GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby camaxide » Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:38 pm

Thanks, then it makes sense. I'm not used to seeing anything crawl (even if its single threaded) without at least one core seeming to work hard.

I have a GTX 780 - not the newest, but still a good GPU running Battlefield 1 quite good. I did my test looking at all 4 cores, and both threads of each (i7-4770K @3.5) - and none of them reached 30+% - but with what I read here that might actually make sense as the various tasks are always waiting for another task to finish. I did notice a bump up on GPU usage when enabling both Bloom and AO - but no change in CPU - though still I was below 30% GPU also.

So as it seem hardware can really only do 'so much' to repair performance I did some bechmark of the things that seem to cost the much (of things that can be toggled)

I ran two tests in different environments and found that compared to normal FPS I lose about 52% from having reflective floors, about 9% by enabling a gentle amount of Bloom, 12% by AO and 20% with Bloom and AO combined.
Just incase anyone is interested in some bechmarks of the "new" eyecandy :)

Btw - is there any way to toggle reflections on/off? I disabled them in my map-script for the floors to test.. I could not seem to find any cvars disabling map-enabled floor reflections. :)
User avatar
camaxide
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2015

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Arch-vile90 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:25 am

Uhm..GZDoom 2.4 released, cool! Time to test it with my mod.

Launch the game and an almost endless Script Warning appear.
Spoiler:

All warnings are regard A_SetAngle strings. Uhm, ok...or not...I do not know.

With GZDooM 2.2 and earlier versions no problems occurs. Someone can explain the situation?

Should I go back to 2.2, then wait for a better 2.X version, or I could easily use the 2.4 ignoring sccript warning?
Last edited by Arch-vile90 on Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:10 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Arch-vile90
Do you poba? if yes, you're welcome!
 
Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Location: Italy, the place of pizza

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Mar 24, 2017 9:25 am

What warnings?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Arch-vile90 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:09 am

Graf Zahl wrote:What warnings?

I forgot to post the code.
This is a small part of the list but I verified and all others correspond to A_SetAngle.
Code: Select allExpand view
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 103:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.750000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 103:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.550000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 120:
Truncation of floating point constant -0.750000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 120:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.550000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 129:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.750000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 129:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.550000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 149:
Truncation of floating point constant -0.650000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 149:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.450000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 158:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.650000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 158:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.450000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 176:
Truncation of floating point constant -0.650000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 176:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.450000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 185:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.650000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:rifle.txt" line 185:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.450000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:minigun.txt" line 475:
Truncation of floating point constant 1.200000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:minigun.txt" line 475:
Truncation of floating point constant -1.200000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:minigun.txt" line 486:
Truncation of floating point constant 0.600000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:minigun.txt" line 486:
Truncation of floating point constant -0.600000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:minigun.txt" line 616:
Truncation of floating point constant 2.150000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:minigun.txt" line 616:
Truncation of floating point constant -2.200000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:minigun.txt" line 644:
Truncation of floating point constant 1.500000
Script warning, "(Part 2) My Brutal Doom.pk3:minigun.txt" line 644:
Truncation of floating point constant -1.500000
User avatar
Arch-vile90
Do you poba? if yes, you're welcome!
 
Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Location: Italy, the place of pizza

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:17 pm

Like it says: It found a floating point constant where it expects an integer. Strangely enough I have seen tons of mods that used "random" instead of "frandom" when trying to calculate a random floating point number. Not reporting this as a warning was an oversight in older versions, but it clearly will not do what one might expect, which is why a message is being printed.
The thing is otherwise harmless, aside from not returning the expected values.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Arch-vile90 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:06 pm

Ugh, i dont know it was an error using random instead of frandom. Thanks, I need to patch a lot of things then!
User avatar
Arch-vile90
Do you poba? if yes, you're welcome!
 
Joined: 01 Jul 2014
Location: Italy, the place of pizza

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:00 pm

See, that's why this is a warning now, even if it may be annoying in some projects. ;)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Alekv » Sat May 06, 2017 7:21 am

Tell me pls, why renderStyle Translucent do not work? I'm testing in a gzdoom-gpl v 2.4 and gzdoom v3+
Screen:
Image

And this in GZDoom-GPL v 2.3
Image

I hope, in gzdoom-GPL v 2.4 this will be fixed? :)
gzdoom 3.0, i dont use :(
User avatar
Alekv
 
Joined: 08 Jun 2015
Location: My world :)

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Rachael » Sat May 06, 2017 8:08 am

GZDoom-GPL was abandoned in anticipation for GZDoom 3.0 going GPL as it has. So my very first question I have to ask right off the cuff - does it work in GZDoom 3.0?
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Alekv » Sat May 06, 2017 9:00 am

Rachael wrote:GZDoom-GPL was abandoned in anticipation for GZDoom 3.0 going GPL as it has. So my very first question I have to ask right off the cuff - does it work in GZDoom 3.0?

Yes, this bug in GZDoom v 3.0

This screen gzdoom v3+:
Image
Earlier in gzdoom v2.3 , transparency worked well with Custom bridge

And my guess, problem with Custom bridge.
Render style STYLE_TRANSLUCENT dont work with Custom bridge
Code ice box
Spoiler:


But if write in simple actor like this
Code: Select allExpand view
Actor MyActor 12333
{+NOINTERACTION
States{
Spawn:
MODL A 0
MODL A 1 A_SetRenderStyle(0.6, STYLE_TRANSLUCENT)
MODL A -1
Stop
}
}

STYLE_TRANSLUCENT, good work
User avatar
Alekv
 
Joined: 08 Jun 2015
Location: My world :)

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Rachael » Sat May 06, 2017 9:04 am

Unfortunately, you're going to need to isolate that little bit and create a stripped down example for a bug report.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat May 06, 2017 10:48 am

Alekv wrote:Code ice box
Code: Select allExpand view
Actor IceBox_LikeDecor : CustomBridge 20099
{//$Category RuneStyle
//$Arg0 "Radius"
//$Arg0ToolTip "Radius collision box."
//$Arg0Type 23
//$Arg0Default 28

//$Arg1 "Height"
//$Arg1ToolTip "Height collision box"
//$Arg1Type 24
//$Arg1Default 47

//$Arg3 "RenderStyle"
//$Arg3ToolTip "Set render style! Only this work"
//$Arg3Type 11
//$Arg3Enum {0="Normal";1="Translucent";2="Add";3="Subtract";4="AddStencil";5="Stencil";6="shaded";}
//RenderStyle Normal
Radius 24
Height 35
Scale 1.50
+SOLID+NOGRAVITY+ACTLIKEBRIDGE+BRIGHT
States
   {
    Spawn:
      MODL A 1
      MODL A 1 {
         if(args[3] == 1) {A_SetRenderStyle(alpha,STYLE_TRANSLUCENT);}
         if(args[3] == 2) {A_SetRenderStyle(alpha,STYLE_ADD);}
         if(args[3] == 3) {A_SetRenderStyle(alpha,STYLE_Subtract);}
         if(args[3] == 4) {A_SetRenderStyle(alpha,STYLE_AddStencil);}
         if(args[3] == 5) {A_SetRenderStyle(alpha,STYLE_Stencil);}
         if(args[3] == 6) {A_SetRenderStyle(alpha,STYLE_Shaded);}
      }
      MODL A -1
      Stop
   }
}


This doesn't set 'alpha' anywhere so it is 1. Render style Translucent with an alpha of 1 is fully opaque. If you do not want a fixed alpha value you have to use one of the args to set this but the behavior is exactly what's to be expected.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Alekv » Sat May 06, 2017 11:34 am

Alpha and renderstyle i'm set here:
Image
And in gzdoom 2.3 this worked

In any case, for myself, I solved the problem.
I just do not inherit from the bridge and I use A_SetSize
User avatar
Alekv
 
Joined: 08 Jun 2015
Location: My world :)

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Alekv » Mon May 08, 2017 3:35 am

In general, quite often I catch this error:
Screen (screen from version 2.3, but this error is also in 3.0!)
Image

Image

And the error is not always shown, often just gzdoom throws to the desktop, but the music of the game continues to play, and gzdoom can be completed only from the task manager: (
Because of this error I can not continue to do the game

An error occurs when the autosave script is running
Like this one:
Spoiler:



But the bug appears, if you start playing from level 1 and go to the example of 8-9-10 level of the game.
It turns out that the game without a bug can not be passed.

I have a RAM of 3GB, available during the game for about 1-2gb

In gzdoom 3.0 it's harder to catch the error message, more often just crashes to the desktop .. but under the same conditions and music is playing and you have to climb into the task manager to close it
User avatar
Alekv
 
Joined: 08 Jun 2015
Location: My world :)

Re: GZDoom discussion (Version 2.3.1 released 2016/jan/7)

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon May 08, 2017 6:54 am

Post something that can be tested, that goes for both the RenderStyle/Alpha issue and the crash. Screenshots cannot be debugged, but the crash looks like data corruption.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests