GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby abbuw » Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:50 am

Is there a way to disable the usage of multiple tags per sector? I'm working on various projects for Zandronum, which doesn't support multiple tags per sector.
User avatar
abbuw
Contact your poison control center.
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Location: South Lake Hills

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby DracoNoir » Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:34 pm

I originally wondered the exact same thing as I can't run the latest versions of GZDoom which do support multitags due to OpenGL issues.

The answer I came to (either earlier in this thread or inadvertently on the GZDB thread) was no as the plugin is designed to work differently for different setups. I have to manually retag my 2nd (and 3rd, etc.) 3d floor control sectors.

Although Boris said that if the game config was for ZDoom or others which also don't support multitags, then the plugin automatically would do it.

Are you sure you have the game definition or configuration set up right?
Last edited by DracoNoir on Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DracoNoir
Born at a very young age.
 
Joined: 28 Oct 2015
Location: UK

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Tue Nov 24, 2015 3:47 pm

When mapping in UDMF it will use multiple tags per sector, in Hexen format it (obviously) won't.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby DracoNoir » Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:47 pm

DracoNoir wrote: Boris said...


See? :D
User avatar
DracoNoir
Born at a very young age.
 
Joined: 28 Oct 2015
Location: UK

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Xtyfe » Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:26 am

How goes development of this?
User avatar
Xtyfe
Neque Deos, Neque Dominos
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: The Intertubes

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:22 pm

Xtyfe wrote:How goes development of this?

https://github.com/biwa/3dfloormode
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun May 01, 2016 8:24 am

When using the latest release version of the plugin with the R2607 version of GZDB, I get this crash when clicking on the 3D floor or slope buttons:
Code: Select allExpand view
***********SYSTEM INFO***********
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
GPU: VNC Mirror Driver
GZDB: R2607

********EXCEPTION DETAILS********
Methode nicht gefunden: "Void CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Rendering.TextLabel..ctor(Int32)".
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorHelperMode.SetupLabels()
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorHelperMode.OnEngage()
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Editing.EditingManager.ChangeMode(EditMode nextmode) in x:\Source\Core\Editing\EditingManager.cs:Zeile 370.
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Editing.EditModeInfo.UserSwitchToMode() in x:\Source\Core\Editing\EditModeInfo.cs:Zeile 169.
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Actions.Action.Begin() in x:\Source\Core\Actions\Action.cs:Zeile 252.
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Actions.ActionManager.InvokeAction(String actionname) in x:\Source\Core\Actions\ActionManager.cs:Zeile 407.
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Windows.MainForm.EditModeButtonHandler(Object sender, EventArgs e) in x:\Source\Core\Windows\MainForm.cs:Zeile 2225.
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripButton.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Sun May 08, 2016 5:54 am

New release: https://github.com/biwa/3dfloormode/rel ... ag/v0.2.1a

Only fixes the crash problem, no functional changes.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon May 09, 2016 12:25 am

Thank you.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby ramon.dexter » Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:25 am

Hi, new crash with the new texture editor in gzdoombuilder v2765. Looks like 3D floor mode doesnt like the new texture browser. Would you fix it?

Code: Select allExpand view
***********SYSTEM INFO***********
OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
GPU: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
GZDB: R2767

********EXCEPTION DETAILS********
Metoda nebyla nalezena: Void CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Controls.ImageSelectorControl.set_UsePreviews(Boolean).
   v CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorHelperControl.InitializeComponent()
   v CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorHelperControl..ctor()
   v CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorEditorWindow.addThreeDFloorButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
User avatar
ramon.dexter
My hovercraft is full of eels
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:11 am

New release that should fix the problem: https://github.com/biwa/3dfloormode/rel ... ag/v0.2.1b
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Nash » Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:14 am

This plugin should totally be merged as a stock GZDB plugin... =D
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Xabis » Sun Jan 01, 2017 6:21 pm

Hey Boris,

I made a few QOL changes you may be interested in. I have attached a patch if you wish to look them over.

* When creating a new 3d sector, the default floor and ceiling heights will be populated so that the sector is positioned on the tallest floor of the sector(s) it is being created in, rather than always being set to the editor defaults. Height is still based on the editor defaults, though. Example: if your editor defaults are 0 -> 128, and the sector you are creating the 3d floor in is 1000 -> 2000, the 3d floor will be put initially at 1000 -> 1128.
* When hovering over the slope handles of a 3d floor, a label will appear to identify which plane is being worked on (floor / ceiling). It gets confusing otherwise, to determine what is being affected.
slopeplane.png
plane display for the slope control line

* A 3d floor will automatically be cycled to, if attempting to select the control sector without having a floor highlighted. This is using cycle "down". (not sure if this is vertically top-down on the stack or not).
* When cycling through 3d floors, the green model wireframe highlight will now apply to the selected/highlighted sectors, but with a darker/lighter tint respectively. If you are working with a single or selected sectors, it gets confusing on whether the floor is selected or not without having the docker panel open.
sectorcolor.png
selection and highlighting example
Attachments
qol.zip
patch
(2.04 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
Xabis
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Xabis » Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:04 pm

An additional patch:
* fixed some control handle dragging issues with slope mode, where it was snapping to the grid incorrectly
* added support for snap to geometry, including other slope control handles

I noticed that draw slopes mode already supports geom snapping and doesn't seem affected by the grid snapping issues. That said, the code provided by this patch is a different implementation; feel free to change/replace it as it suits you.
Attachments
snapfix.zip
patch
(1.93 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
Xabis
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Xabis » Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:58 pm

fixed a crash that occurs when removing a 3d floor that has a slope bound to it
Attachments
crashfix.zip
patch
(843 Bytes) Downloaded 23 times
Xabis
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest