TDBots Mk2 - v1 (11/05/2022)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Discord: TDRR#5820
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by TDRR »

yum13241 wrote:and the error also calls you a moron
It's strangely hilarious seeing someone else say it, lol
yum13241 wrote:

Code: Select all

[enu default]

TDBOTS_RA_WEAPONS = "AutoShotgun;ExplosiveLauncher;AltSuperShotgun;PlasmaGun;OldBFG9000;PreciseChaingun";
TDBOTS_RA_AMMO = "Clip;Shell;RocketAmmo;Cell";
Very strange this didn't work for you. That's a perfectly legal list.
Oh wait, of course. It's broken because I haven't tested it in ages, and forgot to do so after switching to BCS. Tested with DUBG and yup, same issue. Need to correct this when I get the chance.

EDIT: I've also realized that this isn't really the right way to do Rocket Arena. All the pickups still remain on the map, but unfortunately there's no way to remove them universally at the moment with Zandronum compatiblity (well, with 3.1's spawn event it's possible to remove all ammo and armor items from the map, but that locks that feature to Zandronum, and has unnecessary overhead all the time from executing the event script, plus weapons and all other pickups will still remain).
yum13241
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Discord: yum13241#8226
Github ID: yum13241
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by yum13241 »

Like it worked, but it would lag my GZDoom/Zandronum to near death and spams errors in the console and some sort of runaway script gets terminated about setting up bots.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Discord: TDRR#5820
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by TDRR »

Tekunofiria wrote:I'm on GZDOOM v4.5.0 and the bots are struggling against targets on a different height level than themselves. Even on Entryway, they strafe around the starter staircase missing every shot until the zombies get on the same height as the bot. The bots can't kill anybody if they are higher or lower, even by a small margin like the first staircase of entryway. Through coop spy, I saw what the bot could see, and it would aim off-target or down at the floor instead of at the enemy. The bot did fine when fighting the imps in the hallway since they were on the same height, but in the next room with the higher platform, the bot couldn't kill the zombies up there no matter what weapon they spawned with. It happens in DM, too, but strangely enough when I enable the "Player is a TD bot" setting" and restart the map to let a bot control my character, the aim is perfectly normal and the bot aim was perfect regardless of height level. I changed every setting I could, including disabling their AI, but nothing improved their accuracy, only tested using the bots on Doom 2 with no other modifications made.
After some more investigation, I'm happy and also really frustrated to point out that this is not a TDBots bug. It happens without any mods loaded, so it's merely a result of the ZCajun bots not being updated at all since eons ago.
I'm happy because it's not my fault. Frustrated because... I can't really fix it AFAIK. The FaceTarget method has been redone for v31, and I have a lot more control over it, but unfortunately no matter what I do, I just can't get them to aim properly.

Sorry to say, but don't expect a fix for this, um... ever. I doubt I can do anything about it, and if I were to report it, it still won't get fixed because the ZCajun bots are old and unsupported. I'm going to ask anyway- but don't get your hopes up.
Oh yeah and in v31 it's fixed for Zandronum and bots can aim up/down normally there. At least there I got BotScript to help workaround issues with that bot system. In GZDoom? I'm screwed.

Added a note about this to the main post. I'll make it clear that GZDoom is practically unsupported now, too many issues I can't fix make supporting it a wasted effort.
I'll keep it "working" as in you can spawn the bots and they'll do their thing, but expect them to be extremely stupid.
yum13241 wrote:Like it worked, but it would lag my GZDoom/Zandronum to near death and spams errors in the console and some sort of runaway script gets terminated about setting up bots.
Yeah it's not working, really. Ammo is broken this way at least, but it's now fixed for v31.
doomfan
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 5:48 pm

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by doomfan »

With all due respect to the GZDoom team, TDBot obviously works better on Zandronum. :wink:

https://doomwiki.org/wiki/Timeline_of_s ... t_releases
Last edited by doomfan on Tue Jan 18, 2022 5:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
yum13241
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon May 10, 2021 8:08 pm
Discord: yum13241#8226
Github ID: yum13241
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by yum13241 »

Zandronum is nothing but an ancient GZDoom build with Client-Server MP lmao
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12873
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by Rachael »

Please no "source port wars" here. Neither is truly better than the other, they just both have features the other doesn't have.
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 970
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by Redneckerz »

yum13241 wrote:Zandronum is nothing but an ancient GZDoom build with Client-Server MP lmao
That would be a severe misrepresentation of what Zandronum actually does behind the wheels, but i digress.
User avatar
Gustavo6046
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 3:11 pm
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009
Twitch ID: gustavo6046
Github ID: Gustavo6046
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Location: Brazil

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by Gustavo6046 »

Yeah, both have their own purpose and are best fit for some circumstances. Every Doom sourceport has a purpose.

Except Doom95, which just unanimously sucks.... but is still important in the historical sense, so!
LowEndPCGamer100
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 1:48 pm

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by LowEndPCGamer100 »

Loving this bot mod as of late, using with zandro and custom maps and having a blast. Hope this gets another update someday.
Declan210
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2021 6:13 am
Discord: MuteMe#035

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by Declan210 »

LowEndPCGamer100 wrote:Loving this bot mod as of late, using with zandro and custom maps and having a blast. Hope this gets another update someday.
I aggre I've been using it for a few months now only thing I would want would be some AI improvements
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Discord: TDRR#5820
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by TDRR »

It's been 4 months since v30! Really sorry about that, guys.

I'm going to give you all a sneak peek of the complete overhaul coming up very soon, I haven't had much chance to work on it but I think it's currently in a good enough state for a preview build, only need to iron out a couple online bugs.
I'll include some small enhancements to their AI in this build.
.
User avatar
Ferretmanjcdenton
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 5:38 am
Discord: https://discord.gg/hRm8w97
Operating System: Other Linux ARM/PPC/etc
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Location: Germany

Re: TDBots: The SMART update!

Post by Ferretmanjcdenton »

TDRR wrote:Updated! This update packs a good bunch of stuff. Pretty suprising getting from nothing at all to this version in just 2 days!

The bots are now REALLY good at Deathmatch, and quite good at Co-op.

Download link in the OP!

Hey there ..would there be any way to implement an ai script giving bots the ability to use vehicles (I mean the map 'vehicular combat demo')

I am dreaming of a mobile battlefield version playable in single player ..
I mean the conquest matches as an example.. Not the campaign..

2 teams having set amount of tickets and fighting in a big Map ...

Would that be possible ?
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Discord: TDRR#5820
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by TDRR »

I guess it could be done, but more like adding a custom bot state for that and having the mod (or a patch- but I want to phase them out as much as possible) implement the actual functionality for it, as it's too specific to add into the TDBots themselves.

It's a possibility, maybe I'll give it a try myself, later on.
Declan210
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2021 6:13 am
Discord: MuteMe#035

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v30 (06/11/2021)

Post by Declan210 »

TDRR wrote:It's been 4 months since v30! Really sorry about that, guys.

I'm going to give you all a sneak peek of the complete overhaul coming up very soon, I haven't had much chance to work on it but I think it's currently in a good enough state for a preview build, only need to iron out a couple online bugs.
I'll include some small enhancements to their AI in this build.
.
it's good to know your still working on this AI in game as old as this cant be easy to program
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Discord: TDRR#5820
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots Mk2 - Preview (24/02/2022)

Post by TDRR »

Sorry to keep y'all waiting, but hopefully this preview build makes up for it.
It's here, the "sneak peek" of the TDBots Mk2, an almost total rewrite. Now with 100% more mod compatibility out of the box, more aiming up and down, and other great changes. This one is a bit big, but I'd really recommend giving the changelog a read!

Oh, and there's 100% less GZDoom compatibility here, it's officially now a Zandronum bot only.
v30 will stay there for anyone who (for some reason) wants to put up with the buggy mess that is using any bots in modern GZDoom (which is, again, a bug with the port, not the TDBots, and nothing can be done from my side). They should work decently in ZDoom, and older L/GZDoom releases, however.

Some features are currently missing. Remember this is a preview, and mostly the essential things are reimplemented!
Spoiler: Changelog for the TDBots Mk2 preview build
Go grab it in the first post!

Return to “Gameplay Mods”