D4D - v3 Alpha 8.8 Final (11/22/2020)

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Credits mode (Again!?)

Keep as is
25
31%
Modify: Doom 2016-esque (see p. 49)
52
64%
Modify: Other (explain please)
0
No votes
Remove
4
5%
 
Total votes : 81

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby Major Cooke » Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:37 am

Also, today, I begin working on the new game mode. I'll rip out some of the new effects from D4T and implement upgrades dropping from monsters.

However, unlike all the other options, this one will require starting a new game in order to take effect.

  • Credits will turn into Crates Available and will be uncommonly granted by enemies.
  • Crate upgrades will be known as Crate Quality upgrades.
  • Credit upgrades will change to Crate Drop Chance upgrades.
  • Upgrade menu is not available for this game mode. Even if someone bypasses it, it's useless to try and purchase anything with it.
  • Enemies will very rarely drop upgrades.
  • Picking up weapons you already own may or may not supply an upgrade.
  • When fully upgraded, upgrades turn into caches which supply health, armor and ammo. May wind up biasing entirely towards one of the three, two of the three, or balancing out between them all.
User avatar
Major Cooke
QZDoom Maintenance Team
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby Major Cooke » Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:32 am

Spider masterminds now have a different drop rate for their runes. This does not affect any other monster.

  • The base chance for dropping a rune is now 100% in common, 50% in rare.
  • The base chance is divided by the number of other spider masterminds found on the map upon death.

I did this because the spider mastermind is the rarest enemy of all, and as such, it should be rewarding for killing them. You can expect the spider mastermind will become a bit tougher though: Soon, it'll be able to intercept the player's movement much like Doom 16.
User avatar
Major Cooke
QZDoom Maintenance Team
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby TechnoDoomed1 » Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:39 pm

Awesome! The upcoming changes seem promising. :3:
TechnoDoomed1
 
Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Location: Spain

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby mamaluigisbagel » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:33 pm

So random question, what is Bleeding Edge? I'm assuming its the new game mode you were talking about, or maps considering there was a set in the link. (If its the gamemode, then that was faster than I thought it would take O_o) Speaking of which, I was gonna try the pk3 out of curiosity but not sure what to download :P
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
"If I ever have kids, they're going to come out circle-strafing." ~Civvie 11
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2014
Discord: Nonemployee#1013
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby Major Cooke » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:34 pm

No. Bleeding edge means what you see in the github is what you'll be downloading. Bugs and all. If you don't want to deal with them, stick with the d4d.pk3 I posted up.
User avatar
Major Cooke
QZDoom Maintenance Team
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby mamaluigisbagel » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:38 pm

Okay, wanted to make sure. I guess it doesn't really sound like the name of a gamemode or mapset so I don't really know why I figured that. Thanks for clearing that up.
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
"If I ever have kids, they're going to come out circle-strafing." ~Civvie 11
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2014
Discord: Nonemployee#1013
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby Major Cooke » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:39 pm

Bleeding edge is often used to describe super super early releases that most likely than not may contain issues, yet grants some very neat features immediately. Prepare to report things if something crashes though or doesn't work -- like the fucking ledge grabbing.
User avatar
Major Cooke
QZDoom Maintenance Team
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby mamaluigisbagel » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:43 pm

So would you recommend (as far as trying to help the mod) using that version? Obviously if I just want to have fun, I'd use the original one on the first post.
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
"If I ever have kids, they're going to come out circle-strafing." ~Civvie 11
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2014
Discord: Nonemployee#1013
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby Major Cooke » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:46 pm

If you want to help and hunt bugs, use the bleeding edge and report things on the github issue tracker. That or the D4D.pk3 (which isn't 2.0.3 mind you).

If you want to keep with absolute saneness, 2.0.3 is the way to go. :P
User avatar
Major Cooke
QZDoom Maintenance Team
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby mamaluigisbagel » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:52 pm

Who needs sanity? :twisted: Will try BE version then, probably doing full playthroughs of each official WAD and coming back afterwards if I find anything. (otherwise I may be editing my posts forever)

Any things to try while I'm doing that? (example: getting all mods/upgrades, certain options, etc?) I assume most bugs are found just by playing but just in case :P
User avatar
mamaluigisbagel
"If I ever have kids, they're going to come out circle-strafing." ~Civvie 11
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2014
Discord: Nonemployee#1013
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby Clownman » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:05 pm

I hate to complain but the HUD is all fucked on my end. I'm using the latest GZDoom git build and I tried changing it to several resolutions and restarting to no avail.
Spoiler:

This is the usual resoultion I play on and it used to work fine until I upgraded GZDoom: The crosshair is misaligned and the ammo count is too far to the right.
Last edited by Clownman on Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Clownman
I'm not gonna fight you... I'm gonna kick your ass.
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2011
Location: USA

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby Major Cooke » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:28 pm

That image is waaaaay to large man. Please put it in a spoiler.

As for misaligned huds and all, post the specs of your machine. I don't have that issue myself, you seem to be one of a kind with this problem. Try with other mods besides D4D.
User avatar
Major Cooke
QZDoom Maintenance Team
 
Joined: 28 Jan 2007

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby Clownman » Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:19 pm

I have tried other mods and they work perfectly fine. UDV especially.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Clownman
I'm not gonna fight you... I'm gonna kick your ass.
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2011
Location: USA

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby narical » Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:43 pm

Clownman wrote:I hate to complain but the HUD is all fucked on my end. I'm using the latest GZDoom git build and I tried changing it to several resolutions and restarting to no avail. The crosshair is misaligned and the ammo count is too far to the right.

Options -> HUD -> Stretch status bar / Stretch fullscreen HUD
Easy! ))
narical
 
Joined: 26 Jan 2017

Re: D4D - v3 Alpha 1 (1/15/17) [DRDBuilds]

Postby apollo11w » Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:02 pm

I'm getting a fatal error on GZdoom 2.3.2:
Code: Select allExpand view
Script error, "D4D.pk3:zd4d/powerups.txt" line 32:
Unexpected identifier
Expecting ';' or ','
apollo11w
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2016

PreviousNext

Return to Gameplay Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GeneralDelphox and 7 guests