Threshold Of Pain - FINAL VERSION

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.
scalliano

Threshold Of Pain - FINAL VERSION

Post by scalliano »

After taking twice as long to finish as I had anticipated, I throw myself to the wolves with my first true Doom 2 WAD :P

Threshold Of Pain attempts to recreate the look and atmosphere of PSX Doom while retaining the core gameplay of the PC versions, with a few ZDoom/GZDoom enhancements. It is my first attempt at a releasable wad, so I'm not fussed about creating maps with loads of detailing, rather creating a decent old-school blast that (hopefully) doesn't get boring or unbalanced. There will be some eye-candy, though.

I got the idea when I was playing the PSX TC. Like many others, my first experience with Doom was on the PSX, but whilst, in some respects, it was better (atmosphere, music, SFX) there were many elements missing from the PC. It was also much, much easier and lacked a proper end boss battle. I started messing around with DB and DECORATE stuff to see if I could redress the balance. When I got so far in, I thought, why not make an episode to go along with it?

Features include:
9-10 new levels
Tons of coloured lighting, but nothig too garish
PSX audio
The PSX fire sky, given a bit of a ZDoom makeover
A couple of new weapons and powerups
New monsters - the nightmare class monsters from PSX Doom and Doom64, a handful from the Bestiary and ZDMP, plus a new final boss
A few other PSX/N64-style tweaks.

THE STORY

After saving humanity from the threat of extinction more times than you could remember and establishing yourself as the only one to call upon when the UAC screwed things up again, it was only a matter of time before things got personal.