GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder, Slade, WadSmoosh, Oblige, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
abbuw
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 10:24 am
Location: South Lake Hills

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by abbuw »

Is there a way to disable the usage of multiple tags per sector? I'm working on various projects for Zandronum, which doesn't support multiple tags per sector.
User avatar
DracoNoir
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 4:45 pm
Location: UK

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by DracoNoir »

I originally wondered the exact same thing as I can't run the latest versions of GZDoom which do support multitags due to OpenGL issues.

The answer I came to (either earlier in this thread or inadvertently on the GZDB thread) was no as the plugin is designed to work differently for different setups. I have to manually retag my 2nd (and 3rd, etc.) 3d floor control sectors.

Although Boris said that if the game config was for ZDoom or others which also don't support multitags, then the plugin automatically would do it.

Are you sure you have the game definition or configuration set up right?
Last edited by DracoNoir on Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
boris
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by boris »

When mapping in UDMF it will use multiple tags per sector, in Hexen format it (obviously) won't.
User avatar
DracoNoir
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 4:45 pm
Location: UK

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by DracoNoir »

DracoNoir wrote: Boris said...
See? :D
User avatar
Xtyfe
Posts: 1480
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:29 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by Xtyfe »

How goes development of this?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by Kappes Buur »

Xtyfe wrote:How goes development of this?
https://github.com/biwa/3dfloormode
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13530
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am
Contact:

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by Tormentor667 »

When using the latest release version of the plugin with the R2607 version of GZDB, I get this crash when clicking on the 3D floor or slope buttons:

Code: Select all

***********SYSTEM INFO***********
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 
GPU: VNC Mirror Driver
GZDB: R2607

********EXCEPTION DETAILS********
Methode nicht gefunden: "Void CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Rendering.TextLabel..ctor(Int32)".
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorHelperMode.SetupLabels()
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorHelperMode.OnEngage()
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Editing.EditingManager.ChangeMode(EditMode nextmode) in x:\Source\Core\Editing\EditingManager.cs:Zeile 370.
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Editing.EditModeInfo.UserSwitchToMode() in x:\Source\Core\Editing\EditModeInfo.cs:Zeile 169.
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Actions.Action.Begin() in x:\Source\Core\Actions\Action.cs:Zeile 252.
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Actions.ActionManager.InvokeAction(String actionname) in x:\Source\Core\Actions\ActionManager.cs:Zeile 407.
   bei CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Windows.MainForm.EditModeButtonHandler(Object sender, EventArgs e) in x:\Source\Core\Windows\MainForm.cs:Zeile 2225.
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripButton.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
boris
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by boris »

New release: https://github.com/biwa/3dfloormode/rel ... ag/v0.2.1a

Only fixes the crash problem, no functional changes.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4114
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by Kappes Buur »

Thank you.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1519
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by ramon.dexter »

Hi, new crash with the new texture editor in gzdoombuilder v2765. Looks like 3D floor mode doesnt like the new texture browser. Would you fix it?

Code: Select all

***********SYSTEM INFO***********
OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
GPU: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000
GZDB: R2767

********EXCEPTION DETAILS********
Metoda nebyla nalezena: Void CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Controls.ImageSelectorControl.set_UsePreviews(Boolean).
   v CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorHelperControl.InitializeComponent()
   v CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorHelperControl..ctor()
   v CodeImp.DoomBuilder.ThreeDFloorMode.ThreeDFloorEditorWindow.addThreeDFloorButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   v System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
boris
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by boris »

New release that should fix the problem: https://github.com/biwa/3dfloormode/rel ... ag/v0.2.1b
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17433
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by Nash »

This plugin should totally be merged as a stock GZDB plugin... =D
Xabis
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:15 pm

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by Xabis »

Hey Boris,

I made a few QOL changes you may be interested in. I have attached a patch if you wish to look them over.

* When creating a new 3d sector, the default floor and ceiling heights will be populated so that the sector is positioned on the tallest floor of the sector(s) it is being created in, rather than always being set to the editor defaults. Height is still based on the editor defaults, though. Example: if your editor defaults are 0 -> 128, and the sector you are creating the 3d floor in is 1000 -> 2000, the 3d floor will be put initially at 1000 -> 1128.
* When hovering over the slope handles of a 3d floor, a label will appear to identify which plane is being worked on (floor / ceiling). It gets confusing otherwise, to determine what is being affected.
plane display for the slope control line
plane display for the slope control line
* A 3d floor will automatically be cycled to, if attempting to select the control sector without having a floor highlighted. This is using cycle "down". (not sure if this is vertically top-down on the stack or not).
* When cycling through 3d floors, the green model wireframe highlight will now apply to the selected/highlighted sectors, but with a darker/lighter tint respectively. If you are working with a single or selected sectors, it gets confusing on whether the floor is selected or not without having the docker panel open.
selection and highlighting example
selection and highlighting example
Attachments
qol.zip
patch
(2.04 KiB) Downloaded 104 times
Xabis
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:15 pm

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by Xabis »

An additional patch:
* fixed some control handle dragging issues with slope mode, where it was snapping to the grid incorrectly
* added support for snap to geometry, including other slope control handles

I noticed that draw slopes mode already supports geom snapping and doesn't seem affected by the grid snapping issues. That said, the code provided by this patch is a different implementation; feel free to change/replace it as it suits you.
Attachments
snapfix.zip
patch
(1.93 KiB) Downloaded 95 times
Xabis
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:15 pm

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Post by Xabis »

fixed a crash that occurs when removing a 3d floor that has a slope bound to it
Attachments
crashfix.zip
patch
(843 Bytes) Downloaded 96 times
Post Reply

Return to “Creation, Conversion, and Editing”