[v0.11.1-rc2] ZetaBot: The ZScript Bot

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Gustavo6046
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 3:11 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by Gustavo6046 »

Done. I hope NoFile.io works for you :)
User avatar
Vertigo
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:27 pm

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by Vertigo »

The nofile link works for me.

When I try to run the pk3 with the latest GZDoom SVN it's crashing to desktop every time (Very Fatal Error) :? Which version are you using / can anyone get it to run?
Melodica
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 10:35 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Location: Chile

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by Melodica »

Vertigo wrote:The nofile link works for me.

When I try to run the pk3 with the latest GZDoom SVN it's crashing to desktop every time (Very Fatal Error) :? Which version are you using / can anyone get it to run?
It seems to work fine on 3.2.5, wich I downgraded to to test it. Some feedback, their speed seems to be greater when compared to the player.
User avatar
Gustavo6046
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 3:11 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by Gustavo6046 »

Melodica wrote:their speed seems to be greater when compared to the player.
I have an idea: I'm doing a BotThrust function that divides subtracts the amount by the current velocity, thus efficiently setting a max speed.
User avatar
TheNightATK300
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 7:21 pm

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by TheNightATK300 »

I cannot download for some reason...
User avatar
Gustavo6046
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 3:11 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by Gustavo6046 »

There are two download links, are you sure you tried both of them?
User avatar
TheNightATK300
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 7:21 pm

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by TheNightATK300 »

Eh, the other link works. So I'm fine, I still have startup crash though, when playing on GZDoom g3.3pre-662-gde0a81521.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by _mental_ »

I can check why it crashes if someone will provide a better link, on hosting which doesn't require authentication and does work through my proxy.
User avatar
Gustavo6046
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 3:11 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by Gustavo6046 »

Try playing on the stable version (instead of SVN). These Very Fatal Errors are pesks, and I rarely manage to fix them.

Well...

Hopefully this new version I just uploaded (now only NoFile is available) works for that as well! It has a bunch of fixes.
_mental_ wrote:I can check why it crashes if someone will provide a better link, on hosting which doesn't require authentication and does work through my proxy.
There is NoFile.

----------

EDIT: Either way, why the heck do these errors not occur for me?
User avatar
epiccolton26
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 5:52 pm
Location: The depths of space, destroying entire solar systems

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by epiccolton26 »

Vertigo wrote:The nofile link works for me.

When I try to run the pk3 with the latest GZDoom SVN it's crashing to desktop every time (Very Fatal Error) :? Which version are you using / can anyone get it to run?
Having this problem too. Didn't work with 3.2.5 or 3.3.0 after I updated the my GZDoom copy in case that was the cause, also ran the x64 editions if that helps any.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.0a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by _mental_ »

Gustavo6046 wrote:why the heck do these errors not occur for me?
Because they are falling into undefined behavior category caused by bugs in the engine.
One of them is still not fixed. Another one has been fixed today.
Both cases can solved by editing ZScript code though.

To avoid the first issue change

Code: Select all

CVar.GetCVar("zb_wtypes").GetString().Split(wmodules, ";");
at zscript.bot:158 to something like

Code: Select all

string tmpstr = CVar.GetCVar("zb_wtypes").GetString();
tmpstr.Split(wmodules, ";");
Do the same for ZetaCode/PawnClasses/ZetaBotPawn.zsc:34

Add the third argument for two Vec3Angle() calls in ZetaCode/Pathing.zsc to workaround the second problem.
The default value (i.e. double z = 0) wasn't handled properly there.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13575
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.1a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by Rachael »

Er, Gustavo6046, regarding this -
_mental_ wrote:I can check why it crashes if someone will provide a better link, on hosting which doesn't require authentication and does work through my proxy.
I'll give you a subdomain on DRD Team if it will stop you from using such horrible hosts to store your files. :|
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.1a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by _mental_ »

Gustavo6046, you have GitHub account. Why don't you use GitHub to host all your projects?
Instead, you are providing poorly versioned download links located on some random hosting. But why?

GitHub offer almost everything open source developers need at zero price.
For example, I can leave comments for lines of code mentioned in my previous post.
User avatar
Gustavo6046
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 3:11 pm
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.1a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by Gustavo6046 »

Fine, I think I'll use GitHub.
Does PK3 support XZ compression? Or is it just ZIP?
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA 0.1.1a] ζetaBots: The ZScript Bot

Post by wildweasel »

Gustavo6046 wrote:Fine, I think I'll use GitHub.
Does PK3 support XZ compression? Or is it just ZIP?
PK3 is just ZIP, and I'd recommend using only the default (deflate, IIRC?) settings for it - the more advanced algorithms cause programs like SLADE to assume the archive is broken.
Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Mods”