[Util] ZDoom Terrain Generator

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Postby Enjay » Thu May 12, 2005 5:28 pm

OK, thanks. A bit of playing around with that and resizing etc and things are much clearer now.

6
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Chris » Thu May 12, 2005 5:30 pm

I've just been mucking around with stuff and it's cool, but I'd like to see the kind of graphic that can make a good, usable terrain. Most of the graphics I have tried have created a very lumpy terrain that is hard to walk over.

Take your favorite image editor and decrease the contrast. That'll cause less color variation which'll create smaller hills.
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Postby Enjay » Thu May 12, 2005 5:36 pm

Thanks, that helps too. It seems very sensitive to even quite slight differences in "colour" at least using the default values.

6
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu May 12, 2005 7:02 pm

You can set the height variation on the command line if the default doesn't suit you.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby DoomRater » Thu May 12, 2005 8:36 pm

I feel likea snail for not knowing about this until now.

Grubber already proved some awesome scripting skillz, and then he comes and blows us away with this. Now I must try.
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Postby Vader » Fri May 13, 2005 2:23 am

The only problem with this is, that iyou doesn´t seem to be able,
to transfer a heightmap into a nother map properly (via prefabs in doombuilder).
The heights get totally screwed, though everything is 1:1 copied from the heightsmap :?
User avatar
Vader
Mandroid ginger Ninja
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Location: Germany

Postby Lexus Alyus » Fri May 13, 2005 4:42 am

The best solution wolud be to generate your terrain and then work on that map and buoldfrom there. If you plan it in advance and placew some flat parts then you can place buildings and landmarks iun the apropriate places without screwing with the geomitry. This makes sense in theory... but I have yet to find out if it works in practice :D. Would be cool foer creating army type mods with missions and stuff... anyone thinking of making a Battle Zone mod? :D (I really like that game, good idea... I'm sure that with some complex scripts you could do something like it).

Grubber, your program has spawned far more possibilities, I must congratulate you (again :D).

:twisted:
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
ROTGS 2 WILL definitely be finished... eventually :D
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Nottingham, UK

Postby Vader » Fri May 13, 2005 5:32 am

I got it to work!
I just forgot to copy the z-angle of the slope things :roll:
User avatar
Vader
Mandroid ginger Ninja
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Location: Germany

Postby randi » Fri May 13, 2005 9:46 am

This is awesome. I wonder how much work it would be to add a real terrain engine to the game.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby TheDarkArchon » Fri May 13, 2005 9:50 am

randy wrote:This is awesome. I wonder how much work it would be to add a real terrain engine to the game.


YOU TEASE!
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

Postby Your Name Is » Fri May 13, 2005 9:52 am

Well, it would be pretty cool
User avatar
Your Name Is
Wake up and smell the ashes.
 
Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby Hirogen2 » Fri May 13, 2005 10:18 am

Belial wrote:HOLY CRAP THIS IS BEAUTIFUL

except that a 16-bit renderer is missing, for that fog effect.
randy wrote:This is awesome. I wonder how much work it would be to add a real terrain engine to the game.

What's a in-engine terrain engine, i.e. how does it look like? Put one thing in that sector and - got your terrain?
UT has its terrain generator in Unrealed, same goes for Q2 (I guess), so what is it?

I'd support sourcecode. Especially since I can't run that exe thing without emluation under <another OS>. There could be an algorithm to produce squares instead of triangles - reduces the sector count and subsector stuff (and detail, but that depends on what you want). Even though visplane overflows are long gone, large ssector areas can bog down.

Maybe we can get Kurt Kesler back in the boat now, thanks to this Terrain Gen?
User avatar
Hirogen2
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Central Germany

Postby randi » Fri May 13, 2005 10:41 am

Hirogen2 wrote:What's a in-engine terrain engine, i.e. how does it look like?

All it means is that the engine is capable of using the heightmap directly and rendering it in a more efficient manner. But I think something like that really needs a new map format and editor support to be more than just a big hassle to use.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Postby kgsws » Fri May 13, 2005 10:58 am

can anybody send me some BMPs?
User avatar
kgsws
ěščřžýáíé :)
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Location: CZ

Postby Grubber » Fri May 13, 2005 11:25 am

Sniper joe wrote:Can I kill you and eat your brains?

No.

Risen wrote:Is it capable of doing ceilings?

Not yet ;).
User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests