Page 7 of 8

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:43 am
by Tormentor667
Tormentor667 wrote:What does this exactly do?

Forgot about it - it's fun :)

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 4:20 am
by Neophyte_Ronin
Now that we have something that approximates "Vintage DOS Doom", there will be the occasional complete n00b who will ask some questions regarding performance. Namely: now that everything looks like pixellated shi-uh, I mean Goodness... does this mean that the other stuff that GZDoom does will not be taxing graphics cards or CPUs? I mean, I put this toggle on the F5 key and insist that it works like the old days when your CPU started bogging down to nothing.

Looks mighty cool, though, and very handy. I'll give it that. I prefer my tech to look ancient yet flow like butter, you know.

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:30 am
by Caligari87
This may give some performance improvements as it disables many graphical effects by default. However, the rendering backend used by GZDoom still has minimum requirements, and the underlying game simulation is still far more complex than vanilla Doom. Personally I would consider this retro look just that: A look.

8-)

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:18 am
by Agitatio
For anyone still trying to get Status Bar to look right in 4:3, just set Status Bar Scale to "Scale to Fullscreen". That should be one of the options in VE in my opinion.

Also "Auto" as one of the options for HRTF in VE would be appreciated.

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2020 6:40 pm
by Neophyte_Ronin
You know, if we never evolved Doom Source Ports to include different or brighter forms of lighting, then we'd never have those really big and sprawling maps because you CAN'T SEE ANYTHING IN 320x200p! Weird way to see what graphical fidelity does to a game if "improved" over time.

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:54 am
by guitardz
Is there any option to for this to auto activate on startup so I don't have to remember to hit my toggle key?

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:18 pm
by Neophyte_Ronin
Forget that. Is there a way to prevent Vanilla Essence from switching to Traditional Doom Automap colors and retaining the Custom ones?

EDIT: Never mind--found it. However, it says "Map Colour Set" as opposed to "Automap Colour Set" and looks small enough to overlook. I imagined it wasn't a feature, even though the program switched the colors to Traditional Doom.

I still like this mod. The trouble is that nothing modern takes the resolution into account. While this makes Brutal Doom look pretty good overall, the more ambitious maps operate on a level of visual fidelity that's more than, "Where's my glasses?" I doubt that any serious speed-runner would impose Vanilla Essence's baseline restriction upon their runs.

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:50 am
by ozy
This mod is great! Thanks for making it.

Is there a way to automatically enable the settings without pressing a hotkey? Personally I would prefer to default to vanilla settings and turn it off as needed.

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 10:52 pm
by Phobos867
Great mod! I love how customizable it is

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:38 am
by CykaBear
hi i'm having problems with the mod it doesn't look like the images are all shiny and there are no low resolution textures

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2020 4:45 am
by sdaa
Rocket Launcher visual bug in Struggle: Antaresian Legacy with this mod.

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:31 am
by Hydra Spectre
With Intel "HD" Graphics, with Vanilla Essence On, it still renders in whatever resolution LZDoom is set at (in my case, 720x540p) and it still isn't pixellated.
I'm not sure if this is a problem with Intel Integrated Graphics or with the OpenGL renderer in LZDoom.
And another problem is that the lighting is much brighter than playing DOOM with DOSBox.
I hope someone can send me an older version of GZDoom which supports DirectX 9 or 10.

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:44 am
by Rachael
Hydra Spectre wrote:or with the OpenGL renderer in LZDoom.

It's this.

Or rather to be more specific - your hardware's lack of support for the needed features. If you're stuck using LZDoom, then chances are your hardware is so old that it doesn't support the shaders that this uses - and is actually part of the reason why support for that hardware was dropped in the first place - these features have become essential to GZDoom functioning properly.

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 11:15 am
by zenlikecreature
I love Vanilla Essence... is there any chance for 320x200 automap?

Re: Vanilla Essence 4.3: 320x200p support! More bugfixes.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 12:19 pm
by null9052
Why is this in Gameplay mods? This should go in Shaders