Page 12 of 21

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:39 am
by Zhs2
ZDE automatically assumes that "-join" without any sort of accompanying IP means ZDoom will attempt to automatically connect to 127.0.0.1, to which it does not and instead prints an elucidating "You need to specify the host machine's address" error. Can this behavior be changed in ZDE so that the default dialog box IP of 127.0.0.1 means the command line parameter "-join" is appended with exactly that IP?

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 4:04 pm
by Bloodbat
And...done. New version 1.2.2 is up. The only change is allowing 127.0.0.1 to be joined.

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:18 pm
by Zhs2
Thanks. This was annoying me when I attempted to launch local multiplayer tests. :)

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:41 am
by wrkq
Hiya!

Ran into a pretty large bug with the library here.
Imagine your library path is set to "E:\Doom\PWAD", and then you have subfolders inside like "Requiem" and "NCHUD" that show in the library tree.

If you right click such a subfolder and use one of the "Add all" options, things work - the files list on the first tab gets the full path (e.g. "E:\Doom\PWAD\Requiem\Reqmus.wad").
But if you doubleclick a single file on the files list, or rightclick the file and select "Add to external files", what's added is the "root of the library" plus the file name (e.g. "E:\Doom\PWAD\Reqmus.wad")!

I took a quick glance at the code, and if I'm not totally confused (which I may be, haven't touched Delphi since almost a decade), the issue is with functions TFrmMain.LibrariesDoubleClick and TFrmMain.mnuAddToExternalFromListViewClick, inside zdemain.pas.
Currently they're using FPWADsPath, which is the config setting for the root folder of the library. I believe they should instead use treePWADLibraryFolders.Path, which's currently selected folder (as seen in the properly working code for the "add all" menus, e.g. TFrmMain.mnuAddAllFilesClick). Same for FIWADsPath vs treeIWADLibraryFolders.Path.

Second bug - while searching for the path problem, I have noticed that you did add support for .DEH and .BEX files (TDoomLauncher.ParseExternalFiles inside doomlauncher.pas).
I'm sad to say that this doesn't work at all for me either (if I'll put any DEHs in the list they are just put together with WADs and PK3s in the "-file" section of the command line) - I originally assumed you just didn't bother to have special support for them (they're rare thesedays, and can be added through the custom command line box when required, which's what I ended up doing).

My first guess after seeing the code was that the string comparison may be case sensitive (most of the DOS era files are all upper case and I don't remember if string comparisons are case sensitive or not in ObjPascal), but renaming the files to lowercase didn't help either. I'm out of ideas about what can be the issue there, to be honest.
Maybe in a while I'll grow desperate enough to set up Lazarus and try to debug this myself, but hopefully there's something obvious that I'm missing but you can easily spot in there...

Thank you very much for creating ZDE - I like it a lot more than any other launcher I've tried, and that's while the bugs above still exist! :)

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:54 pm
by Bloodbat
Thanks, I'll look into those bugs and hopefully post a fix soon.
As for the MS-DOS filenames...no they're not uppercase (see the attached pic. That's from DOS 6.22).
String comparison can be case sensitive or insensitive (AnsiCompareText & AnsiCompareString), I'll look into what I did :P

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:56 am
by Bloodbat
ZDE 1.2.7 has been released!
Changes are:
-Don't pass the .wad extension for filenames that use it: produces shorter command lines.
-Files weren't added with the proper path if double clicking or adding from the libraries' list views.
-.bex and .deh files parsing was broken since paths started being quoted.
You were right, wrkq, LibrariesDoubleClick and mnuAddToExternalFromListViewClick weren't considering the selected folder's path...oops. All fixed now :)

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:25 pm
by wrkq
EET VORKZ!
Thank you so much! :)

And um... I sure wouldn't guess that ExtractFileExt() does not know how to handle quotes.
That's pretty bizarre, but probably can't be changed for compatibility reasons now. :p

And well, DIR by convention listed directories in upper case, and files in lower; so did various utilities.
Looks like the filesystem data structures themselves of classic 8.3 only, DOS 5/6 compatible FAT12 technically can store mixed case, but DOS and Windows always put all-uppercase in there and most probably things would break if you'd try to do it differently. :)
If internet is to be believed, on Win95+ with VFAT, if you named a file 8.3 all-uppercase it left "long name" field blank, but if you used lower- or mixed-case, it saved 8.3 all-uppercase then put the mixed case in "long name" (even if it wasn't long).

Thanks for making me look it up, some curiosity before the weekend is cool.
And now, to enjoy some Doom and the new!better!improved!ZDE. (Call 1-800-ZDEXECU to order yours now!)

Sorry, it's been a long week and I get crazier when tired... but I'm very serious when I say thank you!

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 2:37 am
by Bloodbat
No, it doesn't, so I do the quoting after that now...I don't know why I did it like that in the first place :P
DOS and Windows aren't case sensitive, so they shouldn't break, but if someone wants to compile the proggie for a Mac or Linux or something that is actually sensitive...messing with the file name to pass it to the ZDoom spawning process would probably end up with a lot of "file not found" errors.
I didn't know about that Win quirk. Trivia's always fun before the weekend, as well ;) Now I wanna see it in action :P
You're most welcome, always check the fine print :p

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Thu May 05, 2016 2:01 am
by user5124
I can't use ZDE on my 2560/1440 display, presumably because I've set windows to use 150% DPI. The whole interface is chopped in half down the middle. It looks correct, but just as though it ran out of room as the borders don't scale with the interface itself.

Is there any possibility for supporting this type of setup?

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Wed May 11, 2016 1:54 am
by Bloodbat
Can I get a picture?
The whole thing's supposed to scale, I'll look into it.

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Sun May 15, 2016 10:32 pm
by subenji
Bloodbat wrote:ZDE 1.2.7 has been released!
Changes are:
-Don't pass the .wad extension for filenames that use it: produces shorter command lines.
I ran into an issue with this change.
DoomRLA uses full stops in the wad filename: "doomrl_arsenal_1.05.wad"
This meant when this was passed to GZDoom it saw what it thought was a .05 file and ignored it.

Also, you don't seem to keep older versions uploaded anywhere. Sometimes being able to grab an older version can be handy for all manner of reasons.

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Tue May 17, 2016 2:00 am
by user5124
scaling.png
Here 'tis
Bloodbat wrote:Can I get a picture?
The whole thing's supposed to scale, I'll look into it.

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Wed May 18, 2016 11:38 pm
by Bloodbat
@user5124 What's the operating system?
@subenji I'll look into that, though it's more of a zdoom issue than a zde issue. As for old versions, no I don't keep them, but they're really easy to compile from the SVN tags.

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Thu May 19, 2016 3:02 am
by user5124
Bloodbat wrote:@user5124 What's the operating system?
@subenji I'll look into that, though it's more of a zdoom issue than a zde issue. As for old versions, no I don't keep them, but they're really easy to compile from the SVN tags.
Windows 7 is what I'm running.

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Posted: Thu May 19, 2016 10:05 am
by Bloodbat
What happens if you run it with Aero enabled?
What happens if you run it without the tabbed interface? (Uncheck Options -> Tabbed interface).