Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod (release!)

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Thu May 06, 2010 10:22 am

I just ran the fixed level and the switch didn't work.

So here's the Decorate coding for the monkey and the blue shape.

Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR HappyMonkey replaces HeartColumn
{
  Radius 16
  Height 32
  Scale .7
  +SOLID
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    MNKY A 10
    MNKY BCB 5
    MNKY D 5
    MNKY A 5
    Loop
  }
}

actor BlueShape: Key replaces BlueCard
{
  +Floatbob
  inventory.pickupmessage "You found the Blue Circle!"
inventory.icon "BKEYST0"
Inventory.PickupSound "misc/i_pkup"
  states
  {
  Spawn:
    BKEY A 30 bright
    BKEY B 10 bright
    loop
  }
}
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby InsanityBringer » Thu May 06, 2010 12:53 pm

lizardcommando wrote:A switch is supposed to spawn those two items and yes, I do have mapspots 1 and 2 on the map.

Spoiler:


try setting the normal tag to 1 (which is currently 4) and not the "MapSpot Tag"
User avatar
InsanityBringer
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Location: opening the forbidden box
Discord: InsanityBringer#9908

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Thu May 06, 2010 2:26 pm

Alright. It works now! Thank you everyone for your help! :D
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby TheDoomGuy » Fri May 07, 2010 8:59 pm

MUST... FIND... SHAPES.
User avatar
TheDoomGuy
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2006

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Mon May 10, 2010 5:35 pm

I'm trying to replace the health bonuses with a custom item, but every time I try to start a new game, it'll crash, saying something about a

Script error, "shapesearch.wad:DECORATE" line 198:
Unexpected 'shinycoin/pickup' in definition of 'ShinyCoin'


What does this mean and how do I fix this?

Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR ShinyCoin replaces HealthBonus
{
  +Floatbob
  +COUNTITEM
  +INVENTORY.ALWAYSPICKUP
 Inventory.PickupSound "shinycoin/pickup"
  Inventory.Amount 1
  Inventory.MaxAmount 200
  Inventory.PickupMessage "Picked up a shiny coin!"
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    COIN ABCD 5
    Loop
  }
}
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby InsanityBringer » Mon May 10, 2010 5:40 pm

lizardcommando wrote:I'm trying to replace the health bonuses with a custom item, but every time I try to start a new game, it'll crash, saying something about a

Script error, "shapesearch.wad:DECORATE" line 198:
Unexpected 'shinycoin/pickup' in definition of 'ShinyCoin'


What does this mean and how do I fix this?

Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR ShinyCoin replaces HealthBonus
{
  +Floatbob
  +COUNTITEM
  +INVENTORY.ALWAYSPICKUP
 Inventory.PickupSound "shinycoin/pickup"
  Inventory.Amount 1
  Inventory.MaxAmount 200
  Inventory.PickupMessage "Picked up a shiny coin!"
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    COIN ABCD 5
    Loop
  }
}


try replacing the actor declaration line with this:
Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR ShinyCoin : Inventory replaces HealthBonus

if you want ot to heal, replace Inventory with HealthBonus.
User avatar
InsanityBringer
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Location: opening the forbidden box
Discord: InsanityBringer#9908

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Mon May 10, 2010 5:52 pm

Cool. It works now. Thanks :)
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby Alice Jameson » Tue May 11, 2010 11:22 am

This looks very interesting. I'd love to see the final product.
User avatar
Alice Jameson
The Original Doomgirl <3
 
Joined: 19 Jun 2009
Location: Minnesota

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Tue May 11, 2010 8:33 pm

I just realized that the HUD won't work in resolutions lower than 1024 x 768. What can I do to fix this?
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby Demolisher » Tue May 11, 2010 8:58 pm

ACS or SBarInfo?
User avatar
Demolisher
Princess Grincess
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Location: Winchester, VA
Github ID: DemolisherOfSouls
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Tue May 11, 2010 9:09 pm

I made it in SBARINFO.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby Demolisher » Tue May 11, 2010 9:38 pm

Well it shouldn't break unless the images are too big, or the text isn't positioned well enough. Try adjusting text position and image sizes.
User avatar
Demolisher
Princess Grincess
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Location: Winchester, VA
Github ID: DemolisherOfSouls
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Tue May 11, 2010 11:44 pm

This is what I have for the SBARINFO coding:

Code: Select allExpand view
height 0;
CompleteBorder True;

statusbar normal
{

     DrawImage "KEYHUD", 190, -470;
     DrawSwitchableImage BlueShape, "nullimage", "BKEYST0", 170, -470;
     DrawSwitchableImage YellowShape, "nullimage", "YKEYST0", 190, -470;
     DrawSwitchableImage RedShape, "nullimage", "RKEYST0", 210, -470;

}

statusbar Fullscreen

{

     DrawImage "KEYHUD", 190, -470;
     DrawSwitchableImage BlueShape, "nullimage", "BKEYST0", 170, -470;
     DrawSwitchableImage YellowShape, "nullimage", "YKEYST0", 190, -470;
     DrawSwitchableImage RedShape, "nullimage", "RKEYST0", 210, -470;

}


What would be the ideal position for it to work in any screen resolution and not just the highest resolution?
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Wed May 12, 2010 10:26 pm

I'm trying to get my HUD to work in all resolutions, but I can't seem to get it working right. The problem right now is that the HUD will only work properly in the highest resolution. I want it so that the HUD is always displayed on the top middle part of the screen just like how it's shown in the first screenshots. Can someone please help get this coding to work? This thing needs to be done by next week.

Alright, so I messed with the coding some more and I'm still stumped. I was able to have it so that the HUD is displayed at the bottom of the screen. It works fine like that in all resolutions. In fact, I'm going to keep it like that for the normal HUD position. The Fullscreen HUD i want it so that it is displayed at the middle top like in the first screenshots. As mentioned earlier, however, that will only work in the highest resolution.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby DoomRater » Thu May 13, 2010 1:42 am

K, so there apparently is a way to center your HUD but you're going to lock your scale in to whatever you choose. I forget if there was a way to have a true centered bar unfortunately...
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests