Shades of Doom v2.0 - The Spice of Life (03/11/19)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby dljosef » Fri Jan 12, 2018 2:56 pm

Found that Chaos Mode's working fine.

I'll be looking forward to whatever's next. (Neat icon, by the way.)
User avatar
dljosef
Brutal Doom? Nope, I don't care.
 
Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Location: Deep underground

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Brohnesorge » Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:26 pm

Excellent. With that fixed, I can safely say this is one of my favorite monster mods.
User avatar
Brohnesorge
Release date: Eventually
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2016
Discord: #7624
Twitch ID: brohnesorge1
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby dljosef » Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:51 pm

For the weapon pack equivalent to this mod, I say the pistol start enforcement's necessary to avoid the whole "me-too" trap.
User avatar
dljosef
Brutal Doom? Nope, I don't care.
 
Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Location: Deep underground

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Whoah » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:26 pm

Do you happen to have a playable beta or anything for the weapon mod, Cyanide? I'd love to test it.
User avatar
Whoah
Absolute unit
 
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Location: R'lyeh. Cthulhu fhtagn.

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Cyanide » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:26 pm

dljosef wrote:For the weapon pack equivalent to this mod, I say the pistol start enforcement's necessary to avoid the whole "me-too" trap.

Right now my prototype gun-mod rolls one time for a full play-through. So the weapons will not change every map.

Also, what's the "me-too" trap?
Whoah wrote:Do you happen to have a playable beta or anything for the weapon mod, Cyanide? I'd love to test it.

I've only made one weapon for every slot. I'd like to at least make 2-3 variants for each weapon before I release anything. But I'll try to remember to PM you when that's done, if you want me to. :)
User avatar
Cyanide
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Location: 6 ft. under

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Whoah » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:53 pm

Yeah, that works!
User avatar
Whoah
Absolute unit
 
Joined: 13 Apr 2017
Location: R'lyeh. Cthulhu fhtagn.

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby dljosef » Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:06 pm

The "me-too" trap is when two different sets of weapons for the same weapon tier are identical in terms of function. (At least that's how I see it.)

Well, I suppose the once-per-playthrough thing'll work fine. But what if the level set in question split the maps into episodes? (Like Valiant, for instance? Particularly the vaccinated edition that allows mod compatibility)
User avatar
dljosef
Brutal Doom? Nope, I don't care.
 
Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Location: Deep underground

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Doctrine Gamer » Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:19 pm

Brohnesorge wrote:Excellent. With that fixed, I can safely say this is one of my favorite monster mods.


It has become my favorite pack of enemies for me as well.
User avatar
Doctrine Gamer
Holger Danilchenko
 
Joined: 30 Jan 2013

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Cyanide » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:10 pm

dljosef wrote:The "me-too" trap is when two different sets of weapons for the same weapon tier are identical in terms of function. (At least that's how I see it.)

Well, I suppose the once-per-playthrough thing'll work fine. But what if the level set in question split the maps into episodes? (Like Valiant, for instance? Particularly the vaccinated edition that allows mod compatibility)

Thanks for the info.
For your question - I guess I'll have to make an option to retain weapons through multiple new games (if it's possible).

On a more general note - I have only just started tinkering with the weapon mod I've mentionen. Until I've made a new post way in the future, I'd like to keep this post to the topic it's intended for. :) I do dig the enthusiasm though, so feel free to PM me if you wan't to give suggestions to the weapon mod. Thank you all.
User avatar
Cyanide
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Location: 6 ft. under

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Doctrine Gamer » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:49 pm

Will this weapons pack be skins like this mod? Cool idea .... Shade of Weapons?
User avatar
Doctrine Gamer
Holger Danilchenko
 
Joined: 30 Jan 2013

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Someone64 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 8:35 am

Why are the patches for Eriguns necessary? Are these for the older non-zscript versions of them? The current 2.0.0 versions don't really replace any monsters it seems. It uses a unidrop script to drop stuff from any custom Masterminds and Cybies.
Someone64
 
Joined: 23 Feb 2016

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Cyanide » Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:33 am

Someone64 wrote:Why are the patches for Eriguns necessary? Are these for the older non-zscript versions of them? The current 2.0.0 versions don't really replace any monsters it seems. It uses a unidrop script to drop stuff from any custom Masterminds and Cybies.

I've just tested both Eriguns 1 & 2 with the latest GZDoom devbuild, and it seems that my mod clashes with both of them, preventing Masterminds and Cybers from dropping weapons. When playing with the patch, everything works just fine. I just realized that choosing between standart and extendet arsenal in Eriguns 1 doesn't work with my mod, though. So if you want the standart arsenal, don't load the patch...
User avatar
Cyanide
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Location: 6 ft. under

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Gorec » Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:43 am

some revenants shoot missiles way too low(fiend shoots from his hips)
also jimmy s jukebox doesnt work with this for whatever reason,when the level starts music stop and when you go to jukebox map to change things you cant its not working
User avatar
Gorec
 
Joined: 09 Feb 2016
Location: )()()()()()()()()()()()(

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Cyanide » Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:41 am

Gorec wrote:some revenants shoot missiles way too low(fiend shoots from his hips)

Thanks. Will be fixed for next release.
Gorec wrote:also jimmy s jukebox doesnt work with this for whatever reason,when the level starts music stop and when you go to jukebox map to change things you cant its not working

Hmmm. I have no idea why that happens. I'll have to take a look at the Jimmy's Jukebox code to see if I can figure it out.
User avatar
Cyanide
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Location: 6 ft. under

Re: Shades of Doom v1.0.2 - Chaos Mode fixed... I think

Postby Gez » Sun Jan 14, 2018 11:15 am

The issue with the jukebox is the issue you get into any time different ACS libraries have global variables. They use the same and mess up with each others' values.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dukayv, MSN [Bot] and 23 guests