Use To Pickup

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by ramon.dexter »

argv wrote: I forgot to check if a line in the way is one-sided! Whoops. Pushed out a fix.
Now it's wonderful :D Great, many thanks! :wub:
argv
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:47 pm

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by argv »

Quick update! I fixed the bug where you couldn't pick up some items unless you turned the mod off, fixed several other bugs, and did some performance optimizations.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by ramon.dexter »

Hi, can you please merge the source code into ONE file? It is really troubling to have bazilion of files for just one functinality...

I know it is better for you te have multiple files. But hey, I have one source file for every new functionality. This would mean I would require like 11 files for just one functionality? This is little bit insane.

Also, if I could insist, move the bracket.svg into /graphics/usetopickup. There is really no need to have separate folder for just one graphic file, while we have the graphics folder, suited for such purposes. The zscript files could be moved into /zscript/usetopickup/ folder.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17439
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by Nash »

Dumping everything into a single file would definitely make things harder to maintain for argv. Plus looking at the source hierarchy, it looks much tidier, more organized and easier to work with multiple files. Personally I would not even consider jamming all of that code into 1 file!
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by ramon.dexter »

Yeah, nevermind. I just was little bit suprised that I had one file and now I have seven files. :)
argv
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:47 pm

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by argv »

Images put under “graphics” may conflict with other mods (specifically, any other mod that has a graphic named “BRACKET”), regardless of subfolder structure (another mod's “graphics/othermod/bracket.png” would conflict with my “graphics/usetopickup/bracket.png”, despite the different subfolders). I put it in a different folder in order to avoid that possibility.

The code was in one file until recently. I split it out because it was getting unmanageable. I could revert, but I'd really rather not. Why is it an issue for you? Are they not organized under the “gzdoom-use-to-pickup” folder anyway?
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2088
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by phantombeta »

argv wrote:Images put under “graphics” may conflict with other mods (specifically, any other mod that has a graphic named “BRACKET”), regardless of subfolder structure (another mod's “graphics/othermod/bracket.png” would conflict with my “graphics/usetopickup/bracket.png”, despite the different subfolders). I put it in a different folder in order to avoid that possibility.
This is very incorrect. Yes, it'll conflict if you use 8 character names, but you could just as well use the full path, in which case the only way to replace the graphic would be to have a graphic with the same exact name, path and extension.
argv
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:47 pm

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by argv »

phantombeta wrote:This is very incorrect. Yes, it'll conflict if you use 8 character names, but you could just as well use the full path, in which case the only way to replace the graphic would be to have a graphic with the same exact name, path and extension.
It'll also conflict if someone else uses 8 character names. I'm trying to avoid stepping on anyone's toes here.
User avatar
Batandy
Posts: 1277
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:56 am

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by Batandy »

This is really sweet, i'm using it for a thing i was working on.
Image
Quick question, is there any way i can increase the player's pickup range?
I used to modify this line

Code: Select all

if (distTo > PlayerPawn(viewer).UseRange)
to this

Code: Select all

if (distTo > PlayerPawn(viewer).UseRange + 32)
But now that i've updated it to the last version, i can't find it anymore
User avatar
Josh771
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:36 am
Location: Elsewhere.

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by Josh771 »

Hey! I really love this nifty little mod you've got here; I was hoping to ask about one little tiny feature possibility.

Could you make the "<Key> Pickup" prompt optional? I'd love to just have the brackets and item tag visible.

EDIT: Also, when making my own UseToPickup.ini file, do literal tags need to be in double quotes? Like tag="Item Name"?
User avatar
Sh4d0wS14d3
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 2:35 am

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by Sh4d0wS14d3 »

I've been screwing around with this myself, and as fun as it was to make my own INI for Guncaster and the like, I was wondering:

Is there a way to allow auto-pickup of items on a condition? Like the player HP being less than 50, or having none of a particular ammo.
User avatar
camper
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:53 am
Location: Tatarstan

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by camper »

Great modification. I started with several mods at once and found that I can throw fists from the inventory (lol)
User avatar
::Bloodfury::
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:39 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Finland

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by ::Bloodfury:: »

Batandy wrote:This is really sweet, i'm using it for a thing i was working on.
Quick question, is there any way i can increase the player's pickup range?
I used to modify this line

Code: Select all

if (distTo > PlayerPawn(viewer).UseRange)
to this

Code: Select all

if (distTo > PlayerPawn(viewer).UseRange + 32)
But now that i've updated it to the last version, i can't find it anymore
I would also be interested to have a possibility to increase pickup distance.
On it's current state, you have to be very close to the item. And during intense
moments, it can be annoying or fatal because you cannot pick multiple items in
a haste. like row of clips etc.

An option to customize the item description text position would be nice to.
both lines centered.

Or just an option that displays "Use to pickup" string under the item name, instead of showing keybinded infos.

Nevertheless, outstanding work! :)
User avatar
SHayden
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:03 am
Location: Europe

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by SHayden »

I'm either getting something wrong about this mod or it's not working for me...whatever I do it still picks up items normally without any prompts or such :?

edit: nevermind, I restarted and (somehow) it works now :P
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Use To Pickup

Post by StroggVorbis »

Could you make the AlwaysTouchPickup scan toggleable in a future update? Right now I set the scan frequency to an absurd high number like 126000 (one hour) if I don't want it, but every time I restart it gets set to 10.

Also, I'd like the option to prevent the player from grabbing items through fences or other linedefs which block movement.
Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Mods”