Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Software projects like source ports (EDGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby NightFright » Thu Feb 27, 2020 11:09 am

A 1:1 translation for Duke3D ports certainly won't be possible and also wouldn't make sense. Having something like this for Raze later on might still prove useful, even as a separate project. Suggested name btw: "Duke Runner" (obviously) 😆...
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby EddCase » Thu Feb 27, 2020 3:43 pm

Like i said it works very well already for Raze if you look at the image I posted all of the Build engine games work when launched through Doom Runner with the"WADS" being replaced by the GRP or RFF file respectively the only one that requires anything in addition is to get the Blood expansion Crypt of Despair working you have to add -ini cryptic.ini to the additional command line arguments which is why it would be nice for the additional command line options to be assigned to profiles rather than globally.

The code to launch the games with Doom Runner and Raze dosn't actually need any modification just if you wanted to support launching games with Raze a couple of changes like the additional command line being part of the profile and possibly adding the option to show GRP and RFF extensions along with the WAD, PK3, ZIP to make it easier to find the correct files

Raze is being programmed by the Main Dev of GZDoom and uses its backend and a lot of its control code if you want more info you can see the announcement thread here https://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=67139

to run Duke Nukem 3D is
"Engines/Raze/raze.exe" -iwad "Wads/Duke Nukem 3D/Atomic Edition/DUKE3D.GRP"

to run with the Nuclear Winter expansion its
"Engines/Raze/raze.exe" -iwad "Wads/Duke Nukem 3D/Atomic Edition/DUKE3D.GRP" -file "Wads/Duke Nukem 3D/Duke Nuclear Winter/nwinter.grp"

One Whole Unit Blood its
"Engines/Raze/raze.exe" -config "Engines/Raze/raze-Edd.ini" -iwad "Wads/Blood/BLOOD.RFF"

for Blood: Crypt of Despair its
"Engines/Raze/raze.exe" -config "Engines/Raze/raze-Edd.ini" -iwad "Wads/Blood/BLOOD.RFF" -ini cryptic.ini
EddCase
 
Joined: 25 Feb 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby Barry Burton » Fri Mar 13, 2020 9:39 am

Thank you for creating this launcher. It has now totally replaced ZDL as my daily driver.

I do have one request, if you're interested. Would it be possible to add radio buttons/tick boxes for NO SOUND and NO MUSIC cvars? Ideally, I'd shorten the "Addition Command Line Arguments box and place the tick boxes to the right of it.

Regardless, thanks again.
User avatar
Barry Burton
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2019

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby youda008 » Fri Mar 13, 2020 11:46 am

Hi. I will think about it. Adding a checkbox/combobox is not a problem. But i want to keep it somehow logically organized, so i have to think about its position.
User avatar
youda008
 
Joined: 01 May 2019

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby NightFright » Fri Mar 13, 2020 1:13 pm

You are the man, man.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby Barry Burton » Fri Mar 13, 2020 2:14 pm

Thanks for taking it under consideration. :)
User avatar
Barry Burton
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2019

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby Nash » Wed Mar 18, 2020 2:35 am

Just gave this a spin - this is promising. :) I am currently using ZDoom Executor and there are a few things that ZDE does right... I have made some improvement suggestions for Doom Runner on the Github Issues tab. Keep up the good work!
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby youda008 » Thu Apr 09, 2020 1:52 am

Thank you, i hope i will find some time to work on it during Easter holidays.
User avatar
youda008
 
Joined: 01 May 2019

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby NightFright » Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:24 am

Praise the Lord! The highres Doomguy has spoken!
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby Nash » Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:24 am

There's no rush, take all the time you need. :) I am willing to switch to Doom Runner permanently if all of the conveniences of ZDE are brought over to DR. :D
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby Barry Burton » Thu Apr 09, 2020 4:25 am

I've a strange issue with Doom 64 EX. The game loads fine using DoomRunner but there's no sound. If I run D64 EX from its own launcher the sound is there so I don't think it's the game itself. Any suggestions?
User avatar
Barry Burton
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2019

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby NightFright » Thu Apr 09, 2020 4:49 am

Doom64 EX launcher may add an additional launch parameter that isn't automatically added when using other launchers. If that's the case, I wouldn't have the slightest clue which parameter that could be, though. It should also be checked how the game behaves when using other launchers.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby Barry Burton » Fri Apr 10, 2020 4:19 am

So, I checked out D64 EX through ZDL, Doom Launcher and Doom Explorer and the game ran fine and sound played as normal. I tried Doom Runner again just in case but sadly it still didn't play sound. It's quite perplexing.
User avatar
Barry Burton
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2019

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby youda008 » Fri Apr 10, 2020 7:28 am

You mean that DoomRunner is the only launcher out of many, with which the sound doesn't play?
I've never tried Doom64, this was primarily for ZDoom-like engines, Doom64 might have some specific requirements. I will look into it later.
User avatar
youda008
 
Joined: 01 May 2019

Re: Doom Runner (yet another graphical Doom launcher)

Postby Barry Burton » Fri Apr 10, 2020 9:43 am

Yeah, that's right. I just presumed D64 EX would load just the same (same command line arguments etc) but perhaps I'm wrong - it wouldn't be the first time.

Thanks for looking into it. :)
User avatar
Barry Burton
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2019

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest