ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend.

Software projects like source ports (EDGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby Zhs2 » Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:39 am

ZDE automatically assumes that "-join" without any sort of accompanying IP means ZDoom will attempt to automatically connect to 127.0.0.1, to which it does not and instead prints an elucidating "You need to specify the host machine's address" error. Can this behavior be changed in ZDE so that the default dialog box IP of 127.0.0.1 means the command line parameter "-join" is appended with exactly that IP?
User avatar
Zhs2
Power of meh.
 
Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby Bloodbat » Thu Mar 03, 2016 4:04 pm

And...done. New version 1.2.2 is up. The only change is allowing 127.0.0.1 to be joined.
Bloodbat
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2014

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby Zhs2 » Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:18 pm

Thanks. This was annoying me when I attempted to launch local multiplayer tests. :)
User avatar
Zhs2
Power of meh.
 
Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby wrkq » Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:41 am

Hiya!

Ran into a pretty large bug with the library here.
Imagine your library path is set to "E:\Doom\PWAD", and then you have subfolders inside like "Requiem" and "NCHUD" that show in the library tree.

If you right click such a subfolder and use one of the "Add all" options, things work - the files list on the first tab gets the full path (e.g. "E:\Doom\PWAD\Requiem\Reqmus.wad").
But if you doubleclick a single file on the files list, or rightclick the file and select "Add to external files", what's added is the "root of the library" plus the file name (e.g. "E:\Doom\PWAD\Reqmus.wad")!

I took a quick glance at the code, and if I'm not totally confused (which I may be, haven't touched Delphi since almost a decade), the issue is with functions TFrmMain.LibrariesDoubleClick and TFrmMain.mnuAddToExternalFromListViewClick, inside zdemain.pas.
Currently they're using FPWADsPath, which is the config setting for the root folder of the library. I believe they should instead use treePWADLibraryFolders.Path, which's currently selected folder (as seen in the properly working code for the "add all" menus, e.g. TFrmMain.mnuAddAllFilesClick). Same for FIWADsPath vs treeIWADLibraryFolders.Path.

Second bug - while searching for the path problem, I have noticed that you did add support for .DEH and .BEX files (TDoomLauncher.ParseExternalFiles inside doomlauncher.pas).
I'm sad to say that this doesn't work at all for me either (if I'll put any DEHs in the list they are just put together with WADs and PK3s in the "-file" section of the command line) - I originally assumed you just didn't bother to have special support for them (they're rare thesedays, and can be added through the custom command line box when required, which's what I ended up doing).

My first guess after seeing the code was that the string comparison may be case sensitive (most of the DOS era files are all upper case and I don't remember if string comparisons are case sensitive or not in ObjPascal), but renaming the files to lowercase didn't help either. I'm out of ideas about what can be the issue there, to be honest.
Maybe in a while I'll grow desperate enough to set up Lazarus and try to debug this myself, but hopefully there's something obvious that I'm missing but you can easily spot in there...

Thank you very much for creating ZDE - I like it a lot more than any other launcher I've tried, and that's while the bugs above still exist! :)
wrkq
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2016

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby Bloodbat » Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:54 pm

Thanks, I'll look into those bugs and hopefully post a fix soon.
As for the MS-DOS filenames...no they're not uppercase (see the attached pic. That's from DOS 6.22).
String comparison can be case sensitive or insensitive (AnsiCompareText & AnsiCompareString), I'll look into what I did :P
Attachments
Clipboard-1.png
DOS 6.22 Filenames
Bloodbat
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2014

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby Bloodbat » Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:56 am

ZDE 1.2.7 has been released!
Changes are:
-Don't pass the .wad extension for filenames that use it: produces shorter command lines.
-Files weren't added with the proper path if double clicking or adding from the libraries' list views.
-.bex and .deh files parsing was broken since paths started being quoted.
You were right, wrkq, LibrariesDoubleClick and mnuAddToExternalFromListViewClick weren't considering the selected folder's path...oops. All fixed now :)
Bloodbat
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2014

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby wrkq » Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:25 pm

EET VORKZ!
Thank you so much! :)

And um... I sure wouldn't guess that ExtractFileExt() does not know how to handle quotes.
That's pretty bizarre, but probably can't be changed for compatibility reasons now. :p

And well, DIR by convention listed directories in upper case, and files in lower; so did various utilities.
Looks like the filesystem data structures themselves of classic 8.3 only, DOS 5/6 compatible FAT12 technically can store mixed case, but DOS and Windows always put all-uppercase in there and most probably things would break if you'd try to do it differently. :)
If internet is to be believed, on Win95+ with VFAT, if you named a file 8.3 all-uppercase it left "long name" field blank, but if you used lower- or mixed-case, it saved 8.3 all-uppercase then put the mixed case in "long name" (even if it wasn't long).

Thanks for making me look it up, some curiosity before the weekend is cool.
And now, to enjoy some Doom and the new!better!improved!ZDE. (Call 1-800-ZDEXECU to order yours now!)

Sorry, it's been a long week and I get crazier when tired... but I'm very serious when I say thank you!
wrkq
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2016

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby Bloodbat » Sat Apr 09, 2016 2:37 am

No, it doesn't, so I do the quoting after that now...I don't know why I did it like that in the first place :P
DOS and Windows aren't case sensitive, so they shouldn't break, but if someone wants to compile the proggie for a Mac or Linux or something that is actually sensitive...messing with the file name to pass it to the ZDoom spawning process would probably end up with a lot of "file not found" errors.
I didn't know about that Win quirk. Trivia's always fun before the weekend, as well ;) Now I wanna see it in action :P
You're most welcome, always check the fine print :p
Bloodbat
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2014

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby user5124 » Thu May 05, 2016 2:01 am

I can't use ZDE on my 2560/1440 display, presumably because I've set windows to use 150% DPI. The whole interface is chopped in half down the middle. It looks correct, but just as though it ran out of room as the borders don't scale with the interface itself.

Is there any possibility for supporting this type of setup?
user5124
 
Joined: 25 May 2014

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby Bloodbat » Wed May 11, 2016 1:54 am

Can I get a picture?
The whole thing's supposed to scale, I'll look into it.
Bloodbat
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2014

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby subenji » Sun May 15, 2016 10:32 pm

Bloodbat wrote:ZDE 1.2.7 has been released!
Changes are:
-Don't pass the .wad extension for filenames that use it: produces shorter command lines.


I ran into an issue with this change.
DoomRLA uses full stops in the wad filename: "doomrl_arsenal_1.05.wad"
This meant when this was passed to GZDoom it saw what it thought was a .05 file and ignored it.

Also, you don't seem to keep older versions uploaded anywhere. Sometimes being able to grab an older version can be handy for all manner of reasons.
User avatar
subenji
 
Joined: 16 May 2016

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby user5124 » Tue May 17, 2016 2:00 am

scaling.png


Here 'tis

Bloodbat wrote:Can I get a picture?
The whole thing's supposed to scale, I'll look into it.
user5124
 
Joined: 25 May 2014

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby Bloodbat » Wed May 18, 2016 11:38 pm

@user5124 What's the operating system?
@subenji I'll look into that, though it's more of a zdoom issue than a zde issue. As for old versions, no I don't keep them, but they're really easy to compile from the SVN tags.
Bloodbat
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2014

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby user5124 » Thu May 19, 2016 3:02 am

Bloodbat wrote:@user5124 What's the operating system?
@subenji I'll look into that, though it's more of a zdoom issue than a zde issue. As for old versions, no I don't keep them, but they're really easy to compile from the SVN tags.


Windows 7 is what I'm running.
user5124
 
Joined: 25 May 2014

Re: ZDoom Executor new ZDoom (and related projects) Frontend

Postby Bloodbat » Thu May 19, 2016 10:05 am

What happens if you run it with Aero enabled?
What happens if you run it without the tabbed interface? (Uncheck Options -> Tabbed interface).
Bloodbat
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2014

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests