GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:23 pm

ZZYZX wrote:Basically, I'm asking people who have complex dynlight intensive maps to open their maps in this and make sure everything works as intended before I push this to auto-update.


The most dynlight intensive maps seem to be Enjay's Gene-Tech and Waterlab
I played through them with no obvious visual anomalies occurring.

Otherwise same as abbuw with action 80
eg:
Spoiler:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:20 pm

Ok. Action 80 fixed. I also pushed this feature to auto-update as R3000. (also I remember promising a major release at 3k, but seriously cba)

Visual mode:


2D mode:
Last edited by ZZYZX on Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Nash » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:22 pm

ZZYZX wrote:Hey! Regarding spotlight rendering. I currently have this release:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/1c23bpf7v ... x-r2995.7z
It does NOT support spotlights yet, but it has complete rewrite of dynlight detection. I really need some help with testing this one. I know that it somewhat looks well, but obscure stuff like inheriting lights or GLDEFS lights may be broken.
Basically, I'm asking people who have complex dynlight intensive maps to open their maps in this and make sure everything works as intended before I push this to auto-update.
The reason why I'm doing this is because it may actually permanently break maps if it isn't working correctly, so yup some testing needed.


Everything works so far, but inherited lights don't draw the 2D light radius in the 2D view.

EDIT: correction, inherited lights don't render in 3D view, too
User avatar
Nash
Nash Muhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:33 pm

Nash wrote:Everything works so far, but inherited lights don't draw the 2D light radius in the 2D view.

EDIT: correction, inherited lights don't render in 3D view, too

fixed
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Wiw » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:16 am

I don't know why, but GZDB started giving me this error on startup:

"Update check failed: failed to retrieve remote revision info.
Check your Internet connection and try again."

I don't understand, there's nothing wrong with my connection that I know of...
User avatar
Wiw
Frequently puts foot in mouth
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2015
Location: Everywhere and nowhere.

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:11 pm

DRDTeam seems to be lagging. Sometimes doesn't connect. I'm working on changing how update notifications work so that it doesn't unconditionally display sudden popup window after it checks for updates. Once that's done I'll just make it retry the HTTP request until it works.
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Rachael » Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:27 am

If it were my choice, DRDTeam would not be hosted on DreamHost which is what is causing the problems. However, I do not currently have that choice, so it is what it is. >_<

It feels like shared webhosts are only ever good if your site is a ghost town with 10 or 20 visitors per month at most. Get even a hint of popularity and they fuck you hard with limits and access errors and all that tripe.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:42 pm

This may be a bug or possibly something I do not understand correctly:

I wanted to find all imps with the easy flag. Apparently that does not work, so I
opted to find all things with the easy flag.

Spoiler:


So, I press the K of the truncated OK and I get this

Spoiler:


Then I click on Find and this shows up

Spoiler:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Sun Feb 11, 2018 7:24 pm

The checkboxes are tristate
Image

Here Easy is at "required to be set", Hard is at "required to not be set", and Medium (and everything else) is at "don't care".
Not sure what it looks like on Win10, but the reason why you got nothing is because you made a query for things that have ONLY Easy flag (which normally doesn't happen, as things have at least SP/MP flag also).

About truncated OK: this is only with Hexen and Boom versions of the dialog. Yes, requires fixing >_>
Since UDMF dialog is way wider:
Image
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Empyre » Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:52 pm

You could use a filter to find things that have the easy flag and are monsters. In Things mode, click on the button that looks like a funnel, which is the filter. Click New Filter, and set it up to filter by category monsters and on the flags tab, make a check mark on skill 1 and the neutral box symbol (neither checked nor empty) on all the rest. Then, choose that new filter, and all things that don't match that filter will be grayed out.
User avatar
Empyre
The Ultimate Shining Example of Humility
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Location: Garland, TX, USA

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Feb 12, 2018 1:29 am

Yes, that will work nicely.
Thanks Empyre.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Silentdarkness12 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:08 pm

Having a problem with the updater. Getting this error no matter what I do.

Code: Select allExpand view
Unable to retrieve remote revision info: Unexpected error happened on a send.
User avatar
Silentdarkness12
Level 7: ZScript Victim
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2013
Location: Plains of Pride

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:42 pm

Silentdarkness12 wrote:Having a problem with the updater. Getting this error no matter what I do.
Code: Select allExpand view
Unable to retrieve remote revision info: Unexpected error happened on a send.

Scroll up 7 posts! :)
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Zanieon » Thu Feb 15, 2018 4:25 am

Okay as i said in the discord server, i want to make a simple request of adding this extra block as an compiling option in zdbsp.cfg
Code: Select allExpand view
zdbsp_udmf_compressed_huge
{
   title = "ZDBSP - Compress nodes (UDMF) (Large Maps)";
   compiler = "zdbsp";
   parameters = "-z -X -s004 -p128 -d032 -G -5 -o%FO %FI";
}


Usually too large maps tends to make ZDBSP go nuts when building the BSP and it can generate some sort of slime trails that shows what is behind the wall or shows the sky if it happens in the floor or ceiling, this addition of parameters seems to make ZDBSP build the nodes more carefully and fix the problem.
User avatar
Zanieon
A Tamer of The Dark
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in the future
Discord: Zanieon#3177

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Silentdarkness12 » Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:19 pm

Also, i'm trying to add something to some ZScript classes so they'll show up in the Things Menu on GZDoom Builder, but it seems like it isn't appearing. How would you go about making a ZScripted thing show up in the Things menu? I already added the tags.
User avatar
Silentdarkness12
Level 7: ZScript Victim
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2013
Location: Plains of Pride

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests