Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod (release!)

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby ZDG » Tue May 04, 2010 8:57 am

Heh, i'll show that to my son, if i ever have one.
User avatar
ZDG
NEOMARINE
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2010
Location: in SlumpEd

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby Xim » Tue May 04, 2010 9:25 am

If I ever have a son, the first mod I'll show him will be Sirens.

Regardless, this is awesome. Please continue. :D
User avatar
Xim
 
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Somewhere with trees

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Tue May 04, 2010 9:40 pm

Thanks for the support guys. I really appreciate it.

So I recorded some sounds and put them in the game. My question now is how do I have it so that when you step over the linedef that starts the sound, you don't move until the conversation is over? Also, what do I type for the other conversations? IE I have two sounds "bunny/talk01" and "bunny/talk02". I want it so that 3 seconds after the first part plays, it goes on to the second part. This is what I have for the ACS scripting for now:

Code: Select allExpand view
    #include "zcommon.acs"

    script 1 (void)
    {
        print(s:"Hello I'm Mr. Hoppington. I'm looking for my friends, blue circle, red square and yellow triangle.");
        LocalAmbientSound("bunny/talk01",127);
    }


Also, how do I have it so that when you don't have all three necessary keys, a message shows up? What happens right now is that I can press the button with either one key, two keys, or no keys. However, if I collect all three keys after pressing the button down, nothing will happen. How do I fix this? Here's the ACS scripting so far:

Code: Select allExpand view
        script 3 (void)
    {
        if (CheckInventory("yellowshape") && CheckInventory("redshape") && CheckInventory("blueshape")) //adjust names as needed
        {
             Floor_LowerToNearest (3, 5);
        }
    }


One more question, what do I need to write in order to have it so that the map's brightness level decreases when I press a switch?
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby InsanityBringer » Wed May 05, 2010 5:04 am

lizardcommando wrote:So I recorded some sounds and put them in the game. My question now is how do I have it so that when you step over the linedef that starts the sound, you don't move until the conversation is over?

Before the print line, call SetPlayerProperty(0,1,PROP_TOTALLYFROZEN);

lizardcommando wrote:Also, what do I type for the other conversations? IE I have two sounds "bunny/talk01" and "bunny/talk02". I want it so that 3 seconds after the first part plays, it goes on to the second part.

the final script will look like this:
Code: Select allExpand view
    #include "zcommon.acs"

    script 1 (void)
    {
        SetPlayerProperty(0,1,PROP_TOTALLYFROZEN);
        print(s:"Hello I'm Mr. Hoppington. I'm looking for my friends, blue circle, red square and yellow triangle.");
        LocalAmbientSound("bunny/talk01",127);
        Delay(35 * 3);
       
        print(s:"To find them, you'll have to look all over the world! Get to searchin'!");
        LocalAmbientSound("bunny/talk02",127);
        Delay(35 * 3);
        SetPlayerProperty(0,0,PROP_TOTALLYFROZEN);
    }


lizardcommando wrote:Also, how do I have it so that when you don't have all three necessary keys, a message shows up? What happens right now is that I can press the button with either one key, two keys, or no keys.

All you need is a else block which executes if the if statement's condition isn't met. Like this:
Code: Select allExpand view
     script 3 (void)
    {
        if (CheckInventory("yellowshape") && CheckInventory("redshape") && CheckInventory("blueshape")) //adjust names as needed
        {
             Floor_LowerToNearest (3, 5);
        }
        else
        {
             Print(s:"You haven't acquired all of the shapes yet.");
        }
    }
   


lizardcommando wrote:However, if I collect all three keys after pressing the button down, nothing will happen

In the Linedefs properties window, there should be a flag named "Repeatable Action." Check it.

If you want to get any further in ACS, I recommend you start with Rick Clark's Scripting Primer first, then pursuing the valuable information on the wiki as a reference.
User avatar
InsanityBringer
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Location: opening the forbidden box
Discord: InsanityBringer#9908

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Wed May 05, 2010 12:30 pm

Good stuff. Thanks for the tips, InsanityBringer. :)
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby Captain Ventris » Wed May 05, 2010 12:38 pm

You totally need to put up a link to the wad when it's done. :P

MR. HOPPINGTON


YOUR SHAPES


ARE NOT FORGOTTEN
Last edited by Captain Ventris on Wed May 05, 2010 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Captain Ventris
Buy my novel, “The Shadow Among The Stars” on Amazon or Itch.io!
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby DoomRater » Wed May 05, 2010 1:08 pm

This project gives me great hope for a project I will attempt later on.
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Wed May 05, 2010 10:14 pm

Ok, another quick question. I'm trying to mess with the SpawnSpot script, but it doesn't seem to be working. What am I doing wrong here?

Code: Select allExpand view
        script 4 (void)
    {
            SpawnSpot ("blueshape",1);
            SpawnSpot ("Happymonkey",2);
    }
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby Cutmanmike » Thu May 06, 2010 6:03 am

What executes script 4? Are those class names in the correct case? Does mapspot 1 and 2 exist in the map?
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby Gez » Thu May 06, 2010 6:24 am

Cutmanmike wrote:Are those class names in the correct case?

As a green gnome once famously said, "case matters not."
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Thu May 06, 2010 6:52 am

A switch is supposed to spawn those two items and yes, I do have mapspots 1 and 2 on the map.

Spoiler:
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby Cutmanmike » Thu May 06, 2010 7:02 am

Gez wrote:
Cutmanmike wrote:Are those class names in the correct case?

As a green gnome once famously said, "case matters not."


I fix up everything when I'm stumped. It's good practice :P
lizardcommando wrote:A switch is supposed to spawn those two items and yes, I do have mapspots 1 and 2 on the map.

Spoiler:


Ok uhh, did you compile the script? Can we see a screenshot of the switch special?
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby lizardcommando » Thu May 06, 2010 7:18 am

Yeah, I compiled the script. It still isn't working for some reason.

Spoiler:


The new screenshot. Is this what you were looking for?

Spoiler:
User avatar
lizardcommando
Thread killer
 
Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Location: Boringland, California

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby Cutmanmike » Thu May 06, 2010 7:27 am

Okay last resort, show us the decorate code. If I can't work anything out from that then I'm official stumped.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: Mr. Hoppington's Shape Search - A Kid's Doom mod

Postby DoomRater » Thu May 06, 2010 10:16 am

Are you sure you're running the level you just fixed? I've done that a few times...
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests