TDBots Mk2 - v1 (11/05/2022)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
mrgyv
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:37 pm

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by mrgyv »

Hello!

Whery good bot! I have a few questions:

I can play with bot to QC:DE? The bot doesn't fire.
Could you tell about consol command?

I see interesting bot "AutoDoom" Will you do something like this?
Nomekop
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by Nomekop »

Something that I thought about while using this in deathmatch, is that it would be nice to have some way to save the automatically generated nodes when the Bots are learning from the player. Or does the learning process not use nodes?

Regardless, it would be incredibly useful to have, especially if one wanted to manually adjust those nodes later, or are using those nodes as a basis for their projects.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 806
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by TDRR »

mrgyv wrote:Hello!

Whery good bot! I have a few questions:

I can play with bot to QC:DE? The bot doesn't fire.
You can play with the TDBots some QC:DE, yeah, but you need this compatibility patch: https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... DE-v1a.zip
Keep in mind it's for a very old version of QC:DE, and any changes made to the weapons since 2.6 (or 2.7? I forgot) are completely unsupported by this patch. It should still function on the latest version, but not all of the mod's features will work.

It also only works on Zandronum, as this method of "patching" actors is really just a hack (that got removed in GZDoom) to avoid having to re-define every playerclass and then break things even more with next QC:DE updates.
mrgyv wrote:I see interesting bot "AutoDoom" Will you do something like this?
You mean a bot that can beat Doom levels without any help from humans? Unfortunately, that's completely impossible with my skills (I know next to nothing about pathing algorithms) and without ZScript, which I don't plan to add to this mod any time soon.
Nomekop wrote:Something that I thought about while using this in deathmatch, is that it would be nice to have some way to save the automatically generated nodes when the Bots are learning from the player. Or does the learning process not use nodes?

Regardless, it would be incredibly useful to have, especially if one wanted to manually adjust those nodes later, or are using those nodes as a basis for their projects.
Yeah, that's a good idea. I tried it a while ago but when I merged both NODESTUDIO and TDB_Main libraries, a lot of stuff just randomly stopped working, so that might need to wait until I figure out a workaround.
mrgyv
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:37 pm

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by mrgyv »

Thank you. I try to play for Complex Doom v26a2
Sometimes bots don't fire at all. It happened that my character didn't shoot. Very often bots try to fight the melee, and don't use weapon. On the server I write addbot, Server send message "Gustavo does not have a script specified comes. He will not do anything." What am I doing wrong? I downloaded a patch from the header. When loading, I chose to load the patch first, then the bots themselves, then the mod for them from the header, then the maps. Team deathmatch bots don't play. They run after each other. After 20 minutes 0 frags. I think I'm doing something wrong. Please help me.
mrgyv
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:37 pm

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by mrgyv »

mrgyv wrote:Thank you. I try to play for Complex Doom v26a2
Sometimes bots don't fire at all. It happened that my character didn't shoot. Very often bots try to fight the melee, and don't use weapon. On the server I write addbot, Server send message "Gustavo does not have a script specified comes. He will not do anything." What am I doing wrong? I downloaded a patch from the header. When loading, I chose to load the patch first, then the bots themselves, then the mod for them from the header, then the maps. Team deathmatch bots don't play. They run after each other. After 20 minutes 0 frags. I think I'm doing something wrong. Please help me.
It is not mod problem. Bot follow me in original doom.wad. The bot believes that a close attack is the best choice. Why doesn't the bot attack from a distance? Maybe I must turn off something? Where i can see all consol command and what they
mean?
My settings:
tdbots_autonode=true
tdbots_teamgame=false
tdbots_learnfromplayer=true
tdbots_teleportdelaytime=30
tdbots_allowteleport=false
tdbots_usenodes=true
tdbots_follow=true
tdbots_weaponize=0
tdbots_reactiontime=0
tdbots_lessfov=false
tdbots_buff=false
tdbots_easymode=false
tdbots_roamchat=true
tdbots_chat=true
mrgyv
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:37 pm

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by mrgyv »

This happed only when I tund on bot from server. Locally, offline bot works well. I play with bot from zandronum. Please help.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 806
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by TDRR »

mrgyv wrote:What am I doing wrong? I downloaded a patch from the header. When loading, I chose to load the patch first, then the bots themselves, then the mod for them from the header, then the maps.
The text in the mod patches spoiler is very clear about the load order: "Make sure to load TDBots first, then the mod, then the compatiblity patch for best results"
So the patch is meant to be loaded last, not first, weapons won't work if you don't set the correct load order.
mrgyv wrote:On the server I write addbot, Server send message "Gustavo does not have a script specified comes. He will not do anything."
This is perfectly normal, I can fix that "error" (that doesn't actually mean anything bad) but it makes the mod run slower so it's not worth it in my opinion at least.
It only appears because the normal Zandronum bots are disabled, so Zandro prints that message to alert the user, even though it's intentional and won't cause issues.
mrgyv wrote:Sometimes bots don't fire at all. It happened that my character didn't shoot. Very often bots try to fight the melee, and don't use weapon...
...Team deathmatch bots don't play. They run after each other. After 20 minutes 0 frags. I think I'm doing something wrong. Please help me.
These problems are a result of not loading the patch file last.
mrgyv wrote: It is not mod problem. Bot follow me in original doom.wad. The bot believes that a close attack is the best choice. Why doesn't the bot attack from a distance? Maybe I must turn off something? Where i can see all consol command and what they
mean?
Bots don't believe a close attack is the best choice, they just stay at whatever distance they were when they started shooting. The only times they back out is if they're carrying an explosive weapon, and when pushed back by damage. Obviously if the map is too small and cramped, they'll shoot in close range most of the time.
mrgyv wrote:This happed only when I tund on bot from server. Locally, offline bot works well. I play with bot from zandronum. Please help.
I don't know of any differences with the bots when playing online and offline (there shouldn't be any noticeable ones), but I haven't heard anyone having any issues when using the bots online (besides some cosmetical problems that were fixed many versions ago).
combolynch
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 1:51 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Turkey

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by combolynch »

Can you add a compatibility for FINAL DOOMER mod?
mrgyv
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:37 pm

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by mrgyv »

It was hard to reproduce the bug today. The bot kept distance at first. You can see this in the video. Yesterday, I shooted under my feet and bot died every time. But, I can catch a bug. In first part video you can see, that bot try to get closer. Next, I played in offline game. I can see difference.

Video is here: https://yadi.sk/i/BKGdXUKQkmQHoQ

I didn't add any mods. I start only doom2. What is wrong?

You didn't write anything about console commands. It is not possible open meny for control bots when playing online
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 806
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by TDRR »

mrgyv wrote:It was hard to reproduce the bug today. The bot kept distance at first. You can see this in the video. Yesterday, I shooted under my feet and bot died every time. But, I can catch a bug. In first part video you can see, that bot try to get closer. Next, I played in offline game. I can see difference.

Video is here: https://yadi.sk/i/BKGdXUKQkmQHoQ

I didn't add any mods. I start only doom2. What is wrong?

You didn't write anything about console commands. It is not possible open meny for control bots when playing online
Sorry, but the video is too large in filesize, so I can't watch it. But, even if the bug is indeed real (which it probably is), there's not much I can do to fix it myself, best I can get for multiplayer testing right now is opening two game instances, but of course that doesn't work very well.

Bots don't always keep distance either, they do have a chance to come in closer, much more so if their enemy has received a lot of damage without dying.

I didn't say anything about the commands because I didn't think they would be of any use in this situation, but here you go:
tdbots_autonode = Doesn't do anything anymore.
tdbots_teamgame = Doesn't do anything anymore.
tdbots_learnfromplayer = The map learning option, no reason to disable it.
tdbots_teleportdelaytime = Delay for bot teleport "reloading", only works in co-op, need to bind a key.
tdbots_allowteleport = Enable teleporting, same rules as teleportdelaytime.
tdbots_usenodes = Use waypoints, must be on for learnfromplayer.
tdbots_follow = Does nothing in Zandronum, ZDoom-only feature.
tdbots_weaponize = Gives up to Xth slot to the bots at every spawn.
tdbots_reactiontime = Reaction time, recommend to keep it low (or 0) and only increase it if the bots are too hard to kill. (maybe causes your issue?)
tdbots_lessfov = Reduces bot field of view to 120 degrees instead of 360 degrees. (maybe causes your issue?)
tdbots_buff = Bots regenerate ammo and health if enabled.
tdbots_easymode = Makes the bot's aim worse (maybe causes your issue?)
tdbots_roamchat = Enable bots chatting when idle.
tdbots_chat = Enables bot chatting.
mrgyv
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:37 pm

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by mrgyv »

You don't need to opening two game instance. I write what I did in the video. I run doomseeker and create server. That I join in this server and wright in server consol "addbot"...
I zip video (16mb):
https://yadi.sk/d/t74c-BWi5kvrTQ
User avatar
The Strife_Rebel
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 2:13 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Minor Outlying, US

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by The Strife_Rebel »

Man, these are EXCELLENT, I wish I knew about this mod Earlier.
User avatar
fin4455
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 9:19 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by fin4455 »

Hello again, I'm trying to make a Mod Compatible Patch for MM8BDM, I'm not sure what i did wrong as the Bots don't fire.
User avatar
TDRR
Posts: 806
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:15 pm
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Venezuela

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by TDRR »

fin4455 wrote:Hello again, I'm trying to make a Mod Compatible Patch for MM8BDM, I'm not sure what i did wrong as the Bots don't fire.
Neither can I know what's wrong without seeing the code.
User avatar
shimotsuki_yumi
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2020 4:40 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: TDBots: The fast-performing bots v26c (10/10/2020)

Post by shimotsuki_yumi »

Hello. I wanted to know if it is possible for bots to shoot down a cacodemon since it only approaches and closes its distance instead of killing it. Zdaemons' bots could do it but the bots here couldn't. Is there some configuration or additional files I need to download for this? Thanks

Return to “Gameplay Mods”