Page 4 of 4

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2020 12:17 pm
by Caligari87
Honestly this sounds like the mod is still being autoloaded somehow. Mods can't permanently change maps.

8-)

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 4:02 pm
by Solaela
Cool. So any idea how I can find out how it's doing that? Cause I run that map through the ol drag and drop and it still does it. Zan is competely fine it's just GZdoom that does it even with a fresh copy.

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:05 pm
by phantombeta
It's not being autoloaded. This is caused by node caching.

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:42 pm
by Solaela
phantombeta wrote:It's not being autoloaded. This is caused by node caching.


You are officially a fucking legend. Thank you. I mean it wasn't bugging me that I couldn't play it cause of it but it WAS bugging me that I couldn't fix it!

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2021 1:31 am
by Sunbeam
phantombeta wrote:It's not being autoloaded. This is caused by node caching.

Thanks phantombeta! This is really good to know. I wasn't aware of it before. I've added a note to the first post.


I set up a Discord server for my projects. If you would like to share screenshots of cool deformed maps, please do so there: Discord!🙂

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2021 2:37 am
by Randomguy7
can you mirror maps? I feel like that'd make this one of my goto addons

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2021 10:29 am
by StroggVorbis
Reminds me of Mario Kart 64. It had a hidden debug feature to scale tracks on their Y-axis. With Action Replay or Gameshark you can make race tracks high enough for the slopes to be too steep to be climbed.

https://tcrf.net/Mario_Kart_64

Re: Deformed Doom - deform any Doom map!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2021 2:38 pm
by Sunbeam
Randomguy7 wrote:can you mirror maps? I feel like that'd make this one of my goto addons

No, that's not possible. There's another mod/addon that does this. I *could* add that feature but that would feel like stealing it from the other mod. 😉
Just found it again: Flipper

StroggVorbis wrote:Reminds me of Mario Kart 64. It had a hidden debug feature to scale tracks on their Y-axis. With Action Replay or Gameshark you can make race tracks high enough for the slopes to be too steep to be climbed.

https://tcrf.net/Mario_Kart_64

Ha, cool find. Although it seems that this debug feature does not affect the collision detection. Still interesting. 🙂
(Offtopic: Nice name 😉)