GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Software projects like source ports (3DGE, Eternity, etc), launchers like ZDL, and other useful utilities belong in this forum.

NOTE: This is NOT a Q&A or troubleshooting forum! This is for active projects only! Please use the General or its subforums for such questions.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby VGA » Sat Jun 17, 2017 12:46 am

How do I migrate to this fork?

I was thinking maybe put its updater in the original GZDB's folder and run it? :D
User avatar
VGA
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Jun 17, 2017 2:03 am

If you have been using DB2 or GZDB successfully then simply download from
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdbbf/ and un7zip into a folder.
I find it best to have a dedicated folder for each version.

Spoiler:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Nash » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:28 am

@ZZYZX: https://github.com/coelckers/gzdoom/com ... 613c5a0a27 <-- this commit finally makes proper light flags instead of the old piggybacking hack, should GZDB-BF be adjusted for this? If yes will submit to the tracker. But I'd rather ask first.

I remember you had some difficulties when I asked for visual support for inherited dynamic lights, not sure if this change is relevant or not
User avatar
Nash
Nash Muhandes [Audio Engineer | Game Designer | Scripting]
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:54 am

This is not relevant. Purely backend change without any consequences on the DECORATE side from what I see.
Why are the flag names changed? What about people who have used the old flags? These exist, both in ZScript and DECORATE. Graf ∦ backwards compatibility.
User avatar
ZZYZX
Alien overlord, maybe
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby VGA » Tue Jun 20, 2017 2:09 am

They changed them to fix this:

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=56938
User avatar
VGA
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Gez » Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:11 am

Only DONTLIGHTSELF/SEESDAGGER really needed to be changed, though.
Gez
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Nevander » Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:37 am

Got another strange thing going on that again I'm not sure if it's been fixed before or not. I am still on R734 of normal GZDoom Builder, so you know it may be old.

Anyway, basically if I have imported my own things with sprites I have converted with SLADE, I get this cyan aliasing around the outside of the sprites. Note that this only happens with sprites I have edited in some way (using MS Paint) with a cyan background color, imported into SLADE, and converted.

Sprites from other things and the IWADs do not do this, they alias but they do so cleanly. It also only happens as you zoom out and the thing's display sprite gets smaller. Somehow GZDoom Builder thinks there is a cyan background still or something even though it was removed with SLADE during the conversion. I should also note I started with a BMP and converted it into transparent PNG.

Here's an image of what I mean (leftmost is far enough out to see it, center is the same thing zoomed in, and the rightmost is zooming in close in the editor when it looks normal):

Spoiler:
User avatar
Nevander
The Doomslayer
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Location: United States

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Sun Jun 25, 2017 11:10 am

Does enabling/disabling high quality help? Wait... R-what? 734? :shock: :shock: :shock: That's like 2000 commits behind MaxED's latest version as well...
Well that explains it. Try the new one in a separate directory and see if it works.
User avatar
ZZYZX
Alien overlord, maybe
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:55 pm

Nevander wrote:.... I am still on R734 of normal GZDoom Builder, so you know it may be old.


Oh, good one. :)

r734 refers to a build of Doombuilder2 (2009-01-16) when GZDoomBuilder was not even a twinkle in some programmer's eye.
GZDoomBuilder was officially established with
Code: Select allExpand view
[r1494] by codeimp 2012-04-17 07:26:08
   
// Created branch for MaxED's GZDoom Builder. (starting revision 1493)      

So, it is that old, that Codeimp or any other programmer no longer wants to look at it anymore.

Take ZZYZX's advice and use the latest GZDB.
Since DB2 works for you there should be no problem using GZDB.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Previous

Return to Software and Ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Gutawer and 1 guest