DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.9be] - New class, the Sarge!

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Twitch ID: Dan_The_Noob
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: CMM DoomRLA Classes [0.6a] - Nano Maniac and Phase Siste

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

the sound when the mechanoid takes damage is pretty excessive, makes the class hard to play.
also not sold on the pistol start one being viable without any kind of bonus for using them (I get that they're lucky, but they're not THAT lucky)
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Re: CMM DoomRLA Classes [0.6a] - Nano Maniac and Phase Siste

Post by Cutmanmike »

Dan_The_Noob wrote:the sound when the mechanoid takes damage is pretty excessive, makes the class hard to play.
I kinda agree. Any suggestions for replacements?
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Twitch ID: Dan_The_Noob
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: CMM DoomRLA Classes [0.6a] - Nano Maniac and Phase Siste

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

Cutmanmike wrote:
Dan_The_Noob wrote:the sound when the mechanoid takes damage is pretty excessive, makes the class hard to play.
I kinda agree. Any suggestions for replacements?
maybe like some sort of grunts run through a filter to sound a little robotic. or even just as is but take the higher pitch out of the metal sound.
ItsClobberinTime
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2022 8:26 am
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: CMM DoomRLA Classes [0.6a] - Nano Maniac and Phase Siste

Post by ItsClobberinTime »

I'm having a problem here.

Have in mind that i'm not really and expert on how ZDL And ZDOOM Works, So it might be a just a silly mistake i'm making
But when load the game, the classes system does not seem to work. they're all just the default marine. No Nomad, no Nanomaniac, no nothing.

Here my loading Order:

9SYNTHM4.wad
DoomRL_Arsenal_1.1.5.pk3
DoomRL_CMMClasses_0.6a.pk3
DoomRL_Monsters_Beta_7.3.pk3
BOSSES.wad
DoomBetaStyle.wad
Reward_chest1_6.pk3
Monsterscouter-Plus.pk3
SlomoBulletTime_Ultimate_R3.1c.pk3
CorruptionCards-v3.2.pk3
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21379
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: CMM DoomRLA Classes [0.6a] - Nano Maniac and Phase Siste

Post by wildweasel »

One of these mods must be replacing player classes. The first one I would suspect is Slomo, but try removing one mod at a time until the correct player classes appear for you.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by Cutmanmike »



This mod needed a real name, so I've rebranded it DRLAX! :)

I've added a new class, some new mechanics (for all classes), and lots of other stuff... and bug fixes. Enjoy!

See the first post for more info.

Download: https://cutstuff.net/public/DRLAX_0.8beta.pk3
User avatar
fakemai
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:26 am
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: Australia

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by fakemai »

Tandem attacking and corpse horking? Yeah I can definitely get into this new class. My initial playthrough has scored an infinite laser so that's used to pin and whittle enemies while I send a micro-missile at them to gut them, at least until I get something better, I'm wondering just how extensive its compatibiliy is (no spoilers please). Also saw the book that summons clones to kill for reward, I'm actually glad to see it branch out to more than just new classes, more flavour is appreciated.
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Twitch ID: Dan_The_Noob
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

Cutmanmike wrote:

This mod needed a real name, so I've rebranded it DRLAX! :)

I've added a new class, some new mechanics (for all classes), and lots of other stuff... and bug fixes. Enjoy!
nice, how about a robot character that only has 1 basic gun-arm but can be upgraded beyond 4 mods? (unless you can't access the weapons part)
think Barret from Final Fantasy 7 crossed with Samus from Metroid.
cosmos10040
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 6:16 am
Discord: cosmos
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by cosmos10040 »

Using gzdoom 4.7.1 on delta touch I loaded this and when I scroll down to the new classes it just randomly displays images of the other classes and when I hit enter it force closes.
User avatar
fakemai
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:26 am
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: Australia

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by fakemai »

Minor bugs. Sarge DSOOF sticks out horribly, maybe OK with reduced volume. I was also wondering what his horking potential was since I was getting nothing much from boss gibbing, and noticed a missing break; so he'll never get modpacks. Whether he should is another question, at least their intended rates. I also normally run at 4:3 and Mechanoid's UI gets chopped off, apparently Sarge is meant to display an ammo counter too but I think that's totally off-screen.
EDIT: Also Sarge mug shot sometimes vanishes when invulnerable on screenblocks 10 HUD.
EDIT2: Spoiler.
Spoiler:
Also shoulder compatibility!
Spoiler:
Last edited by fakemai on Fri Jul 01, 2022 11:15 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
SiFi270
Posts: 436
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:51 am
Location: Does anyone put a serious answer here?

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by SiFi270 »

I've been having trouble selecting a familiar. The only input that gets any noticeable response is using escape to go back, and there's no visible cursor or anything. I started on this post before realizing 4.8.0 was no longer the latest version of GZDoom, and while I can still load my save after updating, the familiar screen is still just as unresponsive. Is there just something I'm missing, or should have I been using 4.8.1 from the start?
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by Cutmanmike »

Thanks for the feedback, I'll probably release a mini update to fix these things.
SiFi270 wrote:I've been having trouble selecting a familiar. The only input that gets any noticeable response is using escape to go back, and there's no visible cursor or anything. I started on this post before realizing 4.8.0 was no longer the latest version of GZDoom, and while I can still load my save after updating, the familiar screen is still just as unresponsive. Is there just something I'm missing, or should have I been using 4.8.1 from the start?
No I was testing this in 4.8.0 and it worked for me. The familiar selector uses GZDoom menus so you should be able to just select with the mouse. For me the windows cursor is used, do you not get a cursor at all? Does moving the mouse around make any menu sounds? You can test this at any time by selecting Achievements in the drla options menu btw.
User avatar
SiFi270
Posts: 436
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:51 am
Location: Does anyone put a serious answer here?

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by SiFi270 »

Oh it was because I have "enable mouse in menus" turned off. Thanks for helping out.
AttackTomato
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2022 7:44 pm

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by AttackTomato »

The new update isn't working for me. It crashes the game upon loading. Is there a link to the 0.6 version? I downloaded it on another device and it worked fine, but I don't have access to it right now.
User avatar
fakemai
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:26 am
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: Australia

Re: DoomRLA EXTENDED [0.8be] - New class, the Sarge!

Post by fakemai »

They're all indexed in his download page.

Also VM abort on taking floor damage, apparently that is just when I have the spectre familiar with sneak attack damage buff.

Code: Select all

VM execution aborted: tried to read from address zero.
Called from Actor.CountInv at gzdoom.pk3:zscript/actors/inventory_util.zs
Called from DRLAX_SpectreFamiliarPassive.ModifyDamage at DoomRL Arsenal/drlax/:zscript/drlax/familiars/monster.zscript, line 382
Called from PlayerPawn.PlayerThink at gzdoom.pk3:zscript/actors/player/player.zs, line 1648
Called from PlayerPawn.CheckEnvironment [Native]

Return to “Gameplay Mods”