Doom 4 Vanilla 3.2.1 [NEW VERSION] - Compatible with BTSX

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 2.5.9 - NEW VERSION

Postby Phobos867 » Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:23 am

mamaluigisbagel wrote:
Code: Select allExpand view
prboom-plus.exe -iwad doom.wad -file D4V.wad -nodeh -D4V.deh -7_GAUSS.deh

Now note, I'm not used to using bat files, but I've found using them more successful than using ZDL when it comes to this mod on source ports other than GZDoom. Will edit this after a test to see if the extra weapon still works.

You need to add "-deh" before the file, than it should work fine. On ZDL you probably have to find the apropriate place to put the nodeh parameter.
Phobos867
hi.
 
Joined: 25 Sep 2016

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 2.5.9 - NEW VERSION

Postby drfrag » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:57 am

Phobos867 wrote:For RUDE, the drfrag port - added a fitting text for the Unholy Massacre difficulty

Cool, i've just done a new release. :)
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 2.5.9 - NEW VERSION

Postby DosDoomer » Wed Apr 01, 2020 2:51 pm

Do you know any mods that are like this, like one where you can play it on dosbox?
DosDoomer
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2020
Location: Earth
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 2.5.9 - NEW VERSION

Postby Caligari87 » Wed Apr 01, 2020 3:20 pm

"DosBox" is not a Doom engine. It depends on which source port / Doom engine you're using within DosBox. Boom and very old versions of ZDoom work under DosBox, for example, among many others.

If you are meaning "the original DOS doom", then most mods that say as "vanilla" or "vanilla-compatible" should work. You might find more luck at the idgames archive, as most popular mods on this forum are nowadays made for current versions of GZDoom, which does not run under DosBox.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 2.5.9 - NEW VERSION

Postby spforce » Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:29 am

it is possbile to get the mod to work 100% same just without dehacked but with decorate instead but work 100% the same?
because i noticed if i use summon console commands if i will summon fatso (mancubus) it gives revenant and when spawn revenant it gives normal mancubus if i summon cyberdemon it will give cybermancubus that replaces arachnotron if i spawn spidermastermind i get cyberdemon if i spawn arachnotron i get spidermastermind! its ridiculous in icon of sin i saw he can spawn spidermasterminds so this is a really problem
i dont know why the resson it happend beucsae dehacked? it dont make sense so why in game where cyberdemon is placed you see a cyberdemon as placed but only when i use the summon command cyberdemon wont be cyberdemon it gives me it gives me cybermancubus and if i will use summon arachnotron i will get spidermastermind as the monster spawned so only in summon command it will give the wrong monster this shoudlnt happen and is error also it matters even more with that it will make icon of sin to spawn 'arachnotron' but its spidermastermind in fact taking its place making game not fair or beatable in final boss map
so can someone please make the mod in a non dehacked version to get rid of this wrong spawn problems? to work 100% same only not dehacked but in decorate?
there is dehacked to decorate can it help? to get mod work 100% only without dehacked so the summon mess will gone? even with that it only summon wrong monsters when you use summon command but in gamr spawns each place where cyberdemon should be like map 20 he will be where he is only when you use summon cyberdemon i will get the cybermancubus insted that should take the place and if i summon arachnotron i will get spidermastermind instead
and it breaks the game even with that icon of sin will spawn spidermasterminds each time a arachnotron should be but its spidermastermind in fact and when you spawn fatso its revenant when you spawn spidermastermind i get cyberdemon monster insted and revenant summon will give fatso (mancubus) instead
so how this can be fixed?
spforce
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2014

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 2.5.9 - NEW VERSION

Postby Korell » Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:50 pm

spforce wrote:it is possbile to get the mod to work 100% same just without dehacked but with decorate instead but work 100% the same?
because i noticed if i use summon console commands if i will summon fatso (mancubus) it gives revenant and when spawn revenant it gives normal mancubus if i summon cyberdemon it will give cybermancubus that replaces arachnotron if i spawn spidermastermind i get cyberdemon if i spawn arachnotron i get spidermastermind! its ridiculous in icon of sin i saw he can spawn spidermasterminds so this is a really problem
...
so how this can be fixed?

I can confirm that this is the case. It appears that it is due to the monsters being replaced using DeHacked as I found this thread asking if it was possible to replace the custom monster names for summoning.
viewtopic.php?f=122&t=62194
Doesn't look like it works without some kind of DECORATE, though, and unfortunately this project was designed to be able to run in vanilla DOS Doom which is why it uses DeHacked and not DECORATE.
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 2.5.9 - NEW VERSION

Postby spforce » Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:32 pm

so there is two ways or fix it somehow while still using dehacked that is the harder option i thinking if when i summon a cyberdemon it gives me a cybermancubus that should take the place of the arachnotron but also when i summon a arachnotron or the icon of sin spawns it i get spidermatermind insted means i need to do using decorate the replace method? doing: actor arachnotron (that is in fact the spidermastermind) replaces spidermastermind
but the problem is when you summon spidermastermind it gives you the cyberdemon monster while cyberdemon using the spidermastermind so that is a conflict so likely this wont work
it is possbile to make dehacked to not change the summoned names actors while still haveing the changes dehacked do?
option 2 the easyer is to make the mod non dehacked and in only decorate so all monsters done in decorate and convert the dehacked code to decorate using the dehacked to decorate : viewtopic.php?f=232&t=61042
and in this way easly can have the right actors spawned using their name and not being replaced by other actors
beside decorate is better so you can even add more things and not limited like dehacked to repalce only what exit while its vanilla designed but who dont use sourceports anyway today
spforce
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2014

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 2.5.9 - NEW VERSION

Postby Phobos867 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:19 pm

DosDoomer wrote:Do you know any mods that are like this, like one where you can play it on dosbox?

REKKR! :-)

spforce wrote:it is possbile to get the mod to work 100% same just without dehacked but with decorate instead but work 100% the same?

Sorry bud, I prefer to keep it as close to dehacked as possible. I only used decorate when I had to fix something (to simulate the vanilla engine) or to add other minor stuff. I may try to solve the summon issue later on, but that's not a priority right now.
Phobos867
hi.
 
Joined: 25 Sep 2016

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 3.0

Postby Phobos867 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:22 pm

DOOM 4 VANILLA 3.0 RELEASED
with BACK TO SATURN X COMPATIBILITY




I'm very happy to release this update.
I made my best to preserve everything from the mod, including music, skies, level names and interpics.

This version comes with a separated pack using exclusive D4V files and a modified enemy balance thought exclusively for BTSX, like faster and more agressive cyber-mancubi and slower barons. The regular pack was also accordingly updated with other updates. Just for fun, I added the extra weapons for the second episode on the batch file (and some custom decorations). Feel free to remove them if you prefer to play with the default ones.

WARNING:
GZDoom compatibility may be a bit unstable and I consider it in beta state. I may update it later if necessary.

Read the included instructions if want to use GZDoom or other source-ports. There is an specific order to be loaded, so drag and drop is not recommended - you have to use command lines or a launcher.  


command lines:
Spoiler:


Image

DOWNLOAD:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xo788pjhtzt92 ... 0.zip?dl=1

MORE INFORMATION HERE:
https://www.doomworld.com/forum/topic/1 ... nt-2108479

DISCLAIMER: BTSX and D4V are NOT related. Back to Saturn X belongs to Sarah Mancuso and the BTSX Team and it was made without mods in mind. I recommend playing it as intended before trying with D4V or any other gameplay mod.
Phobos867
hi.
 
Joined: 25 Sep 2016

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 2.5.9 - NEW VERSION

Postby spforce » Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:17 am

spforce wrote:it is possbile to get the mod to work 100% same just without dehacked but with decorate instead but work 100% the same?
Phobos867 wrote:Sorry bud, I prefer to keep it as close to dehacked as possible. I only used decorate when I had to fix something (to simulate the vanilla engine) or to add other minor stuff. I may try to solve the summon issue later on, but that's not a priority right now.

if you can only fix the summon issue that do the mess in the summon command in console and it also what makes the icon of sin to spawn spidermastermind buecsae it is the arachnotron in fact it is just enough and no need to do a whole decorate convert as long its fixed
but still the spidermastermind spawned by icon of sin is not fair and should not happen and making it even unbeatable (or very hard if not impossible) it should spawn the cyber mancubus (that takes the arachnotron place) so this make it only even more important to fix
spforce
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2014

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 3.0 [NEW!!] - Compatible with BTSX

Postby Alptraum » Mon Apr 06, 2020 7:29 am

I am happy to see you guys keep updating the mod. One of the best Doom mods ever!! ^^
User avatar
Alptraum
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2019
Discord: Alptraum#6909
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 3.0 [NEW!!] - Compatible with BTSX

Postby spforce » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:42 pm

if using in gzdoom than the right way is to delete in slade the dehacked file that is in the d4v.wad? (instead of using that paramater of not using it) and than just load d4v.deh file after d4v.wad?
spforce
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2014

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 3.1 [NEW!!] - Compatible with BTSX

Postby Phobos867 » Sat Apr 11, 2020 1:57 pm



VERSION 3.1 RELEASED
So, I took some time to improve and correct a few things on the BTSX edition:

DOWNLOAD:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/x3mfi92i37rhi ... 1.zip?dl=1

- Tweaked a bit more the weapon\enemy balance
- Fixed the intermission texts not appearing on Chocolate Doom
- Reduced the cooldown time of the Vortex Rifle
- Fixed some inconscistencies with enemies
- Fixed that cell ammo issue as I previously mentioned
- Fixed the Chainsaw offset
- Some minor things I don't remember right now

I really recommend to update the BTSX edition, so you can have a better experience on the second episode.
Phobos867
hi.
 
Joined: 25 Sep 2016

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 3.0 [NEW!!] - Compatible with BTSX

Postby Korell » Sat Apr 11, 2020 3:39 pm

spforce wrote:if using in gzdoom than the right way is to delete in slade the dehacked file that is in the d4v.wad? (instead of using that paramater of not using it) and than just load d4v.deh file after d4v.wad?

I think you'd also need to remove the DEH file from the mapset file, too, so that it doesn't interfere. The idea with the -nodeh parameter is to stop any dehacked patches within the mapsets from conflicting with D4V's dehacked patches. However, GZDoom doesn't have a -nodeh parameter like other source ports, so it always loads the dehacked patches from all of the addons loaded.
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: Doom 4 Vanilla 3.1 [NEW!!] - Compatible with BTSX

Postby Thorogrimm » Sun Apr 12, 2020 10:22 am

Is there a chance of there being a Doom Eternal for Vanilla?
Thorogrimm
 
Joined: 07 Jun 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests