[3.8] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:25 pm
Discord: Nonemployee#1013
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by mamaluigisbagel »

Coincident wrote:I had a blast of a time playing through Plutonia, and I can't wait to play through another wad!
Even after that Dopenant? :P I don't know how the heck that happened, but it was hilarious. I should watch the full playthrough sometime.

Back on topic, glad new cards are still being added, and I believe I've already collected 3 of them!
ghostboy1225
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 12:51 am

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by ghostboy1225 »

heads up the link on the original post goes to version 3.5a not 3.6
User avatar
Ryuhi
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:00 pm

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by Ryuhi »

small bug with 3.6, its not asking for a permanent card at the rate of the option while in in custom mode. Only ever seems to offer them at all if its set to every map.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by Cutmanmike »

Ryuhi wrote:small bug with 3.6, its not asking for a permanent card at the rate of the option while in in custom mode. Only ever seems to offer them at all if its set to every map.
It's working for me in 3.6, are you sure you're using Custom mode?
User avatar
Ryuhi
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:00 pm

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by Ryuhi »

Cutmanmike wrote:
Ryuhi wrote:small bug with 3.6, its not asking for a permanent card at the rate of the option while in in custom mode. Only ever seems to offer them at all if its set to every map.
It's working for me in 3.6, are you sure you're using Custom mode?
yep, i always play 8 options choose 1, with permanent set to every 3, been switching it to 8/3 since the permanents arent applying properly in the meantime :)

also tested with just the mod itself, in both 4.7.1 and 4.8.2. Also tried changing it to every 2/4/5/etc maps and the only one that worked was every single map.

Edit: might have found the culprit. I had it set to disable the menu at the start and go straight into custom mode, re-enabling the mode select fixed it.
User avatar
openroadracer
Posts: 379
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:03 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by openroadracer »

Just a question from the dumbest depths of my handicapped brain:

Has anyone ever COMPLETED a full 32, while running with custom mode set to "8 cards per map, all perms"? I tried, once, but decided it was too chaotic for me.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by Cutmanmike »

New version time :)
  • Added 11 new cards.
  • Added 3 new Wild Cards.
  • Fixed a bug where skipping the setup menus ignored certain game rules.
  • Fixed Duplicard not working correctly with certain stackable cards.
  • Fixed Cannibalism adding extra health gained from cards effecting the consumed monster.
  • Fixed a crash with Angry Bones.
  • Fixed minimum tier not actually working in Custom mode.
  • Fixed Blood Shift working incorrectly with scaling health mods.
  • Wild Cards now have less chance of spawning if you do not acquire all secrets on the previous map.
  • Made "improvements" to Angry Bones AI.
  • Reduced the slipperiness of Icy Tread for airborne monsters.
  • Surprise Boss now spawns a Maulotaur instead of an invisible Cyberdemon in Heretic.
  • Borrowed Time is now always Tier 5.
  • Hand of Baphomet can no longer spawn boss monsters that could end the map if they died (i.e e3m8 spiderdemon).
  • Added damage effects to Hand of Baphomet.
Download 3.7
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Twitch ID: Dan_The_Noob
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

Cutmanmike wrote:New version time :)
  • Added 11 new cards.
do you have a full card compendium somewhere?
NamelessGuy
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2020 4:52 am
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: You don't want to be here

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by NamelessGuy »

For some reason now after completing some levels the game removes all lower tier cards even though I have dynamic progression turned off (starting tier 1, max tier 5)

Love the "new hunting grounds" card, brings back the tension to the levels I've completed for thousands of times
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by Cutmanmike »

Dan_The_Noob wrote: do you have a full card compendium somewhere?
Only in game, but if someone wanted to start a wiki or something they could.

Here's the final version before 4.0. The card count is at a nice 150 now, perfect for a release. So this will be the last stretch to fix bugs and features before I can make a stable 4.0... and then start adding new cards again :)



I've also added a new way to play: Master Mode! It will put your knowledge of the Corruption Cards and their effects to the test, and only those who can stomach Chaos mode (such as myself) will enjoy it. Due to the nature of this mode I've locked it if you haven't discovered at least 60 cards. This is to prevent new players from jumping into this one right away and getting frustrated. After all, Doom players have a tendency to go straight for the hardest difficulty setting from the get go ;). This also gives you a little incentive to keep playing and trying new cards you wouldn't usually pick, to try to get them into the compendium.
  • Added Master Mode! You must unlock 60 cards in the compendium in order to play it.
  • Added 2 new cards.
  • Fixed Standard and custom games not respecting card tier limits and difficulty progression.
  • Fixed Spawn Pods being allowed to select bosses as its spawn type.
  • Fixed Forbidden Gaze somehow being above tier 5 in some cases.
  • Fixed a certain wild card being allowed to be offered when it was impossible to occur in a map.
  • Fixed Show Cards button not showing cards.
  • Fixed a bug with card generation not correctly setting species with some card effects.
  • Fixed some issues with Cannibalism and Blood shift relating to mods that scale health.
  • Fixed First Strike visual effect triggering if the monster was already dead.
  • Chicken Hazard now requires 24 chickens to die instead of 30 in order to trigger.
  • Chickens can no longer be killed by telefragging.
  • If monster fall damage is enabled, monsters with the Leap or Invert Gravity enchantment can no longer be damaged by falling.
  • The Specialists added to the New Friends deck.
  • Reduced the amount of Spawn Pods that can spawn per card.
  • Spawn Pods now spawn flying monsters twice as slow as regular monsters.
  • Replaced PreTravelled function to support lower GZDoom versions.
Download 3.8
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Twitch ID: Dan_The_Noob
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [3.6] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your ga

