[v0.9.0] ZetaBot: The ZScript Bot

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby GiraffeMan » Thu Jul 26, 2018 12:15 am

I'm a literal retard and don't know how to operate this mod. I load it up and nothing's changed. How do I actually play this mod? Please and thank you.
User avatar
GiraffeMan
 
Joined: 29 Jun 2018
Location: The UAC Phobos Base.

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby killbotvii » Fri Jul 27, 2018 11:01 am

GiraffeMan wrote:I'm a literal retard and don't know how to operate this mod. I load it up and nothing's changed. How do I actually play this mod? Please and thank you.

So I also didn't know what to do, but I figured it out. Just open the console and type "addbot" without the "s. Every time you type that, it adds one bot to your game. It can go up to 8 bots, I believe.
killbotvii
 
Joined: 03 Jun 2015

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby vólentiæn » Sat Jul 28, 2018 2:04 am

these are still better than zandronum bots
User avatar
vólentiæn
2 many poltergeists
 
Joined: 26 Mar 2016
Location: Neuss, Germany
Discord: Reineke #6077

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby XASSASSINX » Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:25 pm

GiraffeMan wrote:I'm a literal retard and don't know how to operate this mod. I load it up and nothing's changed. How do I actually play this mod? Please and thank you.


Lol, me too. Also, If you type "Spawn Zetabot" it also works, But they're... Weird. Just use addbot. Also, Why they're using that weird cape?

EDIT: Is there any way to see the path module? Or a way to delete it? It's very confusing to use it.
XASSASSINX
 
Joined: 20 Dec 2016
Location: MURICAA BROTHER! Just kidding, Brazil.

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Gustavo6046 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:05 pm

killbotvii wrote:
GiraffeMan wrote:I'm a literal retard and don't know how to operate this mod. I load it up and nothing's changed. How do I actually play this mod? Please and thank you.

So I also didn't know what to do, but I figured it out. Just open the console and type "addbot" without the "s. Every time you type that, it adds one bot to your game. It can go up to 8 bots, I believe.


addbot adds a GZDoom bot.
Numpad 1 or "spawnfriend zetabot" adds a ZetaBot.

If you don't like these bindings, just set them in the bottom of the controls.

There's also a zb_debug CVar. It's undisclosed what it does :wink:
User avatar
Gustavo6046
 
Joined: 13 May 2017
Location: In an urban area in Brazil.
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby GiraffeMan » Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:20 pm

killbotvii wrote:
GiraffeMan wrote:I'm a literal retard and don't know how to operate this mod. I load it up and nothing's changed. How do I actually play this mod? Please and thank you.

So I also didn't know what to do, but I figured it out. Just open the console and type "addbot" without the "s. Every time you type that, it adds one bot to your game. It can go up to 8 bots, I believe.

Didn't work. When I type it in apparently there are no more bots left in bots.cfg. What do I do?
User avatar
GiraffeMan
 
Joined: 29 Jun 2018
Location: The UAC Phobos Base.

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby TDRR » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:48 pm

I want to add support for these in my mod, but, how do i do that?
EDIT: The mods i want to add support for are DUBG and my TBA mod that involves quite a few player classes, althrough both need to be 1.8.6 compatible so if possible i would like to make a compat. patch that doesn't need an specific load order, but this isn't 100% necessary.
User avatar
TDRR
A living work in progress
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2018
Location: Venezuela
Discord: TDRR#5820
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Gustavo6046 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:44 pm

GiraffeMan wrote:Didn't work. When I type it in apparently there are no more bots left in bots.cfg. What do I do?


Uh, you don't use "addbot". You type "summon ZetaBot 0" (or you press the numpad 1 key if you have the default bind).

TDRR wrote:I want to add support for these in my mod, but, how do i do that?
EDIT: The mods i want to add support for are DUBG and my TBA mod that involves quite a few player classes, althrough both need to be 1.8.6 compatible so if possible i would like to make a compat. patch that doesn't need an specific load order, but this isn't 100% necessary.


You need to know ZScript. You will need to create some bot classes that reflect the new player classes, and change some CVars so that the new bot classes you make (for the player classes) are loaded appropriately. If your mod has new weapons, make Zeta versions of them as well.

ZScript means we probably don't support ZDoom 2.8.1 that much (if at all).
User avatar
Gustavo6046
 
Joined: 13 May 2017
Location: In an urban area in Brazil.
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Gustavo6046 » Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:43 pm

v0.3.0 is out! Now it can open doors, lifts, etc! If only I could record this in video...

And yes, it can exit levels on its own. It's just shit to navigate :P
User avatar
Gustavo6046
 
Joined: 13 May 2017
Location: In an urban area in Brazil.
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby JPL » Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:27 am

Not sure what this project's current status is, but I just tried out 0.3.0 in latest GZDoom and got this fatal error on startup:
Code: Select allExpand view
gzdoom: gzdoom/src/scripting/backend/codegen.cpp:2319: virtual ExpEmit FxPostIncrDecr::Emit(VMFunctionBuilder*): Assertion `ValueType == Base->ValueType && IsNumeric()' failed.
User avatar
JPL
 
 
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2012

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Kaptin » Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:02 pm

May i ask you where i can download 0.3.0? Your link only provides 0.2.0 not to mention there is no changelog, no official instructions literally nothing not even screenshots also your mod is broken and won't load in Gzdoom
Script error, "ZetaBot_v0.2.0.pk3:zetacode/weaponsupport/zetaweaponmodule.zsc" line 17
So please fix your mod thanks.
User avatar
Kaptin
 
Joined: 08 Sep 2018
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby JPL » Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:19 am

Kaptin wrote:May i ask you where i can download 0.3.0? Your link only provides 0.2.0 not to mention there is no changelog, no official instructions literally nothing not even screenshots also your mod is broken and won't load in Gzdoom
Script error, "ZetaBot_v0.2.0.pk3:zetacode/weaponsupport/zetaweaponmodule.zsc" line 17
So please fix your mod thanks.


I downloaded 0.3.0 from this Github page: https://github.com/Gustavo6046/ZetaBot/releases

Judging from the thread the mod is still in early development, and the author might have taken a break; go easy.
User avatar
JPL
 
 
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2012

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby _mental_ » Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:27 am

JPL wrote:Not sure what this project's current status is, but I just tried out 0.3.0 in latest GZDoom and got this fatal error on startup:
Code: Select allExpand view
gzdoom: gzdoom/src/scripting/backend/codegen.cpp:2319: virtual ExpEmit FxPostIncrDecr::Emit(VMFunctionBuilder*): Assertion `ValueType == Base->ValueType && IsNumeric()' failed.

Assertion failures inside the engine should be reported to Bugs subforum. They often indicate logic errors and/or edge cases without proper handling.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby JPL » Thu Mar 07, 2019 10:37 am

_mental_ wrote:Assertion failures inside the engine should be reported to Bugs subforum. They often indicate logic errors and/or edge cases without proper handling.


Ah ok, will do. It didn't initially occur to me that it might be a GZDoom bug.

edit: bug filed
Last edited by JPL on Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JPL
 
 
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2012

Re: ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby muhnwalker » Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:21 am

Hi,

I get the following error with GZDOOM 3.7.2:

Script error, "ZetaBot_v0.2.0.pk3:zetacode/weaponsupport/zetaweaponmodule.zsc" line 17:
Type mismatch in function argument

muhnwalker
muhnwalker
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2017

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ValeriePalerie, yaboi and 14 guests