SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Gez » Wed Oct 04, 2017 4:52 am

It has never been officially in. I did make builds upon a time with Game Music Emu added in, and I could do that again if I find the time and motivation for it (would have to be redone from scratch, too many code reorganizations and overhauls since then, plus the GME code has been updated too).
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby sk1re » Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:04 am

Hi!
I've compiled latest Slade for Linux x64 (date: 14.10.2017 - git version: 45d8868) and made an "AppImage". AppImages should run on every modern Linux based Distro. It packages the executable with all it's needed dependencies.
Dependencies are usually a problem within Linux because every Distro has it's own version of the dependencies, AppImages bypasses this problem.
Download the Slade AppImage here:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/ujjn70byd ... 4.AppImage ~57MB
You have to make the AppImage executable with the command: "chmod a+x Slade-x86_64.AppImage". Or read this howto: http://discourse.appimage.org/t/how-to- ... cutable/80

I also made a version where you can edit the slade.pk3 if you have to because the AppImage is one big file. The script "run_slade.sh" is basically the same idea how AppImages work.
Unzip and execute "run_slade.sh".
http://www.mediafire.com/file/fh45w53q6 ... 64_r01.zip ~56MB

I've tested both versions on Arch Linux, Fedora, Debian and Lubuntu.

Maybe the Developers can make AppImages for future versions of Slade.
https://www.appimage.org/

hf,
-sk1re
sk1re
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2017

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby BFG » Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:28 pm

I've noticed a problem in SLADE in regards to the Blood palette. I was trying to recolor the Blood spider to be the same color as the red that is in the game, but the only colors in the palette are the wrong shade of red (almost orange), could it be that Blood uses its other palettes or some of the actors? (like the Beast vision one for example has more red colors) or has the palette been set up incorrectly?

Another problem is when I recolor the Baron of Hell, it looks fine in SLADE but in game there is random dark red patches all over him, yet every single shade of red in the palette i've translated. I could provide the translation code & screenshot for examples.
Attachments
Untitledsd.png
Blood palette turns red into orange, and Baron has pink on him, even though he's been translated to all gray
Untitledsd.png (110.75 KiB) Viewed 466 times
User avatar
BFG
 
Joined: 17 Feb 2015
Location: Germany

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Rachael » Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:21 am

Are you using PNG's? There is a limitation in GZDoom (since it remaps PNG's) that might prevent the remap from taking full effect; it cannot always predict that the colors being remapped to will be the same ones that Slade sees.

The only way to fix this is to convert the images in question to Doom format.
User avatar
Rachael
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby DoodGuy » Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:37 pm

Its stuck like this forever, I tried with both the stable and beta builds
Attachments
Screenshot_5.png
Screenshot_5.png (78.12 KiB) Viewed 420 times
DoodGuy
 
Joined: 03 Dec 2016

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Kappes Buur » Fri Nov 03, 2017 12:09 am

DoodGuy wrote:Its stuck like this forever, I tried with both the stable and beta builds

A bit more information would be helpful.

  1. Is this the first time that you installed Slade3?
  2. Did you install into a dedicated folder?
  3. Did you previously use an older version, eg Slade2?
  4. Did you install the appropriate Runtimes?
  5. What does the logfile look like?
    Here is mine just opening Slade3:
    22:04:01: SLADE - It's a Doom Editor
    22:04:01: Version 3.1.2 Beta 5
    22:04:01: Written by Simon Judd, 2008-2017
    22:04:01: Compiled with wxWidgets 3.1.0 and SFML 2.4.2
    22:04:01: --------------------------------
    22:04:01: Loading configuration
    22:04:01: Loading resources
    22:04:01: Loading icons
    22:04:01: Loading entry types
    22:04:01: Loading text languages
    22:04:01: Loading text style sets
    22:04:01: Loading colour configuration
    22:04:02: Loading base resource
    22:04:02: Base resource loaded
    22:04:02: Loading game configurations
    22:04:02: Read game configuration "doom2" + "zdoom"
    22:04:02: SLADE Initialisation OK
    Warning: The created OpenGL context does not fully meet the settings that were requested
    Requested: version = 1.1 ; depth bits = 32 ; stencil bits = 8 ; AA level = 0 ; core = false ;
    debug = false ; sRGB = false
    Created: version = 4.5 ; depth bits = 24 ; stencil bits = 8 ; AA level = 0 ; core = false ;
    debug = false ; sRGB = false

    I don't know what the Warning is all about. The editor runs fine.
Just throwing out some random thoughts. You can see where this is going.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby AtomicLugia » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:37 am

I see that the latest build has cropping now. I didn't thought that there's already cropping via console. I hope, they'll keep the "crash" command, it's funny!

So, I have some suggestions for this program.

An option to auto-crop multiple selected images (the ones with transparent space), including a option to type in the size of the free space aftermath (like in Game Maker 8, to prevent partial sharp edges), would be nice. Like in XWE, I can auto-crop images but I have to do this with every single image. When doing a custom font, this is like a nightmare.

Support for umlaut letters. When I type in these letters like "Ä Ö Ü ß", they'll become garbage like "Ä Ö Ãœ ß" in game or other programs than SLADE. This needs to be fixed. I mean, XWE can handle this and it's one of the most buggy programs I've ever used in my life.
User avatar
AtomicLugia
A cyan Yoshi with a M249
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2016
Location: Germany

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Gez » Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:10 am

Autocrop is already in, use the "adjust" console command.


Non-ASCII characters depend on the character encoding used. Might be a good idea to allow to change the encoding for the text editor.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:50 am

DEfault shouldn't be UTF-8, though because no port currently uses that.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby AtomicLugia » Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:01 am

"adjust" doesn't work on multiple images. Instead it prints out "No image selected.".
User avatar
AtomicLugia
A cyan Yoshi with a M249
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2016
Location: Germany

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Apeirogon » Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:33 pm

Sometimes slade break right after launch. Version and build dont play any role.
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Marrub » Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:39 am

Here's an odd issue, on Arch Linux using the regular PKGBUILD, the icon, including in the about menu, is uh...
Image
Weird.
I've tried reinstalling it a few times to no avail. Any idea what's up with that?
User avatar
Marrub
Secreta In Exile
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2013
Discord: Marrub#5455

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Gez » Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:52 am

Is it the only problem? Just a corrupted icon? Other graphics are fine?
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Marrub » Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:55 am

Yup, everything else works great. I have no idea what's causing that in particular to be broken.
User avatar
Marrub
Secreta In Exile
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2013
Discord: Marrub#5455

Previous

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests