GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Tormentor667 » Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:07 am

Just out of curiosity: If the automated updater doesn't work anymore, where can I get the latest version then? And is this still being worked on?
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Blue Shadow » Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:19 am

Tormentor667 wrote: where can I get the latest version then?

From here.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Sat Mar 03, 2018 9:24 am

Tormentor667 wrote:And is this still being worked on?

Occasionally
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Fused » Sun Mar 04, 2018 7:49 am

Gez wrote:I believe GZDB-BF has a full MAPINFO parser, so if you redefine the corresponding [wiki=MAPINFO/Editor number definition]doomednums[/wiki] to "None" then they should disappear I think. You can find the list of all standard editor numbers on the wiki.


Thank you! I never found this feature, but it does exactly what I want! 8-)

Edit: Now that I implemented it, I am also wondering if it's possible to do a similar thing, but with moving folders to sit next to the other folders (keys / powerups) instead of all the way at the bottom?
Edit 2: Ofcourse, my question asks for a non-config way, but it's probably not possible without modifying the config, so I will do this as a temporary solution unles there's no other way.
Last edited by Fused on Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Fused
 
Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Discord: FusedQyou#0357

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Nash » Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:18 am

Gez wrote:I believe GZDB-BF has a full MAPINFO parser, so if you redefine the corresponding [wiki=MAPINFO/Editor number definition]doomednums[/wiki] to "None" then they should disappear I think. You can find the list of all standard editor numbers on the wiki.



Oh wow this is much cleaner than having to create and maintain my own GZDB game config... thanks for the tip! :D
User avatar
Nash
Nash Muhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun Mar 04, 2018 11:15 am

Blue Shadow wrote:
Tormentor667 wrote: where can I get the latest version then?

From here.

Thank you :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Tormentor667 » Wed Mar 07, 2018 12:55 pm

Feature request: Automatically rename all "shortname" textures into "longname" textures.

For example, if there are textures like "TILE_R04", they are automatically changed into their "longname" refers, e.g. "textures/tile_r04.png" - this would help a lot for the new "materials" folder/feature to avoid double the work or double the amount of data if you have build your maps with mixed names (short/longname) without having that in mind :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby StrikerMan780 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:30 pm

I wonder how difficult it would be to get a 64-bit compile of GZDoom Builder Bugfix? I am using GZDB to edit a very, very large map with a lot of high-res textures and models, and GZDoom Builder crashes with an out of memory exception quite frequently.
StrikerMan780
 
Joined: 29 Nov 2005
Location: In a dead-end shithole.
Discord: StrikerTheHedgefox#6299

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby blood » Mon Mar 19, 2018 1:01 pm

Hey there I got a crash when I go to "Things Mod" on one of my maps using the version r3004.

Code: Select allExpand view
***********SYSTEM INFO***********
OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Famille
GPU: Intel(R) HD Graphics 530
GZDB: R3004

********EXCEPTION DETAILS********
La valeur ne peut pas être null.
Nom du paramètre : collection
   à System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentNullException(ExceptionArgument argument)
   à System.Collections.Generic.List`1.InsertRange(Int32 index, IEnumerable`1 collection)
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.GZBuilder.Data.LinksCollector.GetDynamicLightShapes(IEnumerable`1 things, Boolean highlight) dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Core\GZBuilder\Data\LinksCollector.cs:ligne 737
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.BuilderModes.ThingsMode.UpdateHelperObjects() dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Plugins\BuilderModes\ClassicModes\ThingsMode.cs:ligne 1095
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.BuilderModes.ThingsMode.OnEngage() dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Plugins\BuilderModes\ClassicModes\ThingsMode.cs:ligne 173
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Editing.EditingManager.ChangeMode(EditMode nextmode) dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Core\Editing\EditingManager.cs:ligne 370
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Editing.EditModeInfo.UserSwitchToMode() dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Core\Editing\EditModeInfo.cs:ligne 166
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Actions.Action.Begin() dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Core\Actions\Action.cs:ligne 266
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Actions.ActionManager.BeginActionByKey(Int32 key, Boolean repeated) dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Core\Actions\ActionManager.cs:ligne 576
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Actions.ActionManager.KeyPressed(Int32 key) dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Core\Actions\ActionManager.cs:ligne 515
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Windows.MainForm.MainForm_KeyDown(Object sender, KeyEventArgs e) dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Core\Windows\MainForm.cs:ligne 1399
   à System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnKeyDown(KeyEventArgs e)
   à System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessKeyEventArgs(Message& m)
   à System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessKeyMessage(Message& m)
   à System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmKeyChar(Message& m)
   à System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   à System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   à System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   à System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
   à CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Windows.MainForm.WndProc(Message& m) dans w:\dev\GZDoom-Builder\Source\Core\Windows\MainForm.cs:ligne 4146
   à System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   à System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   à System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)




It happens everytime at 100% chances, however the crash never happened when I used the version r2992 so I decided to get back to that one.
And here is the map: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zAn8Z8 ... sp=sharing
blood
 
Joined: 25 Aug 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:07 pm

Other than missing textures and unknown actors your map loaded without problem:

Spoiler:


However, changing the editing mode to Things Mode crashes the map.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby blood » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:10 am

Yeah, I decided to give the map without the ressources which are from a project much bigger to download because as you can see the crash still happens without them.
blood
 
Joined: 25 Aug 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:46 pm

I performed some "surgery" on your map so that it no longer crashes when changing Modes.
It is easy to follow, you just need another map which has few actors or just the player:

  • Open both maps in Slade3.
  • In cdm07.wad delete THINGS.
  • From the other map copy/paste THINGS into cdm07.
  • Save cdm07.wad.
  • Close Slade3.
  • Open cdm07.wad in GZDB-BF_r3004.
  • Run F4 (Map Analysis) and fix all non-texture related errors.
  • Edit out the actors and reinstall the proper actors.
  • Save the map.

Spoiler:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby blood » Thu Mar 22, 2018 12:58 pm

Thank you for the help, looks like it worked
blood
 
Joined: 25 Aug 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Chickenlegz » Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:08 am

Guys, I think I've found some sort of glitch:

I'm using plenty of textures(PatchFMT & PNG), flats(FlatFMT) in my ~60mB WAD.

One of the latest flats I added using SLADE3 is:
METALF24.PNG
METALF24.PNG (2.77 KiB) Viewed 81 times


Converted to 4kB 64x64 flat lump beside the others,
but appears as an 1x1 px black square when displayed in GZDB.
GLITCH1.PNG
GLITCH1.PNG (2.81 KiB) Viewed 81 times


This appears in visual mode as well.

I tried to export it, reconvert it, import it, change name, but nothing helps.
Running it in GZDoom works fine and the flat is correctly displayed as an 64x64 flat, but not in GZDB itself.

I'm using GZDoom Builder (Bugfix) v2.3.0.3004.

What is this sort of bug?
Never seen this before.

ZZYZX or anyone?
Chickenlegz
 
Joined: 19 May 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:53 am

Chickenlegz wrote:Stuff

What is this sort of bug?
Never seen this before.

ZZYZX or anyone?


Why would you want to convert from a 2.77kb png truecolor image to a 4 kb Doom flat image?
Not only that, but that png image can be further reduced in size with the optimize option(s)
in Edit-Preferences-Graphics-PNG:
Spoiler:

to 1.87 kb. Placing the image between TX_ markers you can use it either as wall texture or flat texture.

This is not a bug, certainly not with GZDBBF when you present a corrupted image to the editor.
As to the conversion in Slade3, to convert to a flat image the image must be between F_ markers.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NeuralStunner and 2 guests