Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod (release!)

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.
User avatar
ZDG
Posts: 918
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: in SlumpEd

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by ZDG »

Heh, i'll show that to my son, if i ever have one.
User avatar
Xim
Posts: 2085
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:46 pm
Location: somewhere with trees

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by Xim »

If I ever have a son, the first mod I'll show him will be Sirens.

Regardless, this is awesome. Please continue. :D
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by lizardcommando »

Thanks for the support guys. I really appreciate it.

So I recorded some sounds and put them in the game. My question now is how do I have it so that when you step over the linedef that starts the sound, you don't move until the conversation is over? Also, what do I type for the other conversations? IE I have two sounds "bunny/talk01" and "bunny/talk02". I want it so that 3 seconds after the first part plays, it goes on to the second part. This is what I have for the ACS scripting for now:

Code: Select all

    #include "zcommon.acs"

    script 1 (void)
    {
        print(s:"Hello I'm Mr. Hoppington. I'm looking for my friends, blue circle, red square and yellow triangle.");
        LocalAmbientSound("bunny/talk01",127);
    }
Also, how do I have it so that when you don't have all three necessary keys, a message shows up? What happens right now is that I can press the button with either one key, two keys, or no keys. However, if I collect all three keys after pressing the button down, nothing will happen. How do I fix this? Here's the ACS scripting so far:

Code: Select all

        script 3 (void)
    {
        if (CheckInventory("yellowshape") && CheckInventory("redshape") && CheckInventory("blueshape")) //adjust names as needed
        {
             Floor_LowerToNearest (3, 5);
        }
    }
One more question, what do I need to write in order to have it so that the map's brightness level decreases when I press a switch?
User avatar
InsanityBringer
Posts: 3386
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:53 pm
Location: opening the forbidden box

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by InsanityBringer »

lizardcommando wrote:So I recorded some sounds and put them in the game. My question now is how do I have it so that when you step over the linedef that starts the sound, you don't move until the conversation is over?
Before the print line, call SetPlayerProperty(0,1,PROP_TOTALLYFROZEN);
lizardcommando wrote:Also, what do I type for the other conversations? IE I have two sounds "bunny/talk01" and "bunny/talk02". I want it so that 3 seconds after the first part plays, it goes on to the second part.
the final script will look like this:

Code: Select all

    #include "zcommon.acs"

    script 1 (void)
    {
        SetPlayerProperty(0,1,PROP_TOTALLYFROZEN);
        print(s:"Hello I'm Mr. Hoppington. I'm looking for my friends, blue circle, red square and yellow triangle.");
        LocalAmbientSound("bunny/talk01",127);
        Delay(35 * 3);
        
        print(s:"To find them, you'll have to look all over the world! Get to searchin'!");
        LocalAmbientSound("bunny/talk02",127);
        Delay(35 * 3);
        SetPlayerProperty(0,0,PROP_TOTALLYFROZEN);
    }
lizardcommando wrote:Also, how do I have it so that when you don't have all three necessary keys, a message shows up? What happens right now is that I can press the button with either one key, two keys, or no keys.
All you need is a else block which executes if the if statement's condition isn't met. Like this:

Code: Select all

     script 3 (void)
    {
        if (CheckInventory("yellowshape") && CheckInventory("redshape") && CheckInventory("blueshape")) //adjust names as needed
        {
             Floor_LowerToNearest (3, 5);
        }
        else
        {
             Print(s:"You haven't acquired all of the shapes yet.");
        }
    }
    
lizardcommando wrote:However, if I collect all three keys after pressing the button down, nothing will happen
In the Linedefs properties window, there should be a flag named "Repeatable Action." Check it.

If you want to get any further in ACS, I recommend you start with Rick Clark's Scripting Primer first, then pursuing the valuable information on the wiki as a reference.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by lizardcommando »

Good stuff. Thanks for the tips, InsanityBringer. :)
User avatar
Captain Ventris
Posts: 4605
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:25 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by Captain Ventris »

You totally need to put up a link to the wad when it's done. :P

MR. HOPPINGTON


YOUR SHAPES


ARE NOT FORGOTTEN
Last edited by Captain Ventris on Wed May 05, 2010 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: WATR HQ
Contact:

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by DoomRater »

This project gives me great hope for a project I will attempt later on.
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by lizardcommando »

Ok, another quick question. I'm trying to mess with the SpawnSpot script, but it doesn't seem to be working. What am I doing wrong here?

Code: Select all

        script 4 (void)
    {
            SpawnSpot ("blueshape",1);
            SpawnSpot ("Happymonkey",2);
    }
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11335
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by Cutmanmike »

What executes script 4? Are those class names in the correct case? Does mapspot 1 and 2 exist in the map?
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by Gez »

Cutmanmike wrote:Are those class names in the correct case?
As a green gnome once famously said, "case matters not."
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by lizardcommando »

A switch is supposed to spawn those two items and yes, I do have mapspots 1 and 2 on the map.
Spoiler:
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11335
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by Cutmanmike »

Gez wrote:
Cutmanmike wrote:Are those class names in the correct case?
As a green gnome once famously said, "case matters not."
I fix up everything when I'm stumped. It's good practice :P
lizardcommando wrote:A switch is supposed to spawn those two items and yes, I do have mapspots 1 and 2 on the map.
Spoiler:
Ok uhh, did you compile the script? Can we see a screenshot of the switch special?
User avatar
lizardcommando
Posts: 1489
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by lizardcommando »

Yeah, I compiled the script. It still isn't working for some reason.
Spoiler:
The new screenshot. Is this what you were looking for?
Spoiler:
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11335
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by Cutmanmike »

Okay last resort, show us the decorate code. If I can't work anything out from that then I'm official stumped.
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: WATR HQ
Contact:

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Post by DoomRater »

Are you sure you're running the level you just fixed? I've done that a few times...
Locked

Return to “Abandoned/Dead Projects”