SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.

NOTE: This is NOT a Q&A or troubleshooting forum! This is for active projects only! Please use the General or its subforums for such questions.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby sirjuddington » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:19 pm

New beta released yesterday, which introduces a new scripting feature (using lua). So you can run something like this which will select all lines on the map with a special of 1:

Code: Select allExpand view
for i,line in ipairs(App.mapEditor().map.linedefs) do
   if line.special == 1 then
      App.mapEditor():select(line)
   end
end


Some documentation on the scripting API is available here: http://slade.mancubus.net/docs/scripting
User avatar
sirjuddington
I need no title.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Kinsie » Thu Aug 03, 2017 10:56 am

There's a fairly frustrating long-running bug (that I just checked still exists in the latest beta) where copying (not cutting) entries in a folder-based archive and pasting them would delete the original entries when the archive is next saved.
User avatar
Kinsie
Glarepokes (thx Kura-san!)
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby James Flasch » Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:09 pm

I use Windows 10 and have the latest version of Slade. Its directory has the FluidSynth dlls in it (they came with it), but FluidSynth won't work in Slade. It does work (with the same dlls) in GZDoom, however. What gives?
James Flasch
 
Joined: 13 Dec 2016

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:57 pm

Code: Select allExpand view
Error: Can't read value of 'HKLM\SOFTWARE\CodeImp\Doom Builder\Location'
(error 2: the system cannot find the file specified.)

How does one make it possible to run GZDB or GZDB-BF from Open Map in Doom Builder 2 without mucking about in the Registry?
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Gez » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:01 pm

James Flasch wrote:I use Windows 10 and have the latest version of Slade. Its directory has the FluidSynth dlls in it (they came with it), but FluidSynth won't work in Slade. It does work (with the same dlls) in GZDoom, however. What gives?

Did you set a soundfont?

Kappes Buur wrote:
Code: Select allExpand view
Error: Can't read value of 'HKLM\SOFTWARE\CodeImp\Doom Builder\Location'
(error 2: the system cannot find the file specified.)

How does one make it possible to run GZDB or GZDB-BF without mucking about in the Registry?

There's a path_db2 CVAR. Set it to the path of the exe you want. Looking in the registry is only a fallback for when the CVAR isn't set.
Gez
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:06 pm

Gez wrote:There's a path_db2 CVAR. Set it to the path of the exe you want. Looking in the registry is only a fallback for when the CVAR isn't set.

Perfect. Thx.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Major Cooke » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:24 am

Kinsie wrote:There's a fairly frustrating long-running bug (that I just checked still exists in the latest beta) where copying (not cutting) entries in a folder-based archive and pasting them would delete the original entries when the archive is next saved.


Huh... I thought I was delusional when I noticed this myself not too long ago, I thought maybe I was just being clumsy.
User avatar
Major Cooke
Slow yet powerful ZScript modder.
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Discord: Major Cooke#0846

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Nash » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:06 am

SLADE's dark text editor preset is nice, but can you add actual dark UIs too, like in Visual Studio? Currently only the text editor can be set to dark, everything else is still bright which actually is more painful to my eyes...

Image
Image
User avatar
Nash
Nash Muhandes [Audio Engineer | Game Designer | Scripting]
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Caligari87 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:18 am

I think it follows your system theme. At least it does on Linux, where I've got a dark theme set up:



Windows 10 should have a built-in dark theme setting now. It's not great but it works.



8-)
Last edited by Caligari87 on Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:21 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Nash » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:20 am

Oh damn that looks good. I'm not sure how to change UI colours in Windows 8.1 though.
User avatar
Nash
Nash Muhandes [Audio Engineer | Game Designer | Scripting]
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Caligari87 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:22 am

Dammit, ninja'd! :lol: I just updated my post with a video showing how to enable dark themes in Win10.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby wildweasel » Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:33 am

Caligari87 wrote:Dammit, ninja'd! :lol: I just updated my post with a video showing how to enable dark themes in Win10.

8-)

Sadly, this only appears to apply to "Apps" and things that otherwise use the Metro UI. It doesn't affect SLADE at all.
User avatar
wildweasel
I love the smell of sourdough in the morning
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: avatar by kurashiki

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby sirjuddington » Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:03 am

There isn't a way to get a full dark theme in windows unfortunately, since it's using native win32 controls etc, which can't really be customised. To get a full dark theme the UI would need to be completely rewritten in something else.
User avatar
sirjuddington
I need no title.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Caligari87 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:13 am

What's it using on Linux? If it's GTK I think that's cross-platform and you can set it to use a GTK-compat theme even on Windows.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Postby Gez » Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:00 pm

SLADE is using wxWidgets on Windows, Mac, and Linux. That's the point of a cross-platform toolkit.
Gez
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

PreviousNext

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron