Complex DooM (updated 17/01/19)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby Daedalus » Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:53 pm

Chainsaw Melee wrote:I think icons for Weapon upgrades and perks should be changed, am still thinking about the weapon upgrade ones but for perks you could use DooM 64 Megasphere (The one with DooM Guy's helmet), as it reassembles our hero and gives him extra "Powers" , i know it's just cosmetic stuff but current icons look kinda out of place. I always liked that everything in Complex was DooMish and fitting together like a jigsaw puzzle. I mean, spheres never tell you how the work you just memorize them, you could use different colors for different perks. As for weapon upgrade icons, maybe rocket ammo boxes with pictograph of weapon they upgrade.


Completely agree on the upgrade boxes or something along the lines of that, instead of weapons with icons. There have been a ton of players confused as to why they couldn't pickup a weapon upgrade, though I cannot blame them mostly because they are identical to the actual weapon pickups.

The perk pickup as it is right now is a placeholder, thats why its out of place, heh. It was quickly rushed (/cheaply copied from a CoD game) simply because I'm not sure what to have perks look like, I doubt I'll have them as sphere pickups but I'll figure something out for them.
User avatar
Daedalus
 
Joined: 23 Nov 2017
Location: UK

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby epiccolton26 » Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:48 pm

I'm noticing that when I start up a map on a new game upon starting up GZDoom, I get 4 messages that spam "GZDoom doesn't support execution of console commands from script", but other the mod is fine. I'm going to take a quick guess and say this is an issue on the GZDoom side of things, since this doesn't happen with Zandronum.
User avatar
epiccolton26
a.k.a. The Dark Star
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Location: The depths of space, destroying entire solar systems

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby worldendDominator » Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:48 pm

Yes, that's because ZDoom doesn't support ConsoleCommand function. For the same reason, switching to vanilla effects mode doesn't work either. It's an open question why Daed still uses that instead of just setting cvars directly.
User avatar
worldendDominator
 
Joined: 17 May 2015

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby Chloroxite » Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:11 pm

Love the new update. However I am not the most sure about the new combat shotgun sounds. One one hand, it really is a good sound, on the other hand it reminds me too much of something else...
Joking aside, I think the original was just better, but this is personal preference. I also feel like the old DemonTech Rifle's sound was better, but again, personal preference.

If I really feel like it I can just replace the sounds myself.

As for positive sound changes, I like the new pistol sound. In general the pistol seems a whole lot more responsive.

Let's go away from personal preferences.

I love the idea of being able to upgrade weapons, as it adds a sense of progression to the mod. I like some of the finer details such as power-ups being given a HUD element to tell you how much time is remaining on them (and its clean too), and I like the changes to rail gun zombies. Now they are much more dangerous damage wise, but are still relatively low threat.

EDIT: Crap I said combat shotgun didn't I? I meant Assault shotgun. Keep getting those mixed up for some reason.
Last edited by Chloroxite on Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Chloroxite
 
Joined: 01 Jun 2017
Discord: #8429

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby Daedalus » Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:48 pm

worldendDominator wrote:Yes, that's because ZDoom doesn't support ConsoleCommand function. For the same reason, switching to vanilla effects mode doesn't work either. It's an open question why Daed still uses that instead of just setting cvars directly.


Daedalus wrote:
DabbingSquidward wrote:I can't test right now, so I wanted to ask if the performance toggle now works in GZDoom, because prior versions achieved this via CVAR manipulation, which GZDoom doesn't allow, unlike Zandronum.


Yes, you should be able to toggle it via the mods menus (ESC > Mod Stuff).


:roll: The mod is primarily for Zandronum, toggling with console command works on Zan and is better to toggle on the fly while in an online game where the ESC key doesn't pause the gameplay.

@Chloroxite, yeaaaah some of the new sounds were probably not needed.
User avatar
Daedalus
 
Joined: 23 Nov 2017
Location: UK

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby Frits » Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:47 pm

Cool finally a thread for complex, hope I'm not too late for feedback heh :)

[Items]
- Why are there random locations on item respawns? Items that were neatly in a line are now a chore to pick up.
- The quick hands sprite (the weapon switch drop) looks really out of place compared to everything else

[Monsters]
- Love the railgun targeting, truely awesome and allows for better monster reading!
- Imp and pinky charges can damage a player across monster blocking midtextures/lines, while the itself monster never comes into contact with the player.
- Give the cardinal a different DoomEd number please, spacewars is full of cardinals D:

[Weapons]
- Something that has bothered me for quite some time are the weapon selection orders. Right now they aren't the best when you get caught with your pants down.
- For Slot 7: BFG should be selected before DTBFG. The latter is a situational gun that requires some planning to use anyway. Having a DTBFG punishes the player with slower access to the stock BFG.
- For Slot 6: The preferred order would be DTrifle > Plasma > Rail. The reasoning being that high fire rate guns are the goto guns in a pinch. Due to its low fire rate and clipsize the railgun should be the last one in the selection.
- For Slot 5: RL before GL, again the RL is the more useful gun in most situations.
- The BFG reload is a just little bit too slow.
- Can't stack mines anymore, possibly this was changed to stop abusing monsters for teleing in? :|

Keep them updates coming man.
Last edited by Frits on Thu Dec 28, 2017 4:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Frits
 
Joined: 26 Apr 2014

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby epiccolton26 » Sun Dec 24, 2017 1:56 pm

Another small gripe I've been having is with the assault rifle. I find it weird that it fires in the same way as the vanilla DooM chaingun, firing two shots instead of one, especially when the gun operates on a 40+1 magazine. It just seems out of place, especially on a mod like this.

Edit: Noticed that the AR uses a FireHold state. It's probably just me, but it still feels odd to me.
User avatar
epiccolton26
a.k.a. The Dark Star
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2014
Location: The depths of space, destroying entire solar systems

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby JustSomeGuy » Fri Jan 05, 2018 12:47 pm

Enjoying the new version so far but in my opinion the grenade trajectory was a lot better in v26. In v27 the grenade feels really uncontrollable like its being thrown at full force. As a result it often flies over enemies heads if they stand a bit closer to the player. The only way to stop this from happening is to aim on the ground which kind of defeats the purpose of aiming a throw to begin with.
JustSomeGuy
 
Joined: 27 Dec 2017

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby Silentdarkness12 » Sat Jan 27, 2018 9:58 am

Running into a crash on startup regarding the tracers.

Code: Select allExpand view
Script error, "complex-doom.v27a3.pk3:sfx.dec" line 146:
Parent type 'Tracer' not found in SGTracer
Script error, "complex-doom.v27a3.pk3:sfx.dec" line 158:
Parent type 'Tracer' not found in TerminatorTracer
Script error, "complex-doom.v27a3.pk3:sfx.dec" line 159:
Parent type 'Tracer' not found in MonsterTracer
Script error, "complex-doom.v27a3.pk3:sfx.dec" line 161:
Parent type 'Tracer' not found in MonsterTracer3


The reason why is because Tracer is now a very specific thing to ZDoom in new dev builds and can't be considered an actor. Renaming Tracer and the references fixed it.
User avatar
Silentdarkness12
Level 7: ZScript Victim
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2013
Location: Plains of Pride

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby Doominator2004 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:17 pm

I don't know why, but the link you sent for v27 of complex doom just leads me to a page that says this site can't be reached. could you update the link so that it works?
Doominator2004
 
Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Discord: francescamaria #3249

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby wildweasel » Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:23 pm

Doominator2004 wrote:I don't know why, but the link you sent for v27 of complex doom just leads me to a page that says this site can't be reached. could you update the link so that it works?

Does the link in the first post not work for you?
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby Daedalus » Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:19 pm

Sorry I haven't been replying to this, I've went on another break playing other games after a short comeback.

I will update it now and again though and take feedback from here into account.

Frits wrote:Cool finally a thread for complex, hope I'm not too late for feedback heh :)

[Items]
- Why are there random locations on item respawns? Items that were neatly in a line are now a chore to pick up.
- The quick hands sprite (the weapon switch drop) looks really out of place compared to everything else

[Monsters]
- Love the railgun targeting, truely awesome and allows for better monster reading!
- Imp and pinky charges can damage a player across monster blocking midtextures/lines, while the itself monster never comes into contact with the player.
- Give the cardinal a different DoomEd number please, spacewars is full of cardinals D:

[Weapons]
- Something that has bothered me for quite some time are the weapon selection orders. Right now they aren't the best when you get caught with your pants down.
- For Slot 7: BFG should be selected before DTBFG. The latter is a situational gun that requires some planning to use anyway. Having a DTBFG punishes the player with slower access to the stock BFG.
- For Slot 6: The preferred order would be DTrifle > Plasma > Rail. The reasoning being that high fire rate guns are the goto guns in a pinch. Due to its low fire rate and clipsize the railgun should be the last one in the selection.
- For Slot 5: RL before GL, again the RL is the more useful gun in most situations.
- The BFG reload is a just little bit too slow.
- Can't stack mines anymore, possibly this was changed to stop abusing monsters for teleing in? :|

Keep them updates coming man.


Items:
-Items do that because of the ammo respawn cvar I put in, it was to remove the need to load the ammo respawning addon I did for it. I should've fixed the it before releasing but I never thought it would be much of an issue.
-Yeah, as I said, and was pointed out by another guy, the perk pickup (and the weapon upgrade pickups) will be changed eventually, it is more of a placeholder as it is now.

Mobs:
-The pinky/imp/famine lunge attack needs to be reworked yeah, they are slightly better than they were from 26a2 but they still do that crap you pointed out.
-No clue whats going on with that Cardinal spawning on SW, I had a server up with it shortly before I took another break and they didn't spawn anymore than their random chance.

Weps:
-The weapon selection order, eeeeh, they have been that way ever since and I doubt I'd change them now.
-Agree on the BFG reload speed, having it reload now (I should have did the reload on it when I started adding reloadable weapons) is a major nerf to the weapon. I will buff it on next release.
-The mine stacking was removed for not only that reason, but it was silly to be able to stack endless mines on top of each other.

@epiccolton26 The AR is the CG replacement though, I doubt I'd remove the chaintap ability from it now after this long.

@JustSomeGuy Yeah, heh. A few people are still confused about the grenade arc change but the old arc was goofy and they were thrown beneath the crosshair. What I plan on doing eventually, is giving the player the ability to hold grenades, the longer you hold them the further they are thrown, the mines will get the same treatment.

@Silentdarkness12 I will also sort this out in the next release, thanks for pointing it out.

The download on the first page works for me, though I've noticed TSPG randomly goes down and or can't be reached sometimes, it was most likely that.
User avatar
Daedalus
 
Joined: 23 Nov 2017
Location: UK

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby m8f » Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:09 pm

Hi!
I'm having a fun time with this mod!
To help with managing complex arsenal, I added Weapon Selection Menu support for Complex Doom.

Edit: should landmine and hand grenade be in weapon menu? It seems they appear as selectable weapons only after IDKFA, at other times they are accessible only with key binds.
User avatar
m8f
the dreamer
 
 
 
Joined: 29 Dec 2017
Discord: m8f#0629
Github ID: mmaulwurff

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby zheg » Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:47 pm

with quickhand perks, you should reload fast aswell :v
User avatar
zheg
 
Joined: 07 Mar 2016

Re: OFFICIAL Complex DooM Thread (Nov 26 Hotfix)

Postby Major Cooke » Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:56 pm

Daedalus, I've sorted out the remaining WAD contents for you in the attached file.

All you'd have to do is delete the two WAD files in your mod and copy the contents over directly from this attached PK3 to CD's.

I recommend this to help avoid memory issues, although I wonder why you are including DooM's blood/slime/water/turd/lava textures in it.

Also, the "cd_cl_vanillamode" CVAR is missing.
Attachments
CDSortedWadContent.pk3
(113.54 KiB) Downloaded 92 times
User avatar
Major Cooke
Do unto others as you would have unto you. Judge yourself first.
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests