GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Doominer441 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:55 pm

Screw me, I guess.
Last edited by Doominer441 on Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Doominer441
 
Joined: 24 Oct 2013

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Nevander » Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:22 pm

ZZYZX wrote:It always shows textures that have the pattern in them. It never shows textures that START with the pattern. If you think it does, it's an illusion.

It is no illusion. I know for a fact on R2734 it is possible to press a letter and have it start at the first texture that matches that letter. Sometimes it does what you suggest and find any texture matching the pattern. I want to know how to always filter it by an exact match starting with the letter. Please make that an option if you can to change the behavior. It's helpful for it to filter by the start of a letter for my purposes.
User avatar
Nevander
The Doomslayer
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Location: United States

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:59 pm

Texture browser was changed at some revision (R2780-s). Which, kind of, caused this fork. But all I know is that after the change it always searches by "contains", not "starts with".
Yes, this can be changed eventually.
User avatar
ZZYZX
I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Whiteace » Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:45 am

Hey, I am not too sure if I am asking for too much or not, but it would be extremely helpful if you could add a feature that allows people to load maps from PK3's, I don't speak for everybody but the amount of times I have to pull out a map from a PK3 just to edit it or put a wad into the PK3, it's kind of tedious every time I want to make some new changes.
User avatar
Whiteace
Legendary Banchou (Badass)
 
Joined: 29 Feb 2012

GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby GENTEK » Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:48 am

Hi! :D
256 is the maximum amount for brightness in a sector right ? Because if yes that seem broken I must draw 512 to have the same amount of 256! :?:

EXAMPLE:
Spoiler:
User avatar
GENTEK
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2013

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:42 pm

GENTEK wrote:256 is the maximum amount for brightness in a sector right ?

Correct, for GZDB and GZDBBF.

  • In both, either the Edit mode or Visual Mode, using the Ctrl+Scrollwheel increases/decreases
    the brightness by 8 from 0 to 256.
  • In Sectors Mode, using the up/down handles of the Brightness box of the Edit Sectors window
    increases/decreases the brightness by 1 from 0 to 256.
In all cases this is visually reflected as the brightness of the sector goes up or down.

Setting anything higher than 256 has the same effect as just 256.

[edit]
In DB2 and DBX, the range is 0 to 255 and no Ctrl+Scrollwheel shortcut or visual feedback.
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:02 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby GENTEK » Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:47 pm

So something is broken!
User avatar
GENTEK
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2013

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:53 pm

Did you install the required software ?

  • Microsoft .Net Framework 3.5
  • DirectX 9.0 Runtime

Try the GZDB installer from DRDteam. Install it into a dedicated folder.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby zrrion the insect » Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:01 pm

What do you have the color of the sector set to?
User avatar
zrrion the insect
Like a fish in a child's hands.
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2009
Location: Time Station 1: Moon of Glendale

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:05 pm

Spoiler:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby GENTEK » Wed Nov 01, 2017 2:19 pm

FIXED Thanks Kappes Buur! :D
User avatar
GENTEK
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2013

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Bauul » Thu Nov 02, 2017 1:15 pm

The latest versions of GZDoom come with an updated version of lights.pk3, that when you add as a Resource in GZDB doesn't display in Visual Mode (so things like torches and candles don't display any kind of dynamic light when added).

Using the lights.pk3 from an older version of GZDoom (e.g. 2.1.1) they do show up in the editor ok, so it looks like GZDB just needs to be updated to read the new directory structure of the latest lights.pk3.
Bauul
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2016

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Zeberpal » Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:34 am

Hello! Is it possible to turn on VIsual Mode Camera linking back? I noticed GZDBBUGFIX doesn't support it. By default at least, I cannot find how to turn it on anywhere in the options.
User avatar
Zeberpal
 
Joined: 28 Apr 2013
Location: RU

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Empyre » Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:02 pm

On the first tab in Preferences, there is a checkbox for Synchronize camera position between 2D and 3D modes. Is that what you mean?
User avatar
Empyre
The Ultimate Shining Example of Humility
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Location: Garland, TX, USA

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Zeberpal » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:56 pm

Thanks Empyre, I turned it off, half-measure though. It's just, in current GZDBFIX when switching modes, camera always stick to mouse cursor and it driving me crazy. I mean, I move mouse cursor here and there, and when I switch to 3D I usually find myself in deep darkness, because my mouse cursor was at the edge of the world in 2d mode. I find switching directly to Visual Mode Camera actor more accurate, maybe it's just a matter of habit.
User avatar
Zeberpal
 
Joined: 28 Apr 2013
Location: RU

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest