Page 3 of 24

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 11:07 am
by iSpook
Viscra Maelstrom wrote:i don't recognize some of those enemies from this port. Famine, for example. it makes me think of the hellified Revenant the way it's described, but the Revenant spawner is replaced by the Accuser.


Yeah someone pointed that out to me, whoops. It's fixed now.

CorSair wrote:I don't like these new malbouges. They are bullet sponges, in addition of being sluggish in their movement, thank goodness for that. But they are now way too fast for my liking.


Fixed as well, sorry about that.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:20 pm
by Zhs2
Group of enemies? L1. Single large enemy? L1. Couple of large enemies? L1. Lost souls AHAHAHAHA FUCK YOU. Boss replacement AHAHAHAHA FUCK YOU EVEN HARDER.

This mod is an exercise in shooting things with guns that actually have ammo. The L1 40mm grenade launcher always seems to have max ammo because enemies always drop 40mm pickups always. The worst thing to remember, however, is the fact that the L1 actually shoots a spread of five clusters and so firing it in a tight space where you may actually be standing next to a wall is a huge fuck you. Also the fact that the player is slowed is really obvious from the fact that you can't open the rocket launcher secret in MAP01 without jumping, which is actually worth it because the L1 is the best weapon in the game because it can do in two shots what the SPAS does in six except fuck you. Did I mention fuck you?

Also, is there a reason the crossbow uses 6 ammo but only fires 3 bolts? It could be a better, more ammo efficient weapon otherwise.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:53 pm
by Princess Viscra Maelstrom
the crossbow might become too powerful if it'd use up less ammo, i think. it's very useful against groups of weak enemies, having it use up less ammo would be probably make it stronger and more ammo-efficient than the Spaz, maybe.

the only weapon i've found to be truly useless now, after reading all the weapon-descripts, is the revolver. even with the carbine, the 9mm pistol is actually more useful than it against single weak enemies. i didn't know about the scope, but if i wanted to use a scope, i'd just use the rifle. the L1 is very, very useful in contrast, though. powerful and lots of ammo available.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:49 pm
by Ed the Bat
Redefining every map in MAPINFO causes problems for any PWAD map that doesn't follow the same rules. The only change I see being made is the intermission screen, so couldn't that be done on its own without explicitly defining it in each map? I know you seem to want different pictures for Ultimate Doom and for Doom II, but frankly they look so similar, I imagine you could just use one picture for both.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:05 pm
by -Ghost-
Ed the Bat wrote:Redefining every map in MAPINFO causes problems for any PWAD map that doesn't follow the same rules. The only change I see being made is the intermission screen, so couldn't that be done on its own without explicitly defining it in each map? I know you seem to want different pictures for Ultimate Doom and for Doom II, but frankly they look so similar, I imagine you could just use one picture for both.


Yeah, I was playing Unloved and I think this messed with the level transitions, since I'd always get an intermission screen instead of just moving to the next level from the hub.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 5:32 pm
by iSpook
Uploaded a new version that fixes a ton of stuff and addressed the bugs mentioned so far. Check the first post for the link.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:02 pm
by Ed the Bat
May I request that weapons be edited so that I don't have to select them when they're empty? I'd actually be willing to help make that happen.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:12 pm
by iSpook
Ed the Bat wrote:May I request that weapons be edited so that I don't have to select them when they're empty? I'd actually be willing to help make that happen.


To be honest I've thought about it, but I'm trying to keep it Compatible with Zandronum, so It's probably not going to happen, sorry.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:12 pm
by Ed the Bat
Why wouldn't it still be compatible with Zandronum? WEAPON.Ammo_CheckBoth is as old as ZDoom 2.4.0. Isn't Zandronum 2.0 about on par with ZDoom 2.5.0?

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:21 pm
by Princess Viscra Maelstrom
is there a changelog for the mod? you said you fixed a ton of stuff... i'm curious as to what changes those are.

edit: i get an error trying to start the mod.

Image

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:28 pm
by Ed the Bat
I did not get that error, though I'm using an older version than you are: g2.1.pre-341-gec627d9

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:39 pm
by iSpook
Viscra Maelstrom wrote:is there a changelog for the mod? you said you fixed a ton of stuff... i'm curious as to what changes those are.


Heh, I'm sorta bad at this, and totally forgot to make a change log. The main things were fixing the monster spawners, mucking with the Accuser's projectile so they're not as murderlicious as they have been in the past, and dealing with the 'Loads of ammo" issue people have mentioned, as well as fixing the mapinfo thing Ed mentioned.

Also whoops, totally didn't catch that error, my bad. New link is in the main post.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:59 pm
by Princess Viscra Maelstrom
nope, i still get that error, even after reverting to the GZDoom version that Ed had.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:08 pm
by Ed the Bat
The erroneous line:
Code: Select allExpand view
TNT1 A A_playsound ("PoeBall/See")

There should be a state duration before A_PlaySound (possibly a zero).

Also, I apologize; I was mistakenly launching the previous version of this project, which is why I wasn't getting the error.

Re: [Project port] Shut up and Bleed.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:09 pm
by iSpook
Viscra Maelstrom wrote:nope, i still get that error, even after reverting to the GZDoom version that Ed had.


True story: I had fixed the error Ed mentioned, but for some reason Slade didn't save it, when I thought it did.

New version that's ACTUALLY fixed is linked in the first post.