Treasure Tech (NEW 1.2 RELEASE!)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Alptraum
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 12:39 pm
Discord: Alptraum#6909
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by Alptraum »

I watched Icarus streaming your mod on Twitch. I gotta say the amount of detail, wholeness and wholesomeness is amazing. It's such a fun mod ^^
retronutcase
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 11:15 pm

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by retronutcase »

I'm loving the mod so far, although I find the recoil a bit grating due to my preference for classic Doom shooting. Is there any way the gun recoil could be made an option that could be toggled on/off? Also, perhaps a multiplier option for money values so it's more feasible to get upgrades on shorter map packs where we may not be swimming in cash by the end?
Last edited by retronutcase on Fri May 22, 2020 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dawnbreez
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 12:29 pm

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by dawnbreez »

I *should* be running gzdoom 4.3.3. I've gotten the error on a couple different mapsets, including vanilla D2. Just tested with the metal music turned off, still got a crash moments after picking up the Titanium Core. The vanilla D2 map it happened on was Tricks and Traps, but I can replicate the crash on Kinsie's testmap ( viewtopic.php?f=42&t=57221 ).
User avatar
HyperUltra64
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:36 am
Discord: 8562

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by HyperUltra64 »

I've had a handful of people attempt to replicate your crash. They can't either. Are you loading anything else with the mod?
User avatar
Combine_Kegan
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:12 am
Location: Hopelessly stuck in the past

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by Combine_Kegan »

Dawnbreez, this is a shot in the dark but have you tried clearing your .ini? When I had Sgt Shivers playtest combined arms he was getting some weird inexplicable bugs that no one else could replicate, and when he cleared his .ini it started working okay
User avatar
AstartesCitizen
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 8:43 am
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 32-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)
Location: The Phalanx

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by AstartesCitizen »

This really gaves that arcade and happy-go-lucky vibe, basically Wario taste for treasure, looting and bum rushing peoples teeth in meets Doom. Cant play it due to not having the thing require to run the latest gzdoom only lzdoom, oh well Ill see if can give it a whirl soon. Congrats for the release.
Irrevenant
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:18 am

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by Irrevenant »

Would you consider having alt-fire put down barrels and bombs?

Oh, I just noticed, in the shop, the final upgrade for shotgun shells still reads 30-40.
Last edited by Irrevenant on Sat May 23, 2020 7:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
dawnbreez
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 12:29 pm

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by dawnbreez »

HyperUltra64 wrote:I've had a handful of people attempt to replicate your crash. They can't either. Are you loading anything else with the mod?
Nope.
Combine_Kegan wrote:Dawnbreez, this is a shot in the dark but have you tried clearing your .ini? When I had Sgt Shivers playtest combined arms he was getting some weird inexplicable bugs that no one else could replicate, and when he cleared his .ini it started working okay
Just tried that, no dice

I'm getting a "Unable to load : Unable to identify as music" error in the console just before the crash. Lemme look inside the pk3...huh. The invuln music is the only mp3 file inside the mod. And I *did* recently switch distros. Maybe I'm missing an encoder...

[EDIT] Converting the .mp3 to .ogg fixed it! Yeah, it's gotta be a missing mp3 encoder on my end.
User avatar
HyperUltra64
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:36 am
Discord: 8562

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by HyperUltra64 »

Sorry about that! Glad you sorted it out though.
DosDoomer
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 9:54 am
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Location: Earth

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by DosDoomer »

I remember that Civvie 11 downloaded this. That's another reason why I'm downloading this.
Mestrophis
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 9:39 pm

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by Mestrophis »

Been playing with this on BTSX, having an absolute blast. That said, I think the Wild Hunter needs a bit more incentive to use it, because it's such a useful weapon and yet trying to whip it out to open up fights is kinda tedious. Would there be a way to reward using the Wild Hunter properly, like on successful kills with it?
Nottheman686
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:54 pm

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by Nottheman686 »

Anybody have some good map suggestions that would work well with this? kinda want something like the tutorial level.
User avatar
Sh4d0wS14d3
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by Sh4d0wS14d3 »

I've had a lot of fun with this mod. The only real problem I have with it is being unable to keep track of the treasures I've picked up.

Or at least, I'm pretty sure I can't go check out a list of treasures that I've collected over several maps. Having a little silly thing like having a music player - and getting a song for collecting a whole 'row' of treasure - that'd also be neat.

(Honestly, it's more that I keep accidentally picking up treasures in the middle of a fight and I didn't get a chance to read them before the text box disappeared. I wanna read what the afro treasure meant!)
User avatar
Khodoque
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:30 pm
Discord: Khodoque

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by Khodoque »

You can combo tackle into ground pound - was that intentional, or just a happy little accident? Got to say, I really like melee combat in this mod. Gunplay is also interesting - guns are powerful, yet temperamental, with lots of neat mechanics.
Nottheman686 wrote:Anybody have some good map suggestions that would work well with this? kinda want something like the tutorial level.
Super Mayhem 17? Though I think Epic 2 and Lost Civilizations are also good fits for this mod (though Epic 2 has custom monsters, as well as new monster sprites - latter can be removed from WAD manually, I guess).
CanisLaticanis
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 4:04 pm
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Eastern US

Re: Treasure Tech (RELEASE 1.01 BUG FIX)

Post by CanisLaticanis »

Khodoque wrote:Though I think Epic 2 and Lost Civilizations are also good fits for this mod (though Epic 2 has custom monsters, as well as new monster sprites - latter can be removed from WAD manually, I guess).
Correction: as far as I know there aren't any new monsters at all, just replaced sprites and sounds - the 'invisible alien' behaves exactly like WolfSS, and the invisibility is done via sprites not a partial invisibility effect.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”