ZDL 3.2.2.2 Released (UPDATED August 8th 2012)

Software projects like source ports (EDGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby QBasicer » Tue May 01, 2012 9:11 am

NeuralStunner wrote:
Enjay wrote:However, I was looking for an option to switch off the path name being displayed in the "External Files" box.
I mentioned the possibility of sticking it into a new column (same for ports/IWads in the Settings tab). If that were done I imagine it'd be somewhat simple to switch that column on and off.

It's not really that easy. Well, potentially, but switching to a column view actually requires a lot of Qt Plumbing. In terms of work vs payoff, simply not including that file tag will work for now, but long term potentially switching to a column view is an option.
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby Blzut3 » Tue May 01, 2012 11:12 am

QBasicer wrote:If you tell me how, I can create a jenkins build and run it on either a Hardy (8.04?) or Precise (12.04) machines and make drops to an FTP server somewhere (or to my own site).

Binaries built against 8.04 should work fine in 12.04. (The APIs change slightly so it doesn't always work the other way around. That said I do all of the drdteam packages against 10.04.) I make deb packages with the following command:
Code: Select allExpand view
dpkg-deb -z9 -Zlzma -b <package_directory> <package.deb>

I'm not sure if 8.04 supports lzma compression on packages or not, but if not then you can probably just change that to bzip2.

The package_directory needs to have a DEBIAN directory with a text file named control in it. Otherwise you simply place files in it as you would like them to appear on the destination machine relative to root. So you might create package_directory/usr/bin and put the binary there.

The control file would look something like this:
Code: Select allExpand view
Package: <name, all lower case>
Version: <version number>
Section: web
Priority: optional
Architecture: <i386|amd64>
Essential: no
Depends: <package>, <package>, <package>
Installed-Size: <size in kb>
Maintainer: <your name> [<your email>]
Description: <text>

That's basically all there is to making a deb package. The real difficulties come when making a repository out of it, but I have that handled on drdteam.org.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
 
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby wildweasel » Fri May 04, 2012 5:57 pm

I'm running 3.0.5.7, and have two issues: first, the Open File dialog box takes a really long time to appear, and second, I can't use the mouse wheel to scroll the list in List View.

[edit] Well, actually, I can use my mouse's horizontal action to scroll it, but this goes against Windows' behavior of letting you use the actual wheel to scroll if there's no vertical scroll bar.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby Enjay » Fri May 04, 2012 6:26 pm

The file dialogue doesn't take long to appear on my system but if I do click the add button I can hear my 3.5" A: drive (yes, I still have one) checking to see if there is a disk in it. So, perhaps add file thingy is checking all your drives or something.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby QBasicer » Mon May 07, 2012 7:53 am

wildweasel while using 3.0.5.7 wrote:two issues:
1. the Open File dialog box takes a really long time to appear
2. I can't use the mouse wheel to scroll the list in List View. Well, actually, I can use my mouse's horizontal action to scroll it, but this goes against Windows' behavior of letting you use the actual wheel to scroll if there's no vertical scroll bar.

Ok so #1,
This could be because (as Enjay mentioned) drives are being checked. If there's any network drives that are trying to connect, that could be the issue. Windows is notorious for it's poor handing of networking devices. Are there any CD/DVDs in any drives when you open? I have little (no) control over what this dialog does unless I re-write it from scratch (non-trivial to the point that I can't) Does the save file dialogs open slowly too? (CTRL+S) Does anybody else have this issue? I've opened a github issue.

#2,
I tried reproducing here, and I'm able to scroll just fine. Did you click the list view before trying to scroll? Are there or are there not vertical scroll bars? I didn't re-implement the behaviour, so it's a deeper Qt issue then. Which of the list-views are you trying to scroll? I have 3 implemented. I've opened a github issue.
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED May 25th 2012)

Postby Xtyfe » Sun Jun 10, 2012 8:21 am

Wanted to report that the latest version (3.0.5.9) seems to be failing to load zdl.ini at startup. I always have to use the "load .ini" function to fix it
User avatar
Xtyfe
Neque Deos, Neque Dominos
 
Joined: 15 Dec 2007
Location: The Intertubes

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED May 25th 2012)

Postby QBasicer » Sun Jun 10, 2012 11:30 am

Xtyfe wrote:Wanted to report that the latest version (3.0.5.9) seems to be failing to load zdl.ini at startup. I always have to use the "load .ini" function to fix it

Is it loading the global initial instead? Check the first post on how to disable that, or run in diagnostics mode and give me zdl.log.
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED May 25th 2012)

Postby Siggi » Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:35 am

Ok, I have not been following qZDL's development at all, but I can't help but notice that it's a Qt application and someone is having an issue with the open file dialogue.

Earlier this year I working with a small team on a Qt application, and we also had this problem. For no apparent reason, on some computers, the open file dialogue would take forever to open, or simply become unresponsive. If you Google around, you'll see it's a known issue with Qt. Our solution was to implement one of Qt's alternate open file dialogue instead of the ready made one. Of course I may be wrong in this case, but if I were QB, I'd look into it.

Hope that's helps. (And we experienced the problem on Ubuntu and Windows, but mostly Ubuntu).
User avatar
Siggi
 
Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Location: South Africa

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED May 25th 2012)

Postby Kate » Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:26 pm

Okay, ever since you changed it to use the native dialog system, it seems you marked the flags wrong, because when I click "Load .zdl", it gives me a save prompt instead, which means it gives the "Are you sure?" before allowing me to load the file every time, which is kind of annoying.
User avatar
Kate
... in loving memory ...
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED May 25th 2012)

Postby QBasicer » Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:35 pm

User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED May 25th 2012)

Postby QBasicer » Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:35 pm

Siggi wrote:Ok, I have not been following qZDL's development at all, but I can't help but notice that it's a Qt application and someone is having an issue with the open file dialogue.

Earlier this year I working with a small team on a Qt application, and we also had this problem. For no apparent reason, on some computers, the open file dialogue would take forever to open, or simply become unresponsive. If you Google around, you'll see it's a known issue with Qt. Our solution was to implement one of Qt's alternate open file dialogue instead of the ready made one. Of course I may be wrong in this case, but if I were QB, I'd look into it.

Hope that's helps. (And we experienced the problem on Ubuntu and Windows, but mostly Ubuntu).

I've switched to using QFileDialog's static functions to open save/load dialogs, in Windows, this uses the Native dialog boxes. I'm unsure about the Ubuntu (Linux) performance, I haven't had any users report issues.
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED May 25th 2012)

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Tue Jun 12, 2012 3:52 am

Seeing as you guys are talking about debian packages, I had the sudden idea to make archlinux pkgbuilds for this.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED May 25th 2012)

Postby QBasicer » Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:35 am

You're certainly welcome to.

It may be worth pointing out that you can run configuration with "--disable-updater" to disable the internal updater. This of course comes with the caveat that I get no feedback on where I should focus my efforts (Bio's Gentoo EBuilds does this, I specifically implemented this option for package managers)
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.10 Beta Released (UPDATED June 14th 2012)

Postby Ral22 » Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:45 pm

I'm having trouble getting a multiplayer game running, and a few other things.

Do I need to set a Net Mode and Dup, as well as enable it? Every time I put something for those, then open the Multi Settings, everything is blank again. Is that supposed to happen?

For some unknown reason, I can't save a .zdl. Every time I try, it ends up trying to load a .zdl when I specifically click "Save .zdl"

Can I put anything in Hostname/IP Address? Does it have to be my IP Address, or can I just put "Ral22"?

Do I need to set a Frag Limit, even if it is in Co-op?

I'm using the latest version of QZDL on a Windows 7.
User avatar
Ral22
stoneshipMapper
 
Joined: 05 Sep 2010
Location: Land of Dawn and Thunder

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.10 Beta Released (UPDATED June 14th 2012)

Postby Enjay » Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:49 pm

Ral22 wrote:For some unknown reason, I can't save a .zdl. Every time I try, it ends up trying to load a .zdl when I specifically click "Save .zdl"

That sounds like a permissions problem of some sort. Where have you installed qZDL to on your HD?

Forget that. I can't save one properly either. The save dialogue appears but if you type in a new name it gives a "file not found" error.

However, if you even make a dummy file with a zdl extension, you can save over it. So, it can save but the file needs to exist already (ie it cannot save a new file).
Last edited by Enjay on Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests