Doom Loot Box Mod

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
SoundOfDarkness
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:53 pm
Location: at home

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by SoundOfDarkness »

Forikelm
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:49 pm

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Forikelm »

I'm running into an error when I try to launch the mod (great work on it, it's trolly as all hell).

Script error, "DoomLootBox.pk3:zscript.lootbox.txt" line 74:
Unknown identifier 'bSPRITEFLIP'

Execution could not continue.

1 errors while parsing DECORATE scripts

Anyway to fix this?
User avatar
Rip and Tear
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 3:54 pm
Operating System: Mac OS w/ M1 Processor

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Rip and Tear »

Forikelm wrote:I'm running into an error when I try to launch the mod (great work on it, it's trolly as all hell).

Script error, "DoomLootBox.pk3:zscript.lootbox.txt" line 74:
Unknown identifier 'bSPRITEFLIP'

Execution could not continue.

1 errors while parsing DECORATE scripts

Anyway to fix this?
What port and version are you using?
Forikelm
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:49 pm

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Forikelm »

Rip and Tear wrote:
Forikelm wrote:I'm running into an error when I try to launch the mod (great work on it, it's trolly as all hell).

Script error, "DoomLootBox.pk3:zscript.lootbox.txt" line 74:
Unknown identifier 'bSPRITEFLIP'

Execution could not continue.

1 errors while parsing DECORATE scripts

Anyway to fix this?
What port and version are you using?
gzdoom 2.5pre. Should I download a newer version and try it?
User avatar
Rip and Tear
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 3:54 pm
Operating System: Mac OS w/ M1 Processor

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Rip and Tear »

Forikelm wrote:
Rip and Tear wrote:
Forikelm wrote:I'm running into an error when I try to launch the mod (great work on it, it's trolly as all hell).

Script error, "DoomLootBox.pk3:zscript.lootbox.txt" line 74:
Unknown identifier 'bSPRITEFLIP'

Execution could not continue.

1 errors while parsing DECORATE scripts

Anyway to fix this?
What port and version are you using?
gzdoom 2.5pre. Should I download a newer version and try it?
Yes, I would recommend upgrading to the latest version of GZDoom and see if the problem persists.
Forikelm
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:49 pm

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Forikelm »

That works. Thank you!
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Discord: DoomRater#6308
Location: WATR HQ

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by DoomRater »

Even Spawn Wave had to mention this gem. But that gives me a different thought... How would people go about *fixing* Loot Boxes? Would you give your blessing on a contest focused around modding this mod into something that's actually fun to play?
User avatar
SoundOfDarkness
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:53 pm
Location: at home

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by SoundOfDarkness »

Is this another mod that has some evil zscript sorcery? Because it's not really working with Zandro.
User avatar
Rip and Tear
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 3:54 pm
Operating System: Mac OS w/ M1 Processor

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Rip and Tear »

SoundOfDarkness wrote:Is this another mod that has some evil zscript sorcery? Because it's not really working with Zandro.
Yep, this mod is heavily reliant on ZScript. You'll need to use the latest version of GZDoom.
User avatar
MartinHowe
Posts: 1962
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 1:50 pm
Location: Waveney, United Kingdom

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by MartinHowe »

ROTFLMAO!!! Awesome pisstake :p
User avatar
Rip and Tear
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 3:54 pm
Operating System: Mac OS w/ M1 Processor

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Rip and Tear »

I've released an update for this mod that improves a few things

Updated download link included in the first post.

Improved support for weapon mods
This mod should now properly support mods that replace Doom's weapons. Modified weapons will be replaced with loot boxes, and can drop from loot boxes. However, it is still not compatible with mods that modify enemies. Modified enemies will not drop keys.

Heretic support
You can now use this mod to ruin Heretic, too. More thematic sprites included.
User avatar
Zhs2
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:29 pm
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Zhs2 »

If having mod monsters drop crate keys is a desired feature, may I make a(n untested) suggestion (based on your dropchance tiering) (to throw out all of those clunky direct replacements)?
Spoiler: Keydropper example
yes I know this means D'Sparil can drop keys but eh, it's a minor amusement
User avatar
Rip and Tear
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 3:54 pm
Operating System: Mac OS w/ M1 Processor

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Rip and Tear »

Zhs2 wrote:If having mod monsters drop crate keys is a desired feature, may I make a(n untested) suggestion (based on your dropchance tiering) (to throw out all of those clunky direct replacements)?
Spoiler: Keydropper example
yes I know this means D'Sparil can drop keys but eh, it's a minor amusement
That's not a bad idea, but that doesn't solve the issue of Shotgun guys and Heavy weapon dudes dropping weapons.
User avatar
Zhs2
Posts: 1236
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:29 pm
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by Zhs2 »

I gotchu fam. This code is actually tested and was brainstormed over a couple hours for use with possibly any weapon mod out there (creds to PhantomBeta for assisting with puzzling out some GetReplacee bullshit). This code also goes into a WorldThingSpawned event, like the one currently in your mod:

Code: Select all

        if(e.thing && e.thing.bDROPPED) {
            Class<Actor> replacee;
            if(e.thing.GetClass() != Actor.GetReplacee(e.thing.GetClass())) {
                replacee = Actor.GetReplacee(e.thing.GetClass());
                while(replacee != Actor.GetReplacee(replacee)) {
                    replacee = Actor.GetReplacee(replacee);
                }
            }
            if(e.thing.CheckClass("Shotgun") || replacee == "Shotgun") {
                e.thing.A_DropItem("Shell");
                e.thing.Destroy();
            }
            else if(e.thing.CheckClass("Chaingun") || replacee == "Chaingun") {
                e.thing.A_DropItem("Clip");
                e.thing.Destroy();
            }
        }
Could add more cases for more vanilla weapons if desired (to account for monsters that drop chainsaws or RLs), but that's just a simple matter of adding to the if-else chain :)
User avatar
GeneralDelphox
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:17 am
Discord: General Delphox#5567
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Doom Loot Box Mod

Post by GeneralDelphox »

I would request a change on how this mod modifies the hud. It's kinda annoying that this mod overrides the custom huds of certain gameplay mods.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”