VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED June 27

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED May 31

Postby Rowsol » Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:29 pm

How about lowering the health of some of the baron variants and moving them to the hellknight spawner.
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED May 31

Postby Plynthus » Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:59 pm

Rowsol wrote:How about lowering the health of some of the baron variants and moving them to the hellknight spawner.


For the neutral monsters only or the main randomizer?

I’ve thought about it before because Baron has so many more.
I’ve probably prioritized Baron because Hell Knight is not in the first Doom.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED May 31

Postby Plynthus » Sat Jun 05, 2021 4:01 am

I hope I'm just missing something obvious, but does anyone know why adding this line crashes the game?:
(bolded and larger text at the "See" state)
Spoiler:

Crashes as soon as Roach sees or hears me.
It doesn't just crash the game, but freezes my computer the way I've had to force shut it down.

Disabling the line below it "ROAC B 0 A_JumpIfInventory("RoachScared", 1, 2)" makes it work fine.

I'm trying to add a limit for Roach. So it can't fully heal more than once. The jump directly to "Death" state is only temporary until I get it to work.
I've added stuff like this before with no problems. Like limiting how many times Incarnate can resurrect.
Can't figure this one out. Why those 2 lines can't be one after another?
I also tried making it a completely separate inventory, but it happened the same way.

It’s fine if my computer crashes while testing. I just don’t want to leave anything in the mod that could do it to others.


Edit:
I managed to do what I needed without solving this issue.:
Last edited by Plynthus on Sat Jun 05, 2021 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED June 5

Postby Plynthus » Sat Jun 05, 2021 2:18 pm

JUNE 5th UPDATE:

-Added an option for non-zombie monsters to also drop ammo.
Options are: OFF, 25% chance, 50% chance, 75% chance, Always, Always + equal chance for every ammo type.
It's OFF by default. It's mainly there as a backup. For example if you're playing something that doesn't have many zombie enemies, you're also not going to get any extra ammo.
Normally ammo drops from monsters will only give you half the value, but these will give full. I'd recommend starting from "25% chance" if you feel like you need it.
Quick example how it works:


-Added a healing limit for Roach(that green imp replacer that has a lot of health), and gave it an additional alternate attack.
It used to be able to heal itself forever.
If you hurt it enough it will trigger a state where it runs away from you until it's healed enough.
Now when that happens, if it manages to heal itself as high as it can. After that it won't be able to heal at all anymore. And will shoot slightly more powerful red versions of its normal shots.

-Doubled the mass of "HereticDarkImp" and "PlaugeImp".
Originally I scaled them to make them bigger to fit better to replace Cacodemon. But I never changed the mass. Now they're still light and will fly further away than Cacodemon when shot, but less than before.

-Moved a replacer: "Lord Of Heresy" from "Baron of Hell replacers" to "Hell Knight replacers" with reduced health.
VDP-NeutralMonsters was also updated for this change.


+some small changes here and there which I didn't write down.


June 8th (very small update)
-Tornado Demon is no longer invulnerable during it's tornado spin attack. And can be interrupted if your attack triggers its pain state.
(this was supposed to be in previous update, but somehow I had missed it)

-Fixed BlindPinky dropping too much ammo when the new "Non-zombie monsters also drop ammo" option was on.

No update for "VDP-NeutralMonsters"



June 27th
-Added a new monster for Spectre:
"KDiZDNightmare"
VDP-NeutralMonsters was also updated for this.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED June 27

Postby Someone64 » Tue Aug 17, 2021 11:13 am

I made a CCARDS.txt lump for use with Corruption Cards. Due to the fact that a lot of monsters don't have species set correctly, Corruption Cards won't properly give species of monsters effects and will instead keep picking individual monsters to give effects to most of if not all the time. The way I set it up might not be perfect or that intuitive. I basically set the monsters to be grouped by their spawn replacers rather than their actual species with the exception of the monster mixers (which are instead grouped with their original spawn replacers). I also might've made some typos (I probably caught most of them. Might only be 1-3 mistakes) because I did this at 1 AM and also got tired of the repetitive CTRL+C and CTRL+V which would make my left hand hurt more than just typing everything out so... I manually typed a third of it out instead (idk either). Should be loaded after CCards and VDP. Feel free to include this in your mod if you wish.

Side question, why don't the monster mixer spawns include rebalanced "vanilla" versions of the Pain Elementals, Hell Knights, and Chaingunners? I can see they're commented out in the spawners but they have no adjusted equivalent. Did I miss them or did you forget to make them when you made the mixer versions of all the variants?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Someone64
 
Joined: 23 Feb 2016

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED June 27

Postby Plynthus » Wed Aug 18, 2021 10:08 am

Someone64 wrote:I made a CCARDS.txt lump for use with Corruption Cards. Due to the fact that a lot of monsters don't have species set correctly, Corruption Cards won't properly give species of monsters effects and will instead keep picking individual monsters to give effects to most of if not all the time. The way I set it up might not be perfect or that intuitive. I basically set the monsters to be grouped by their spawn replacers rather than their actual species with the exception of the monster mixers (which are instead grouped with their original spawn replacers). I also might've made some typos (I probably caught most of them. Might only be 1-3 mistakes) because I did this at 1 AM and also got tired of the repetitive CTRL+C and CTRL+V which would make my left hand hurt more than just typing everything out so... I manually typed a third of it out instead (idk either). Should be loaded after CCards and VDP. Feel free to include this in your mod if you wish.

Side question, why don't the monster mixer spawns include rebalanced "vanilla" versions of the Pain Elementals, Hell Knights, and Chaingunners? I can see they're commented out in the spawners but they have no adjusted equivalent. Did I miss them or did you forget to make them when you made the mixer versions of all the variants?


Wow that's a lot of work you've done for this. Thanks a lot!

But I need to know how the species were not set correctly? And what exactly does it change?
Everytime I add a monster I test them out. And they've all worked, with very few exceptions.
Like some monsters that cause radius damage, hitscan, fire damage, and maybe there was something else. Those damage types cause infighting even when the monsters belong to same species.
Sometimes I've altered those monsters attacks to not include those type attacks. But for few it felt like it would change the monsters too much.
I've tested a lot of that stuff so far and it's been working for me. Other than the few exceptions... Like PyroImp, CGunSpider and one or two Baron replacers that shoot rockets.

Also all the Zombies, Lost Souls, Spider Masterminds infight with their own kind. So I left all that on purpose.


About the side question. I wanted to have them, but I left them out on purpose. Because that's intended for Doom 1.
And I would have to include the sprites and sounds for those enemies in the mod. Otherwise they would be invisible and silent. And I don't think it's exactly legal to share those in a mod.
But then again I do have a lot of Hexen and Heretic stuff there which has the same issue. I had seen them in other monster randomizers, and I added them before I even knew I was going to make this mod available for everyone. But it's still questionable if they should be there at all anymore.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED June 27

Postby Someone64 » Thu Aug 19, 2021 11:12 am

When I was playing CCards it seemed that a lot of effects wouldn't apply to a lot of monsters in the same species for some reason so I decided to make sure. It seems that a few monsters didn't seem to have species set for some reason, too. CCards uses species to apply effects to entire species all at once so for example, if you have a lot of Chaingunner variants in a level CCards will not only apply effects to one of the Chaingunner types but all of the Chaingunner species enemies at once.

Perhaps you can ask a moderator about including sprites and sounds of those enemies for Doom 1? Or would it just be possible to optionally allow loading Doom 2 along with Doom 1? I kinda remember seeing one other mod do that but I can't remember it off the top of my head.
Someone64
 
Joined: 23 Feb 2016

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED June 27

Postby Plynthus » Mon Aug 23, 2021 5:09 am

Someone64 wrote:When I was playing CCards it seemed that a lot of effects wouldn't apply to a lot of monsters in the same species for some reason so I decided to make sure. It seems that a few monsters didn't seem to have species set for some reason, too. CCards uses species to apply effects to entire species all at once so for example, if you have a lot of Chaingunner variants in a level CCards will not only apply effects to one of the Chaingunner types but all of the Chaingunner species enemies at once.

Perhaps you can ask a moderator about including sprites and sounds of those enemies for Doom 1? Or would it just be possible to optionally allow loading Doom 2 along with Doom 1? I kinda remember seeing one other mod do that but I can't remember it off the top of my head.



Ok, I misunderstood everything...
CCards/Corruption Cards is a separate mod. I thought CCards was a ZDoom feature that I just wasn't aware of.
And I thought you made it to fix something that's broken specifically in my mod. And to me the species stuff has been working as intended.
And I was a bit confused when you talked about some effects not applying. Should have just looked it up right away. Sorry.

So then I only have one question. Which I already am 99% sure of.
If you're not playing with CCards, then your CCards file would not have any affect on the game?

If so, I could put it in there with the next update(currently not in the works) and give you the credit.


Also I'll see what I do in the future with those Doom II monsters for monster mixer. I've also seen mods that add Super Shotgun to Doom1. It requires the sounds and sprites as well.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED June 27

Postby Someone64 » Mon Aug 23, 2021 12:17 pm

Plynthus wrote:Ok, I misunderstood everything...
CCards/Corruption Cards is a separate mod. I thought CCards was a ZDoom feature that I just wasn't aware of.
And I thought you made it to fix something that's broken specifically in my mod. And to me the species stuff has been working as intended.
And I was a bit confused when you talked about some effects not applying. Should have just looked it up right away. Sorry.

So then I only have one question. Which I already am 99% sure of.
If you're not playing with CCards, then your CCards file would not have any affect on the game?

If so, I could put it in there with the next update(currently not in the works) and give you the credit.


Also I'll see what I do in the future with those Doom II monsters for monster mixer. I've also seen mods that add Super Shotgun to Doom1. It requires the sounds and sprites as well.


Unless another mod out there is specifically made to use that CCards lump, it shouldn't affect anything.

I've uploaded a new version of the lump file that doesn't include all the card related stuff so nobody has to update the file when new cards are added to Corruption Cards or something. Still have to update it with new monsters if any are added to the randomizer, though.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Someone64
 
Joined: 23 Feb 2016

Previous

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ErrantMasa and 9 guests