[v0.9.0] ZetaBot: The ZScript Bot

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Gustavo6046 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:42 pm

Done. I hope NoFile.io works for you :)
User avatar
Gustavo6046
 
Joined: 13 May 2017
Location: In an urban area in Brazil.
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Vertigo » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:43 pm

The nofile link works for me.

When I try to run the pk3 with the latest GZDoom SVN it's crashing to desktop every time (Very Fatal Error) :? Which version are you using / can anyone get it to run?
User avatar
Vertigo
Psychonaut
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Melodica » Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:00 pm

Vertigo wrote:The nofile link works for me.

When I try to run the pk3 with the latest GZDoom SVN it's crashing to desktop every time (Very Fatal Error) :? Which version are you using / can anyone get it to run?


It seems to work fine on 3.2.5, wich I downgraded to to test it. Some feedback, their speed seems to be greater when compared to the player.
User avatar
Melodica
 
Joined: 14 Feb 2016
Location: Chile

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Gustavo6046 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:07 pm

Melodica wrote:their speed seems to be greater when compared to the player.


I have an idea: I'm doing a BotThrust function that divides subtracts the amount by the current velocity, thus efficiently setting a max speed.
User avatar
Gustavo6046
 
Joined: 13 May 2017
Location: In an urban area in Brazil.
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby TheNightATK300 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:40 pm

I cannot download for some reason...
User avatar
TheNightATK300
Teh person.
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2016
Discord: XSlayer300#2323

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Gustavo6046 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:07 am

There are two download links, are you sure you tried both of them?
User avatar
Gustavo6046
 
Joined: 13 May 2017
Location: In an urban area in Brazil.
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby TheNightATK300 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:48 am

Eh, the other link works. So I'm fine, I still have startup crash though, when playing on GZDoom g3.3pre-662-gde0a81521.
User avatar
TheNightATK300
Teh person.
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2016
Discord: XSlayer300#2323

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby _mental_ » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:54 am

I can check why it crashes if someone will provide a better link, on hosting which doesn't require authentication and does work through my proxy.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Gustavo6046 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:55 am

Try playing on the stable version (instead of SVN). These Very Fatal Errors are pesks, and I rarely manage to fix them.

Well...

Hopefully this new version I just uploaded (now only NoFile is available) works for that as well! It has a bunch of fixes.

_mental_ wrote:I can check why it crashes if someone will provide a better link, on hosting which doesn't require authentication and does work through my proxy.


There is NoFile.

----------

EDIT: Either way, why the heck do these errors not occur for me?
User avatar
Gustavo6046
 
Joined: 13 May 2017
Location: In an urban area in Brazil.
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby epiccolton26 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:43 pm

Vertigo wrote:The nofile link works for me.

When I try to run the pk3 with the latest GZDoom SVN it's crashing to desktop every time (Very Fatal Error) :? Which version are you using / can anyone get it to run?


Having this problem too. Didn't work with 3.2.5 or 3.3.0 after I updated the my GZDoom copy in case that was the cause, also ran the x64 editions if that helps any.
User avatar
epiccolton26
a.k.a. The Dark Star
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Location: The depths of space, destroying entire solar systems

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby _mental_ » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:04 am

Gustavo6046 wrote:why the heck do these errors not occur for me?

Because they are falling into undefined behavior category caused by bugs in the engine.
One of them is still not fixed. Another one has been fixed today.
Both cases can solved by editing ZScript code though.

To avoid the first issue change
Code: Select allExpand view
CVar.GetCVar("zb_wtypes").GetString().Split(wmodules, ";");
at zscript.bot:158 to something like
Code: Select allExpand view
string tmpstr = CVar.GetCVar("zb_wtypes").GetString();
tmpstr.Split(wmodules, ";");

Do the same for ZetaCode/PawnClasses/ZetaBotPawn.zsc:34

Add the third argument for two Vec3Angle() calls in ZetaCode/Pathing.zsc to workaround the second problem.
The default value (i.e. double z = 0) wasn't handled properly there.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.1a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Rachael » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:14 am

Er, Gustavo6046, regarding this -
_mental_ wrote:I can check why it crashes if someone will provide a better link, on hosting which doesn't require authentication and does work through my proxy.

I'll give you a subdomain on DRD Team if it will stop you from using such horrible hosts to store your files. :|
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.1a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby _mental_ » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:32 am

Gustavo6046, you have GitHub account. Why don't you use GitHub to host all your projects?
Instead, you are providing poorly versioned download links located on some random hosting. But why?

GitHub offer almost everything open source developers need at zero price.
For example, I can leave comments for lines of code mentioned in my previous post.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.1a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby Gustavo6046 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:24 am

Fine, I think I'll use GitHub.
Does PK3 support XZ compression? Or is it just ZIP?
User avatar
Gustavo6046
 
Joined: 13 May 2017
Location: In an urban area in Brazil.
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.1a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Postby wildweasel » Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:58 am

Gustavo6046 wrote:Fine, I think I'll use GitHub.
Does PK3 support XZ compression? Or is it just ZIP?

PK3 is just ZIP, and I'd recommend using only the default (deflate, IIRC?) settings for it - the more advanced algorithms cause programs like SLADE to assume the archive is broken.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lagi and 15 guests