LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Postby Dr_Cosmobyte » Mon Mar 29, 2021 4:29 pm

Tried again with some different combinations, and i think it was the mapset's fault. So ignore me, this works fine with Kinsie's midi-silence hack.
User avatar
Dr_Cosmobyte
Also known as: GAA1992
 
Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Location: Killing spiders.

Re: ¡Incredible!

Postby Sunbeam » Wed Mar 31, 2021 7:36 am

luisgph wrote:this mod its impressive, well is some simple scripts and with that is created something awesome thank you sunbeam: for getting this mods simple but awesome :)

Thanks! Yes, I tried to keep it simple. 🙂

luisgph wrote:this mod its impressive, well is some simple scripts and with that is created something awesome thank you sunbeam: for getting this mods simple but awesome :)

Good to know!
User avatar
Sunbeam
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2013

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Postby TDRR » Thu May 06, 2021 10:07 pm

Really sick mod! It's a pretty clever way to make it work, and the idea is pretty nice. Perfect for PSX-style maps!
I also noticed that it only uses two functions that Zandronum doesn't support, GetDistance and SpawnProjectile (in the case of the latter, it's technically implemented I think but it's broken), both of which can be easily replaced.

So I made a Zandronum version :p
I'm not sure if it's 100% accurate but it seems to be close enough and works alright, and I also cleaned it up a bit, for instance now it doesn't use a static TID, instead uses UniqueTID to reduce conflicts (1337 is a more common TID than you'd think lol). It also works in multiplayer... maybe lol I didn't test it, but it's accounted for, kinda.
Could I post this at the Zandronum forums, btw (obviously full credit to you)?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
TDRR
A living work in progress
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2018
Location: Venezuela
Discord: TDRR#5820
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Postby Sunbeam » Fri May 07, 2021 3:37 am

Hey that's nice! 🙂

Oops, I think I wanted to change the TID before release but somehow forgot it... Yeah, I thought as much that this number shouldn't be used in "production". 😉

Yes you can. Go ahead! 🙂
User avatar
Sunbeam
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2013

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Postby TDRR » Fri May 07, 2021 12:27 pm

Nice, thank you!

EDIT: The version I posted previously is broken, forgot that double vars passed to ACS scripts get cast to plain ints (no decimal at all), so as the distance calculated in the script was in fixed point, it was WAY off (like 65536 times off :p).

Here's a link to the Zandronum forums post, with a fixed version: https://zandronum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=58&t=10255
User avatar
TDRR
A living work in progress
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2018
Location: Venezuela
Discord: TDRR#5820
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Postby shaodoomkahn » Fri May 07, 2021 5:20 pm

it's would be good if there mod to add horror dynamic
shaodoomkahn
 
Joined: 01 Sep 2020
Discord: shaobrofan#6262
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Postby Sunbeam » Sat May 08, 2021 8:33 am

TDRR wrote:Here's a link to the Zandronum forums post, with a fixed version: https://zandronum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=58&t=10255

Thanks for the info!

TDRR wrote:EDIT: The version I posted previously is broken, forgot that double vars passed to ACS scripts get cast to plain ints (no decimal at all), so as the distance calculated in the script was in fixed point, it was WAY off (like 65536 times off :p).

Yeah I know the problem. GZDoom (and Zandronum, respectively) has so many small details one needs to pay attention to. Good you figured that out. 🙂
User avatar
Sunbeam
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2013

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Postby Kazudra » Mon May 24, 2021 7:52 am

I'm kinda torn on this one;
On one hand, the ambience and atmosphere of a soundscape of PSX/N64 Doom is enhanced (especially with Dead Marine), The uneasy emotion is driven down to precise it's unmistakable.
On the other hand, It's REALLY wonky with Vanilla sounds and music; A lot of rooms sound too hollow and one's ears bleed when low health and Invincibility. (But the effects are soooo good)

I find it essential for a more slow-paced experience but the faster-paced experience really suffers. Maybe a slider or option that reduces the Reverb strength across the board would be the best thing so that the player can find their own sweet spot.
Kazudra
 
Joined: 25 May 2015

Re: LiveReverb - dynamic reverb for all Doom maps!

Postby Sunbeam » Sat Jun 05, 2021 1:20 am

Kazudra wrote:I'm kinda torn on this one;
On one hand, the ambience and atmosphere of a soundscape of PSX/N64 Doom is enhanced (especially with Dead Marine), The uneasy emotion is driven down to precise it's unmistakable.
On the other hand, It's REALLY wonky with Vanilla sounds and music; A lot of rooms sound too hollow and one's ears bleed when low health and Invincibility. (But the effects are soooo good)

I find it essential for a more slow-paced experience but the faster-paced experience really suffers. Maybe a slider or option that reduces the Reverb strength across the board would be the best thing so that the player can find their own sweet spot.

Thanks for the feedback!

You can disable the effects for low health and invulnerability in the options menu (see readme file).

Unfortunately adding a general slider for reverb is impossible. This mod uses some features built into the engine. And it's all based around some pre-defined reverb "environments", which (to my knowledge) can't be changed by code.
Well since custom environments can be added (by modders), there would be the possibility to create several "sets" of environments with more or less reverb. The mod could then use the set according to the chosen settings.
But that's quite some hassle. Also I wanted to stay close to the default values in order to avoid possible future incompatibilities.

The best thing of course would be to be able to change reverb environment settings on the fly while running the game. This would allow the most precise reverb for each room. However there are a lot of settings for each environment. Getting things right isn't trivial.
User avatar
Sunbeam
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2013

Previous

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ileblanc and 7 guests