ZDL 3.2.2.2 Released (UPDATED August 8th 2012)

Software projects like source ports (EDGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.6 Beta Released (UPDATED April 23rd)

Postby lzvk25 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:07 pm

QBasicer wrote:
lzvk25 wrote:I can confirm Tormentor's suspicions, and I think it is even worst, if the "%APPDATA%/Vectec Software" folder does not exist, the settings will NEVER be saved regardless of from where you got your initial settings.

And if it is a first time installation, you better do your settings via the old ZDL and import them because otherwise for some reason the settings will NEVER be saved.


Did you try that with 3.0.5.7 pre-release or with the current release? .7 should automatically create the folder, I tested that and it worked for me, so if it doesnt I need to fix it


It was the latest pre-release qzdl-win32-3.0.5.7-2012-04-24_13-02-43.zip
User avatar
lzvk25
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Location: Collierville, TN

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.6 Beta Released (UPDATED April 23rd)

Postby QBasicer » Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:11 pm

Can you reproduce it with logging enabled?
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.6 Beta Released (UPDATED April 23rd)

Postby lzvk25 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:28 pm

Sorry, I don't know what's happening now, but fortunately everything is working now. :?

Well, anyway, I tried with and without the debug option and everything is OK now. Windows mysteries indeed ...
:?:
User avatar
lzvk25
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2004
Location: Collierville, TN

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.6 Beta Released (UPDATED April 23rd)

Postby QBasicer » Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:51 pm

lzvk25 wrote:Sorry, I don't know what's happening now, but fortunately everything is working now. :?

Well, anyway, I tried with and without the debug option and everything is OK now. Windows mysteries indeed ...
:?:

Well I won't complain about that!
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.6 Beta Released (UPDATED April 23rd)

Postby Tormentor667 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:07 am

QBasicer wrote:It's in the pipes, while I haven't started on it directly, I've been working on and planning the changes that have to happen underneath.

Can't wait to see this in action and beta-test it until my whole archive burns like fire :wub:
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby QBasicer » Fri Apr 27, 2012 12:10 pm

3.0.5.7 officially released, no real changes since you guys tested it, just a version number bump for the updater.
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby Enjay » Fri Apr 27, 2012 12:35 pm

QBasicer wrote:...just a version number bump for the updater.


Which is telling me that there is an update even though I just downloaded it:

Image

Any chance that the updater message could display an actual link to the website rather than just text telling the user the address? ATM, the text can't even be selected and so cannot be copied/pasted into my browser address bar.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby QBasicer » Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:49 pm

Thanks for reporting that, my build server got confused it ended up not building the new release.

I've replaced the pre-release with the final build.

In regards to the dialog, I've known it's not stellar for a while. I'm planning on fixing for the next release: https://github.com/qbasicer/qzdl/issues/12
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby Enjay » Fri Apr 27, 2012 4:06 pm

Thanks for fixing that and thanks for adding the link thing to the "to do" list as well.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby doomjoshuaboy » Sat Apr 28, 2012 12:13 am

thank you sooo much i really dying for that upgrade because my other one in my cpu was oldest one ever but thanks for upgrading that :D
User avatar
doomjoshuaboy
Owner of <AD> Australian Doomers Server Cluster
 
Joined: 05 Jan 2011
Location: NSW, Australia
Discord: doomjoshuaboy#1975

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby Enjay » Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:31 am

Having used it quite a bit now I think its really good. When I first saw it I was a little worried. To me the beauty of ZDL is that is is small and simple allowing you to do what you need to do in order to launch Doom with a PWAD, keeping most of the simplicity and functionality of the command line but taking advantage of modern GUI features without becoming an overly complex screen-after-screen-after-screen of options and radio buttons like some "all things to all men" launchers. With this new one being a little bigger and having tabs I thought it might be heading down that path. However, it seems to be staying true to the feel of the original and the resizeable nature of the window is really useful.


One thing I wonder, and despite what I said above, I'd like another option please. I have tried the options set with the "Quote Paths" option ticked and unticked. I assume that this option refers to whether QZDL will use quotes when passing file locations to the command line or not (for paths with spaces presumably). However, I was looking for an option to switch off the path name being displayed in the "External Files" box. I don't use preconfigured game options. I just drag and drop stuff on to ZDL when I am going to play. So, I always know the location of the external file and I don't need to see the path displayed (plus, much of the time the path is too long to be seen in its entirety any way and it kind of obfuscates the file name too). So, could this feature be toggleable? It's a minor point but it would be nice to have the option IMO because it would clean up the appearance of the window for me.

Current
Image

What I'm asking about
Image
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby Blzut3 » Sat Apr 28, 2012 11:02 am

I went to go build Linux binaries for the drdteam package repository today and it appears that out of tree builds are not supported.
Spoiler:

Which does remind me, QBasicer, BioHazzard said that you might be able to autobuild deb packages?
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
 
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby NeuralStunner » Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:21 pm

Enjay wrote:However, I was looking for an option to switch off the path name being displayed in the "External Files" box.
I mentioned the possibility of sticking it into a new column (same for ports/IWads in the Settings tab). If that were done I imagine it'd be somewhat simple to switch that column on and off.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby QBasicer » Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 am

From Enjay:
Spoiler:

Thanks for the feature request. I understand what you're saying, and I'm already making plans to try to keep it light, but be powerful enough to do everything that people want. In short, don't worry about it, I have a plan. You'll see.

I've filed an issue for you: https://github.com/qbasicer/qzdl/issues/13

People are certainly welcome to create issues on github if they choose, otherwise, I'll continue to make them and post them here so people can track the progress.
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

Re: qZDL 3.0.5.7 Beta Released (UPDATED April 27th)

Postby QBasicer » Tue May 01, 2012 9:09 am

Blzut3 wrote:I went to go build Linux binaries for the drdteam package repository today and it appears that out of tree builds are not supported.
Spoiler:

Which does remind me, QBasicer, BioHazzard said that you might be able to autobuild deb packages?

If you tell me how, I can create a jenkins build and run it on either a Hardy (8.04?) or Precise (12.04) machines and make drops to an FTP server somewhere (or to my own site).
User avatar
QBasicer
#include <QBasicer.h>
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Github ID: qbasicer

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests