VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED AUGUST 12TH

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED JULY 7TH(spawn options add

Postby Turin Turambar » Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:05 pm

The mod (not that new version, the normal one) caused an issue in map 24 (in that room) of the megawad "Struggle: Antaresian Legacy". There was a room where enemies had to spawn and didn't. I repeated the level without the mod and it worked fine. I didn't use the extra version wad.
Turin Turambar
 
Joined: 18 May 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED JULY 7TH(spawn options add

Postby Plynthus » Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:41 am

Turin Turambar

I took a look at that map in GZDoom Builder. The enemy teleport traps have been done in the classic way(unaccessible room filled with monsters that will teleport somewhere in the map when the trap is triggered). No scripting involved.

There are few monsters that don't seem to move much, if at all, unless they see the player.
So it's possible that there was a monster like that blocking other monsters from accessing the teleporter.
Basically you were really unlucky. And it would probably work if you tried again.

That's what I believe could happen.

Or...

I'm not familiar with this wad. But there are added and altered monsters in it?
That could cause some conflicts when also using a monster randomizer.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED JULY 7TH(spawn options add

Postby YasuoProjectX » Mon Jul 29, 2019 7:35 am

Excuse me sir umm....

are you still working about new enemies from Realm667? or any monster from Complex Doom?
User avatar
YasuoProjectX
Dead is like a wind, always by my side!
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2018
Location: Ionia
Discord: Xx_SappHire_xX
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED JULY 7TH(spawn options add

Postby Sgt. Ham » Wed Jul 31, 2019 7:03 pm

Very great mod you have here! But, one problem has irked me since the release. The "natural" lighting of objects like lamp posts are broken when the mod is installed for some reason.

Here's what it looks like without VD+

http://imgur.com/a/2HhWgTh

Here's what it looks like with VD+

http://imgur.com/a/9SA0tXr

If this could be fixed, that would be nice.
User avatar
Sgt. Ham
 
Joined: 16 May 2018

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED JULY 7TH(spawn options add

Postby Plynthus » Sun Aug 04, 2019 3:21 am

YasuoProjectX

Yes, there will be more monsters in the next update. Not that many, but I'll be adding more later as well.
I should have more time to work on this after next week.


Sgt. Ham

Thank you a lot for letting me know of that problem. I wouldn't have come across that myself. Because I never use any special light settings.
I have a theory of what's causing it, and I believe I can fix it. I'll look into it!
Should be fixed in the next update if I'm right about how to fix it. Even if I'm not, I'll try to find a way to fix it.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED JULY 7TH(spawn options add

Postby Rowsol » Sun Aug 04, 2019 3:31 am

The lights don't show up because you're changing the object's name. You'll have to make a copy of lights.pk3 with all the object names altered to match the spawned versions. ie.
Code: Select allExpand view
object TechLamp //change this to TechLamp11
{
    frame TLMP { light BIGLAMP }
}

or simply don't replace objects with dynamic lights attached to them. That's the route I'd go.
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Location: Maryland, US

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED JULY 7TH(spawn options add

Postby Plynthus » Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:39 am

Thank you Rowsol!

Yeah, I thought the reason would be an object name related thing.
But I didn't know where that information was.

It's only little over 10 objects, so I made a "gldefs.txt". And copied only those objects in there and changed the names.

Seems to work right.
Thanks a lot!

Unfortunately I'm very busy this week.
I'll update once I've added couple more monsters and tested little bit more. Probably early next week.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED JULY 7TH(spawn options add

Postby Plynthus » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:40 am

Sgt. Ham wrote:Very great mod you have here! But, one problem has irked me since the release. The "natural" lighting of objects like lamp posts are broken when the mod is installed for some reason.

Here's what it looks like without VD+

http://imgur.com/a/2HhWgTh

Here's what it looks like with VD+

http://imgur.com/a/9SA0tXr

If this could be fixed, that would be nice.


This should be fixed now! The main download link has been updated.
Thanks again for pointing this out.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED AUGUST 12TH

Postby Yebudoom » Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:23 am

Thank you for the update, Plynthus! Gave it a spin last night, all seems to be working well. It's definitely more convenient now, with everything in one file. Also, I had problems with it not working properly with Zagemod before, those problems have now disappeared. Good job.
User avatar
Yebudoom
 
Joined: 24 Jun 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED AUGUST 12TH

Postby Turin Turambar » Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:35 am

It seems the mod has a small incompatibility with Smooth Doom. It mostly works, but there is a pair of errors, like Barons of Hell attack animation missing and the Archviles corpse being wrong. It would be nice if you could get the mod to be compatible with Smooth Doom, as it's one of the most used ones.
Turin Turambar
 
Joined: 18 May 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED AUGUST 12TH

Postby Rowsol » Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:42 am

Turin Turambar wrote:It seems the mod has a small incompatibility with Smooth Doom. It mostly works, but there is a pair of errors, like Barons of Hell attack animation missing and the Archviles corpse being wrong. It would be nice if you could get the mod to be compatible with Smooth Doom, as it's one of the most used ones.


That's a sprite conflict and not worth fixing. If you want smooth weapons with this mod just use Perk's smooth weapons. viewtopic.php?f=43&t=32628
User avatar
Rowsol
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013
Location: Maryland, US

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED AUGUST 12TH

Postby YasuoProjectX » Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:25 am

Omg thanks for new monster update :D

I have last suggestion for you
Spoiler:
User avatar
YasuoProjectX
Dead is like a wind, always by my side!
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2018
Location: Ionia
Discord: Xx_SappHire_xX
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED AUGUST 12TH

Postby namsan » Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:30 am

Hey I like this mod!

I found that this mod conflict with weapon mods that modify clip/shell/cell (this means most of the weapon mods) because this mod override them with randomspawner.
User avatar
namsan
Loves English but hates Revenants
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2012
Location: Japan
Discord: Namsan#8146

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED AUGUST 12TH

Postby Plynthus » Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:41 am

Sorry for taking so long to reply.
I currently don't have much time for games and I started playing other stuff with the time I have.
I haven't played Doom in couple of weeks, but Doom is the kind of game I come back to multiple times a year.
I'll get really into it again soon, I'm sure. That always happen.
So while I'm playing other games I'm probably not going to work on the mod either. As I like to playtest a lot.
There will be updates at some point I promise!


Turin Turambar

I'll look what I could do about it, but I don't think I can fix it easily.
And I'm probably not going to work too much to try to make this compatible with individual mods.
Because there will always be conflicts with something. We'll see!

And thanks Rowsoi for a suggestion of just using Smooth Doom weapons!


YasuoProjectX

I'll check them out as soon as I get back to it.
If you can provide a link to where to download the monsters it would help a lot.
But I'm sure I'll find them if they're available.
Thanks for your suggestion!
(Edit. I've found it. I'll test it at some point and we'll see then!)


namsan

I don't think I can fix that without removing the optional clip/shell/cell replacers completely.
At least I currently don't know a way to do that.
But thank you for the report.
Last edited by Plynthus on Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Plynthus
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2019

Re: VDP-MonsterRandomizer UPDATED AUGUST 12TH

Postby Cyanide » Sun Sep 08, 2019 12:24 pm

If you're still having problems with the baron, mancibus, arachnotron, mastermind ander cyberdemon spawners breaking maps, you're welcome to take a look at the code in Shades of Doom.
User avatar
Cyanide
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2013
Location: 6 ft. under

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bofubutt, Majestic-12 [Bot], Semrush [Bot], UnbornDecay25 and 10 guests