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

Cutmanmike wrote: Sun Aug 07, 2022 10:42 am
  • Reduced the amount of Spawn Pods that can spawn per card.
  • Spawn Pods now spawn flying monsters twice as slow as regular monsters.
can we have spawnpods take less damage to kill? i don't know what they scale off, but they take a while to kill with pistol it seems like.
User avatar
worldendDominator
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun May 17, 2015 9:39 am

Re: [3.8] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by worldendDominator »

I've noticed that when I have the blurry affliction card and pick up a blur sphere, my weapon rapidly switches between visible and "invisible" for the sphere's duration. Can someone reproduce this? I'm playing with a mod so it might be its fault instead.

Edit: Another thing that looks kind of strange (but may not be an actual bug). I'm playing a mod with several monsters per species, I pick a bombardment augment card for a species, and any monster of that species that I haven't encountered yet gets assigned the projectile of the "basic" monster of that species (or possibly the monster that the card applied to - "Revenant and its species" will result in revenant projectiles) even if the actual monster doesn't use that projectile. It seems to change to a proper projectile after I finish a map (although I'm not sure).
My case: I pick bombardment augment for revenant and its species. I summon a sentry (revenant variant that I haven't seen yet) with console. The sentry bombards me with regular revenant projectiles (which it doesn't normally use). I kill it and summon more sentries. At some point they switch from revenant missile to one of theirs.
Do you think this needs a fix, or is it fine to leave alone?

Also, monsters that change their render style (e.g. with temporary phasing/stealth abilities) cancel the effect invisibility enchantment when they do.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [3.8] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Cutmanmike »

worldendDominator wrote: Wed Aug 10, 2022 5:40 pm Edit: Another thing that looks kind of strange (but may not be an actual bug). I'm playing a mod with several monsters per species, I pick a bombardment augment card for a species, and any monster of that species that I haven't encountered yet gets assigned the projectile of the "basic" monster of that species (or possibly the monster that the card applied to - "Revenant and its species" will result in revenant projectiles) even if the actual monster doesn't use that projectile. It seems to change to a proper projectile after I finish a map (although I'm not sure).
My case: I pick bombardment augment for revenant and its species. I summon a sentry (revenant variant that I haven't seen yet) with console. The sentry bombards me with regular revenant projectiles (which it doesn't normally use). I kill it and summon more sentries. At some point they switch from revenant missile to one of theirs.
Do you think this needs a fix, or is it fine to leave alone?
What's happening is CC is yet to "learn" what missile that revenant variant fires, so it grabs whatever projectile it knew about the time the card was generated. CC does a lot of dynamic learning as the game is played, it's the only way the game is able to generate cards like that. It's sort of not fixable, so consider it a minor oddity.
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:25 pm
Discord: Nonemployee#1013
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [3.8] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by mamaluigisbagel »

Is there any chance of having an option to change how wild cards work back to how it used to be? (get all kills and secrets, (maybe items I can't remember) and find the card in the next level) I wouldn't mind the new method of finding a wall that looks odd, if it wasn't for three things.
  • The wall can sometimes be out of bounds
  • I'm not sure if this is possible, but I'm wondering if the wall could be a tiny wall like the side of a teleporter or something
  • This is a fast paced game, so I almost never pay attention to the environment or forget to because I'm too busy trying to survive the chaos
So far I have 124/150 cards, and none of them are wild cards. Its a bit annoying knowing I'm missing out on even more chaos due to the way I play.
User avatar
Dan_The_Noob
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
Twitch ID: Dan_The_Noob
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [3.8] Corruption Cards - Choose cards that alter your game!

Post by Dan_The_Noob »

mamaluigisbagel wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 10:44 am Is there any chance of having an option to change how wild cards work back to how it used to be? (get all kills and secrets, (maybe items I can't remember) and find the card in the next level) I wouldn't mind the new method of finding a wall that looks odd, if it wasn't for three things.

So far I have 124/150 cards, and none of them are wild cards. Its a bit annoying knowing I'm missing out on even more chaos due to the way I play.
I have a similar situation, don't think i've even seen a wildcard come up.
would be cool to just have a toggle to add them in the deck, maybe make them appear MAP01, MAP11, MAP21 or something.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”