Marnetmar wrote:
MaxED wrote:
Marnetmar wrote:I'm unable to start this, I keep getting the "X has stopped working" error. I know it doesn't have anything to do with slimdx or all that jazz since I already have Doom Builder 2 installed. Little help?


Can you post "GZBuilder.log" file located in:
Windows Vista, 7: "C:\Users\{user}\AppData\Local\Doom Builder\"
Windows XP: "C:\Documents and Settings\{user}\Local Settings\Application Data\Doom Builder\"


Huh, that's odd. The regular builder log was there but there was no GZbuilder log :S


That's odd indeed, because creating a log file is among the first things Doom Builder 2 does after launch, so either dependencies aren't met (but they are met in you'r case) or GZDoomBuilder files are somehow damaged (what version of GZDoomBuilder do you have? Have you tried downloading newer ones?). And what version of Windows are you using?
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.02: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Agentbromsnor » Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:59 am

Thel wrote:it only works on Windows Seven/Vista/8?


No, it doesn't work on Vista either. You have to get lucky it seems.
User avatar
Agentbromsnor
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby deathstalker666 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:04 pm

MaxED wrote:
deathstalker666 wrote:Odd, I'm getting an error every time I try to go into Visual Mode. I load up the same map in regular Doom Builder and it works fine, but here it gives me an error - Index was outside the bounds of the array. I created a visual mode camera in a basic room, and yet cannot successfully load it in this editor.

Any ideas what the problem is with the editor?


I was unable to replicate this problem, but try this Builder.exe (added sanity check to CalculateNormalsAndShading() function, let's see if that helps)


That actually did it! Thanks :).
User avatar
deathstalker666
 
Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Location: United States

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby UnixAssassin » Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:45 pm

I'm having a problem.

I'm using Skulltag (Doom In Hexen Format)

When I am making changes to textures/things in GZDoom Visual Mode, it doesn't apply in-game.
I would have to make the changes in regular Visual Mode.

Any fix to this?

I've changed to 1.04a and the problem still happens.
But no I can't even use regular Visual Mode..
Something about an Array error.

Also, why can't I use the Skulltag Things?
UnixAssassin
 
Joined: 28 Apr 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby deathstalker666 » Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:11 pm

1. Wouldn't it be better to use a UDMF? I honestly don't see the use of other branches if we have a universal format. The only format we have besides UDMF is Hexen anyway, is there a reason why this one has been left behind?

2. Unix, as this is built for GzDoom, this probably isn't the most compatible builder for Skulltag. That especially applies to the last comment you mentioned. You can only save to the GZDoom port, meaning you are trying to play GzDoom by using Skulltag.
User avatar
deathstalker666
 
Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Location: United States

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby disposable_username2 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:25 am

UnixAssassin wrote:I'm using Skulltag (Doom In Hexen Format)

When I am making changes to textures/things in GZDoom Visual Mode, it doesn't apply in-game.
I would have to make the changes in regular Visual Mode.
GZDoom Visual Mode only works for Universal ZDoom Map Format maps.
disposable_username2
 
Joined: 08 Mar 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:36 pm

UnixAssassin wrote:I'm having a problem.

I'm using Skulltag (Doom In Hexen Format)

When I am making changes to textures/things in GZDoom Visual Mode, it doesn't apply in-game.
I would have to make the changes in regular Visual Mode.

Any fix to this?

I've changed to 1.04a and the problem still happens.
But no I can't even use regular Visual Mode..
Something about an Array error.

Also, why can't I use the Skulltag Things?


To use Skulltag things copy "Skulltag_DoomHexen.cfg" from "<GZDoomBuilder>\Configurations\Configs for other games\" to "<GZDoomBuilder>\Configurations\"
To fix Array error try replacing Builder.exe with one mentioned in a post previous to your's.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby UnixAssassin » Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:01 pm

MaxED wrote:
UnixAssassin wrote:I'm having a problem.

I'm using Skulltag (Doom In Hexen Format)

When I am making changes to textures/things in GZDoom Visual Mode, it doesn't apply in-game.
I would have to make the changes in regular Visual Mode.

Any fix to this?

I've changed to 1.04a and the problem still happens.
But no I can't even use regular Visual Mode..
Something about an Array error.

Also, why can't I use the Skulltag Things?


To use Skulltag things copy "Skulltag_DoomHexen.cfg" from "<GZDoomBuilder>\Configurations\Configs for other games\" to "<GZDoomBuilder>\Configurations\"
To fix Array error try replacing Builder.exe with one mentioned in a post previous to your's.


I did that and there still ain't Skulltag things.
UnixAssassin
 
Joined: 28 Apr 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Wed May 02, 2012 2:01 am

UnixAssassin wrote:I did that and there still ain't Skulltag things.


1. Press "Open map" or "New Map" button
2. In "Map Options" dialog choose "Skulltag: Doom (Hexen format)" and click "OK".
Spoiler:

3. Go to Things Mode, add a thing, and voila:
Spoiler:
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby gdm413229 » Mon May 07, 2012 5:36 pm

A Linux-only fork can come in handy for people who use Linux that are currently wanting to map for ZDoom without usage of a hex editor and so-called godlike brain processing power and with the ease of Doom Builder aswell. And don't forget to call it GTKBuilder, QtBuilder or even WxDBuilder depending on what user interface API it uses.
gdm413229
 
Joined: 04 Oct 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Jitan » Mon May 07, 2012 9:12 pm

just asking, am I suppose to see the model in 3D in the gzdoom visual mod or just a box ?
Jitan
 
Joined: 04 Oct 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder 1.04a: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Tue May 08, 2012 2:17 am

gdm413229 wrote:A Linux-only fork can come in handy for people who use Linux that are currently wanting to map for ZDoom without usage of a hex editor and so-called godlike brain processing power and with the ease of Doom Builder aswell. And don't forget to call it GTKBuilder, QtBuilder or even WxDBuilder depending on what user interface API it uses.


It would be one hell of a job, since Doom Builder 2 is written in C# and DirectX... I think Slade 3 has much better chances to be ported to Linux.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 2 guests