[WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [SUPERS?]

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 0.99a [QUICK GRENADES]

Postby Ferretmanjcdenton » Tue Dec 08, 2020 1:49 pm

[
I'm gonna get an Android emulator set up and see what I can do to make it work out - I'll let you know if I can manage to figure out how to set the special weapon functions on D-Touch.

Thanks ..happy to hear that ..
User avatar
Ferretmanjcdenton
 
Joined: 09 Mar 2020
Location: Germany
Discord: https://discord.gg/hRm8w97
Operating System: Other Linux ARM/PPC/etc
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [FX-LIGHT VERSION]

Postby TheRailgunner » Wed Dec 09, 2020 2:48 pm

Turnock wrote:Alright. Overall, everything feels nice. not much has changed since my previous comments. The weapons all feel right and useful, all filling a proper niche, except for the M0 Garand, i love the ping from the reload, but I fin that its not very much different from the N7 Battle Rifle. Feels stronger but holds less ammo, the aesthetic isn't much different from each other either, a few cosmetic changes and a color change. I like the weapon but I find it doesn't really fill a purpose that the other rifle already served. The only weapon category I think this mod is missing is a heavy machine gun/ chaingun/ minigun replacement. The N7 and M0 both fill the same role, but neither is capable of being a large crowd mop up that a proper MG can take care of. Both weapons fill in the role I would place for the regular doom shotgun, the main work horse weapon that is reliable in most situations. It falls short when you need large crowds cleared, or when you need to take down boss enemies (which is fine, one weapon shouldn't fit all situations).

Anyhow, I love the new asthetic, very clean, and looks pleasing on the eyes. Only two problems I noticed while testing it out. The shield number is covered when you get overshield (not sure if thats intentional or not) and when you pickup alot of items one after another, the screen continually flashing in my eyes becomes a little irritating (only happened once, but normally, lights dont bother me)

Would it be possible to add a sound when jumping and hovering? Just a small nitpick on my end, I find the small details to be quite pleasing.

I think you are doing a great job so far. So keep up the good work.

P.S. didnt you mention something about adding a fist slot in for Fist purist or something? I think I remember that being mentioned in an earlier post a few month ago.


So, gonna start working on the Proximity Control Rifle sometime soon, as well as adding movement sounds.

I moved the shield numbers so they appear on top of the overshield graphic - hopefully this helps. I also fixed an issue where sprinting didn't work correctly if the M0 was selected at the start of a map.

Oh, and before I forget - FX-light version of Malice, in case anyone is having performance issues.
User avatar
TheRailgunner
Words go here.
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2013

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [FX-LIGHT VERSION]

Postby Rodman909 » Thu Dec 10, 2020 11:34 am

My N7 rifle appears to have infinite ammo all of a sudden. I never need to reload, and alt-fire only consumes the special ammo. Is this supposed to happen?
Rodman909
 
Joined: 07 May 2020
Discord: #5312
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [FX-LIGHT VERSION]

Postby TheRailgunner » Thu Dec 10, 2020 12:28 pm

Rodman909 wrote:My N7 rifle appears to have infinite ammo all of a sudden. I never need to reload, and alt-fire only consumes the special ammo. Is this supposed to happen?


Ah - you picked up the Hyperspace Magazine for the Nishimura Seven - it does, in fact, circumvent reloading entirely. The ammo shouldn't be infinite so much as you can empty your ammo supply without reloading, so if it's really, well, infinite, I may have to fix some things.

As far as the special ammo thing is concerned, the only reason that magazine-based weapons (N4, N7, N10, N12, M0) consume both is for reloading/ammo tracking purposes; so I may have done away with normal ammo expenditure during alt-fire after picking up the Hyperspace Mag.

To-do before I can call Malice finished:
*Add the Proximity Control Rifle
*Add movement sounds
*Fix inconsistencies in weapon sprites (damaged N4, N10 sights)
*Remove decals from Tractor Beam projectiles
*Fix any remaining sound problems
*IWAD compatibility
*Minor tweaks to the FX-light version
*Miscellaneous bugs, along with other stuff I forgot that players have brought up in this thread.
User avatar
TheRailgunner
Words go here.
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2013

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [SIDEARM UPDATE]

Postby TheRailgunner » Wed Dec 16, 2020 3:38 pm

ImageImage

I've finally gotten around to making unique sprites for the starting pistol, the Damaged Nishimura Four Sidearm - in addition, it now:

*Fires more erratically - it sometimes spits out extra shots when it shouldn't!
*Fires more inconsistently - sometimes it'll fire a big blast, sometimes won't shoot anything at all!
*Fires more hazardously - sometimes it'll even HURT you (the damage itself is minimal, but it gets the point across)

I've also raised both the magazine capacity of the damaged variant - and the starting spare ammo amount - to 30, just so players can have more chances to use this Pan-universal Roulette pistol.

Further, two new big changes:

ImageImage

*Both N4s now have sprinting animations. They undoubtedly need further polishing, but I am satisfied with them thus far.
*The N4 no longer stops firing during a dash - I found this quite annoying because of the lack of a dashing animation, and it felt like the gun just randomly stopped shooting. As the N4 won't have a dashing animation (it's a freaking pistol. for crying out loud), this seemed to be the best course of action.

Start shooting, Legionnaire. Also available in FX-light.
User avatar
TheRailgunner
Words go here.
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2013

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [SIDEARM UPDATE]

Postby WolVexus » Fri Dec 18, 2020 11:35 am

so uh, i'm getting spammed with "ACS : UltraBoots : Unknown Actor Class" the second i spawn in a map
User avatar
WolVexus
 
Joined: 06 Aug 2019
Discord: WolVexus#2447
Twitch ID: WolVexus
Github ID: WolVexus
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [SIDEARM UPDATE]

Postby TheRailgunner » Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:19 am

WolVexus wrote:so uh, i'm getting spammed with "ACS : UltraBoots : Unknown Actor Class" the second i spawn in a map


Can you give me any other information, like what version of GZDoom you're running, and/or possibly a screenshot?
User avatar
TheRailgunner
Words go here.
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2013

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [SIDEARM UPDATE]

Postby WolVexus » Sat Dec 19, 2020 8:35 am

TheRailgunner wrote:
WolVexus wrote:so uh, i'm getting spammed with "ACS : UltraBoots : Unknown Actor Class" the second i spawn in a map


Can you give me any other information, like what version of GZDoom you're running, and/or possibly a screenshot?


Using Gz4.5.0 and maps of chaos overkill with ZDL

https://imgur.com/a/kvvUBwA
User avatar
WolVexus
 
Joined: 06 Aug 2019
Discord: WolVexus#2447
Twitch ID: WolVexus
Github ID: WolVexus
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [SIDEARM UPDATE]

Postby TheRailgunner » Sat Dec 19, 2020 3:24 pm

WolVexus wrote:
TheRailgunner wrote:
WolVexus wrote:so uh, i'm getting spammed with "ACS : UltraBoots : Unknown Actor Class" the second i spawn in a map


Can you give me any other information, like what version of GZDoom you're running, and/or possibly a screenshot?


Using Gz4.5.0 and maps of chaos overkill with ZDL

https://imgur.com/a/kvvUBwA


Tried using the newest version and ran it with all five player classes - couldn't get it to happen. Any other information - other mods, settings, etc?

https://imgur.com/a/Ir56YXq

I might try running it with ZDL and see if that changes anything.
User avatar
TheRailgunner
Words go here.
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2013

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [SIDEARM UPDATE]

Postby Twitchy2019 » Sun Dec 20, 2020 11:20 pm

Ok, so I redownloaded this and gave it a whirl. Pretty good. Although one thing seems backwards IMO. Why slow the running speed down so much? I really dislike it when mods slow down the player or mess with the movement in general. Project Brutality is also guilty of this. Please add an option for normal movement, because if there is one, I did not see it.
User avatar
Twitchy2019
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2017
Location: My Foot,Your Face! (Team Monster)

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [SIDEARM UPDATE]

Postby TheRailgunner » Mon Dec 21, 2020 12:02 am

Twitchy2019 wrote:Ok, so I redownloaded this and gave it a whirl. Pretty good. Although one thing seems backwards IMO. Why slow the running speed down so much? I really dislike it when mods slow down the player or mess with the movement in general. Project Brutality is also guilty of this. Please add an option for normal movement, because if there is one, I did not see it.


Go into the full options menu (GZ 4.5 has this) and find "Malice Options" - within should be an "Auto-Sprint" option, which is essentially equivalent to Doom's native "Always Run" setting.
User avatar
TheRailgunner
Words go here.
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2013

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [FISTS!]

Postby TheRailgunner » Fri Dec 25, 2020 11:44 am

So, I added the Legion Fists as a standalone weapon in Slot 1, along with Power Melee attacks. I may give them idle sprites, we'll see. Somehow, taking good screenshots of them is harder than it should be, though. Anyway, gear up, etc.

In addition to this, the N4's rate of fire has been raised to 1050 rounds per minute and 2100 in burst fire, giving it much more crowd-clearing punch. N4 ammunition now occasionally spawns instead of clips, and damaged N4 pistols occasionally drop alongside N7 weapon spawns.

I also added HUD indicators for the Power Melees for all weapons and raised ammo limits across the board - between Power Melees and Quick Grenades, it's definitely possible to play "ammo-optional".

Oh, and Merry Christmas and other winter-time holidays.

To-do before I can call Malice finished:
*Add movement sounds
*Fix inconsistencies in weapon sprites (N10 sights)
*Remove decals from Tractor Beam projectiles
*Fix any remaining sound problems
*IWAD compatibility
*Minor tweaks to the FX-light version
*Miscellaneous bugs, along with other stuff I forgot that players have brought up in this thread.
User avatar
TheRailgunner
Words go here.
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2013

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [FISTS!]

Postby Rodman909 » Mon Dec 28, 2020 5:58 pm

The HUD isn't showing up for some reason.
Rodman909
 
Joined: 07 May 2020
Discord: #5312
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [FISTS!]

Postby TheRailgunner » Mon Dec 28, 2020 7:23 pm

Rodman909 wrote:The HUD isn't showing up for some reason.


Can you tell me what settings you're running with and possibly a screenshot?

Also, I gave the Legion Fists a proper Idle frame and selection animation.
User avatar
TheRailgunner
Words go here.
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2013

Re: [WIP] Malice - Version 1.0pre [FISTS!]

Postby Rodman909 » Mon Dec 28, 2020 8:06 pm

TheRailgunner wrote:
Rodman909 wrote:The HUD isn't showing up for some reason.


Can you tell me what settings you're running with and possibly a screenshot?

Also, I gave the Legion Fists a proper Idle frame and selection animation.

Here's what my screen looks like.
[imgur]https://i.imgur.com/7yGxHl7.jpg[/imgur]
These are my HUD scale settings.
[imgur]https://i.imgur.com/60GUZZN.png[/imgur]
EDIT: The same thing happens when I load earlier versions of Malice.
Rodman909
 
Joined: 07 May 2020
Discord: #5312
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KingFrog564 and 23 guests